We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The first thing I notice is that the Merengue is one of the much cheaper complexes to stay so expectations can never be too high on that alone. I found the rooms clean, the staff helpful and the grounds very pleasing to the eye. There was s great variety of food to chose from and although not 5* standards the hotel does not claim to be so. I did not see any of the entertainment but was very happy with the different bars to chose for a drink in the evening.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ange A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 5,428 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my fiancé went into Thompson and said we wanted to spend about £1000 each on a luxury beautiful relaxing holiday (think anyone agree for that amount of money you would expect what the travel agents showed/told you) and the man recommended this hotel in Dominican, none if us had ever been to Dominican before and the photos looked amazing! So we was both very excited! Got there, beautiful contry. Hotel very very basic! DEFIENTLY not 5*. I would give it 3*, maybe. The rooms was very basic with next to nothing in, no ironing board, tea nothing. We had to single beds pushed together with separate bedding which I didn't really like! I'm not going to moan about everything! The cleaning there is flawless, can't fault the cleaners, I didn't once go into the toilet and there wasn't a cleaner in there. Bar staff and entertainment team defiantly made up for the holiday- Los of fun! But other than the room, the biggest thing for me was the dreaded LOCALS. We had no idea they was even allowed in, as when we booked the holiday Thomson advised us not to leave the hotel because of the locals! And when we got there they was allowed in on the weekends. I'm not over reacting about this, they literally came in in coach fulls, around 100-200 easily! And they was so rude, by the pool they would just get up and take the first towel they sore (baring in mind If you lost a towel it was $20.) apparently they was known for stealing things! DONT LEAVE ANYTHINF AROUND- they kept taking people's clothes and flip flops! So why let them in. In the week it was busy but friendly and clean. The weekend was packed and dirty! None of the locals owned swimwear, they all went into the pool fully clothed... Why? I have no idea. Some even in jeans and polo tops!! Then taking food into the pool.. Oh it was gross. And by doing this we had a invasion of flies, you couldn't sit outside or having food without having flies all over your food and your body. A number of guests complained but nothing was done. And it was the locals that was acting this way! It also isn't 24 hour all inclusive, after some drinks in the nights we was told if we fancied pizza we could go to the snack bar, so we did a few times. Always shut. To
Some it up: out of 5.
Rooms- 2
Staff-5
Food-2
Location-5.

Our luxury holiday was ruined by locals and flies! We sadly don't want to return, so disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicolahelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our 4th visit to the Dom Rep but our 7th to a Riu hotel. we had a terrible first 2 days, if it could go wrong it did and we had to demand a different room which we got but with an upgrade. without boring you with the details we had water pouring through the ceiling at 2am. and the receptionist could not help us as there was no emergency call out. the next morning the Thomson Rep was a great help in arranging our room change. The hotel offered us several free offerings but we were happy with the room change they later gave us some mementos. After all that we had a really good time. The food was good and plentiful
, the entertainment was generally good but was shared between the 3 hotels. All the big soccer games were shown on a big screen. the animation team were excellent and hard working. there were optics in the room and the bar service was usually good. The only thing for me that spoilt it was the Americans and Canadians were tipping anything and everything where us British tip at the end of our holiday so were generally served second.

Room Tip: could not see a problem except for our first two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is bit dated could do with a good face lift. food would off been a lot better if it did not have as much salt .hotel was very clean staff where very helpful not very nice having the locals running and pushing in and eating the food like there is no tomorrow.

Room Tip: The food would of been a lot better if they did not add salt to food when cooking as not everyone li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Large complex comprising three hotels the Riu Merengue Village (this hotel was closed except the bar beside the pool and the beach bar, the swimming pool was open and was very quiet as was the beach in front of this hotel, much quieter than the other two hotels), Riu Merengue Gardens and the Riu Bacheta. Guests can use all facilities at all hotels exept that dinner must be taken in the hotel you are staying in. There was always a good choice of food at all restuarants, bars are nicely distributed throughout the complex. Wine was from the bottle in the Bacheta but came in barrels elswhere & the quality in the Merengue was poor. Mini bar in room had two cokes, two beers, one soda & one lemonade or tonic and two, one and a half litre bottles of water plus there are four optics that are in each room (localy produced vodka, whisky, rum & brandy) all are filled or repenished every other day. Plenty of sunloungers around pool & on beach. Staff at all hotels very attentive, friendly & unlike some resorts they were not always asking for or expecting tips all the while but did appreciate them when they were given for good service. Rooms are in blocks of eight, four ground floor & four on the first floor, some have sea views but many are a long way from the sea & reception area etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel staff very helpful and friendy.food ok.entertainment not great.drinks aplenty.rooms ok but ready for an update although clean.if going on any trips you must try the outback safari its brill but do not pay with peso's as the thomson rep will charge a percentage to convert to dollars.the hotel and surrounding area are ok but like i said its the dominican republic and 4 star is a bit enthusiastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyfreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Transfer & Check In - All smooth No Issues

Room - Good size, clean , bed a little hard but not bad, AC worked liked a charm...

Pools & Beach - were good

Food & Drink were good

Grounds clean and let me tell you even the pool bathrooms were constantly cleaned.

My only real beef was the weekend. I understand resorts are now trying to market to locals to boost occupancy but this was ridiculous. It was like busloads as they had offered day and weekend passes. The place was overrun we even had to move down to the pool at the RIU Village which fortunately at least had the bar open. So you still had to hike back to the masses for lunch or a snack. -

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leadpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#10 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,420 reviews
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,556 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing