We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
poole dorset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wonderful, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2008

would agree with all the previous good comments re this hotel. All the staff were so friendly and made you feel really welcome. We loved the Ocean World Bravissimo show and dinner. Hotel reception advised us how to get the local bus into Puerto Plata which was great fun and a fraction of the price of the taxis.

  • Liked — spotlessly clean and very friendly
  • Disliked — hard to find peace and quiet
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticaramist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,954
    1,722
    942
    408
    266
See reviews for
1,362
2,210
89
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Mambo Nov 19 to Dec 4. We arrived in a monsoon and it rained the first 3 or 4 days - but it was warm. We hung around in shorts and napped and ate good food. Then the sun came out. No complaints about this holiday. We got a bit more than we paid for and were very happy. It's not a 5 star hotel - but the staff are 10 star at least. The room was clean and bright - cleaned daily. The food buffet was great - lots of selection. You would have to be really picky to walk away hungry. We did both the a la cartes and they were good - but we sort of stuck with the buffets as we don't like having to be anywhere at a specific time. You have the freedom to visit the other 2 resorts next to the Mambo and they are a bit more upscale - and were great to visit - but the Mambo was the one we stayed at most. We met some great people from England and Poland. We didn't see any complainers - maybe because the hotel is frequented by Europeans. The pool and the beach were great - we spent time at both daily. Our Sunquest Rep at the hotel (Irma) was wonderful and looked after us well. There was always something to do if you wanted to or the opportunity to do nothing. We took in the show at Magical Nights and did a day trip to Ocean World. Both were great. The paths around all 3 hotels were easy walking and easy to navigate around. The Dominican People are easy to talk with and so friendly. It was a great experience and we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything was so clean
  • Disliked — Double Beds
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marrysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

Have just been reading some of the reviews for this resort and i have to say im feeling a little homesick!!
My partner and i spent our first holiday together in this hotel and we absolutely loved it.
We went in 2006 and am so pleased nothing has changed. We returned to the Dom Rep in 2007 but stayed in Punta Cana, big mistake, we really wished we had booked the Mambo again.
The holiday was so memorable, everything from the staff, the food, the drinks. The animacion team were superb, how anyone can work a fourteen hour day and still have a smile on their face at the end of the night ( considering the wages are very poor) is beyond me, they cant do enough for you. They also spoke at least 5 different languages, pretty impressive!!!
We found the rooms clean and comfy and absolotely loved the optics, i think we got through about 3 bottles of that fine brugal during our 2 week stay!!
The buffet hall was outstanding, so much choice, you never got bored, Dinner was excellent, the desserts were yummy.
We managed to get good seats every night to watch the brilliant shows put on, we did have to get there for about 6.30 though and sit and watch the kids disco, but with all those great cocktails on tap it wasnt really a chore. Did anyone try the Mamma huana (not sure about the spelling) wow, its a local brew that they actually give to the kids before school to set them up for the day, only a thimble full though. Its def not somehting you could drink alot of, very potent!!!
Do try some of the trips, we did 2. We went to ocean world were you get the chance to swim with dolphins, what an experience, one i shall never forget. we also did the Dominican Descovery were you go horseriding through the mountains were they filmed Jurassic park, its suitable for even a novice as they have horses for all riders, Slow, Ferrari, and speedy gonzales!!! Great fun.
This was a holiday we shall never forget and we will be going back at some point, i highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MANDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zephyrhills, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

My whole experience at the Riu Mambo was very pleasant. The room was comfortable (two beds pushed togehter instead of a king-size bed, but that was ok). Air conditioning was functional but took awhile to get cold. By the way, aircon will not work at all if the sliding glass door is not completely closed all the way.Minibar and in-room safe are a plus. (Don't forget to bring the lock back to the front desk when you check out). Plenty of hot water in the shower. Receptacles are European-style, different from what I'm used to, anyway. They have an adaptor at the reception desk that they will lend you if you need it.
These rooms are not ocean-view. You have to walk a little way to get to the beach. Lovely tropical landscaping and exotic plants.
Grounds are nicely maintained and everything is clean. Lively pool-scene during the day, but unfortunately the pools shut down at 7pm for chlorination. I wished they stayed open later, they look so inviting at night.
We only ate in the dining room (Almendros), and the buffet was very good. I was satisfied with every meal and the presentation is just beautiful. You can eat here and not have to worry about tummy-trouble later. Drinks in the bars were tasty and fruity but the alcohol seemed a little watered-down. Still, I enjoyed drinking fruity frozen drinks in the tropical setting.
This hotel is situated about 4 miles outside of town, so if you're looking for the "local-flavor", you'll need to get a taxi into town. It's way too far to walk!
This is a very clean and safe establishment. I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zephyrmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

We had a girlie holiday at the Riu Mambo from 29th Nov to 6th Dec and cannot fault it. Although you can use the facilities of the Merengue and Bachata, all three hotels merge into one long one lining the waterfront with connecting paths.

We were particulary impressed with the food in the main buffet restaurant both quality and choice. So much so we did not choose the option to eat in either of the speciality restaurants - steakhouse or Italian.

The pool at the Mambo is fairly shaded so with only a weeks stay we went to the beach for the first three days to maximise on sunshine! We then had a day at the Merengue pool and were entertained by the boundless energy of the animation team! The last two days we spent at the Bachata pool where the sun is around all day long and the added bonus of swim up pool bar - bliss.

Beware that the slush type cocktails are without alcohol unless you ask eg pina colada is a lovely soft drink on its own but if you want pina colada as we know it you need to ask for it with white rum.

The staff were excellent and there are no language barriers. There are no hairdryers in the rooms however for a $20 returnable deposit you can hire one from reception and also an iron and board. I used the $20 deposit as my exit fee at the airport. $10 in and $20 to leave.

At the end of the day there are three shows to choose from, main bars stay open till midnight apart from Bachata which is 24/7. Pacha nightclub has seating outside if you don't want to be amongst the boom boom and is open till 2am except Mondays. There is also a casino next to the 24 hour bar at Bacheta open till 3am for slots, black jack, poker, roulette etc - worth blowing a tenner for fun.

Flight time was 9.25 hours going (from Manchester) and 7.75 hours coming back - when we actually took off early - unheard of!

Would we go back - without a doubt. Go and enjoy the Mambo
- any questions contact me on vickie@bullough.org.uk

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no lights on the balconies and no fresh orange at mealtimes
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vbullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

Having never been to the Dominican Republic before and seeing mixed reviews on here, we went to the Mambo with an open mind, but we were very pleasantly surprised and really liked the place. We went to the beach every day, we never had problems getting sun beds in the area we liked, although the sand was no golden it was nice and kept very clean, in the sea we did not see any of the seaweed other people have mentioned

Having the use of the other resourts is nice and allows for a change of scenery, also at Mambo all spirits are locally produced, at the others they also have brand names spirits, Gordons Gin, Smirnoff Vodka, etc. but if you do have to ask for them otherwise they will give you the local stuff.

The food was fine and there was plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant, we went to the effort of booking the Steak House for one evening and decided we actually preferred the buffet.

Staff are all excellent, they are very friendly, cheerful, work very hard and cannot do enough to help.

I have been to better resorts, but paid two to three times what I paid at the Mambo, so value for money it is great and we will return.

I am happy to answer any questions people have, just mail me.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PAADT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

Arrived back just last Friday morning and wish we were still there! Rooms not as spacious as some but have all you need except tea/coffee facility so if you like a HOT cup of tea, take your own kettle. All the complex is spotlessly clean with a 'squirt lady' (offering hand cleanser) inside entrance to main dining room and outside every ladies and gents loos - but be warned gents, they do wander in unexpectedly to clean when you are 'busy'! Plenty of food choice with themed nights but it did get a little repetitive by the end of the second week. The Italian and Steakhouse offered a slightly different choice of main courses with table service but were not significantly different otherwise - this could be improved upon. The entertainment team work their socks off and could not be more friendly. The 'professional dancers' seemed to think they were better than the rest of them but got on our nerves a bit . The beach can get a bit crowded in the area which gets sun most of the day but it means you get to meet and talk to more people. If you like shade, no problem. No bother with beach sellers. Drinks were brought to the beach several times some days by the animation team. Outside cooking of paella and jerk chicken went down well with a couple of cervezas! Even in the rain there was always something to do. If you like branded spirits be sure ask for Smirnoff/Brugal (the local rum)/Gordons/Ballantines or you get the cheaper stuff. Do take it easy with the mamajuana as they seem to be having no effect until you have downed half a dozen and lose the ability to walk! Overall we had a great time and met some great people but I preferred the beach at Playa Dorada.

  • Liked — Very clean, friendly staff, pretty good food and drink
  • Disliked — Little far out to explore independently, nowhere to walk to
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Cryss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,099 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Property: ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing