We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at Riu Merengue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Stayed at the Riu Merengue 2/4/11 through 2/11/11. Traveled with 2 other couples. We all had a great vacation. The service at the hotel was wonderful. Our check in was very quick and smooth. We were taken immediately to our rooms by the staff . The rooms were very clean and kept very clean and neat by the housekeeping staff. We found the food to be delicious and fresh. We were never bored with the buffet. The Italian specialty restaurant was better than the steakhouse but it was good. We were able to get snacks at night too. No problems getting reservations at the specialty rest. either. The drinks were good and plentiful. The beach is very nice with plenty of chairs. The pool is nice too but guests do put towels on chairs at the pool early in the morning and it is difficult to find a chair. Just go early and reserve your chair. The entertainment staff was energetic and fun. They work long hours and 6 days a week and are always very friendly.
Just beware that most cell phones do not work at this location. The only internet access is an internet room that you pay for time on their computers. Nice place for couples and families. Took a couple of trips. Did the Outback Safari which I would highly recommend and the shopping trip and cable car ride up the mountains. Both were reasonably priced and very enjoyable. The grounds at well kept and very clean. We liked the fact that we could eat lunch, use the pools and bars and entertainment at the other Riu hotels located nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,377)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Merengue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,378 - 2,384 of 5,377 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

We were there from Feb 5-12,2011. There were 14 of us (all family) ranging from 5 years and up. The hotel was awesome in everyway. Stayed in building 3. Pool and restaurants were close. Activites were amazing. The entertainment staff really made the holiday an awesome one!!! There was always something for the kids ad adults to do. The shows at night were great. Would go back today if I could :)).

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

we stayed at the mambo feb 4 to feb 11. our room was clean bright and cozy. winston took care of our minifridge, and sara was our lovely maid. if we needed anything they got it for us. the resort was beautiful, lots to do. the food was amazing and a lot of it. animation team are excellent. pools, bars good, lots of everything. the beach is great, lots of waves, but you can still swim easily. free water sports was a bonus, no hidden costs at the mambo. playing bingo by the pool with pinaple was great. he always had on some weird costume. he is verrry fuuunnny. all of the staff were the best at the mambo. thankyou for the best vacation we ever had. we will be going back next january.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracijamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Hotel was very clean and rooms are big. Great Value for Money, Lovely Pool, The staff could not do enough for you, very friendly. Beach was nice but a little windy and the sea was rough. If you are looking for a cheap get away this is perfect. The entertainment was very samey after a while and the food was nice but again after 3/4 days we were sick of eating the same thing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leah78brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Speedy check in, large clean rooms! Outstanding customer service! Very lush spacious grounds with sidewalks. Ton's of photo oportunities. No need to go off the resort for anything. If you do decide the village if Bahia Maimon it is amazing. We met A Dominican who showed us around the village. took us to his home and met his Family. We even went for a Lobster dinner at a restauraunt in the village, the Family picked us up at the hotel so obiously they are well respected to let them on the resort. The biggest Lobster I ever had!
Absoutely no negatives about the resort, can't wait to go Back!
Jazz airplane is a different story. The staff just seem unhappy and not very helpfull. The new forms to fill out on the plane are confusing and in spanish. When ever you ask anyone of the flight attendants they said they don't read spanish and could not help. My tray was dirty, isles are tiny, seats are cramped. When I went to the washroom one of the flight attendants had books all over the floor, open, looked like she was writing some test. The headsets we bought on the way down did not work going back. They said there was nothing they could do. It is only $6 no big deal, however you would think they would replace or see what was wrong so we could watch the movie. We had purchased an extra seat for $400 as my husband is a large man on the plane they tried to seat someone in our seat that we had paid for, made a big commotion and held up the plane, we had to reshow our plane tickets with the extra seat! A couple flying for the first time stood in the Isles waiting to get seated as they could not figure it out. Very poor customer service, and very embarrassing. My husband was shaking his head in disbelief and the head flight attendant said he refuses to fly with my husband on board with his bad attitude. They are trying to take away a seat we paid extra for and took offence to my husband shaking his head? We fly twice a year, this is our 26th trip and have never had anything like this happen to us before.Sunquest has amazing reps, hotel is amazing, Thomas cook airlines is not holding to the standards of Sunquest, or any other tour operator , and this is a new carrier for them.
Would go back to this Riu anytime but not with that Carrier they are using.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The location is a very nice area , a long span of beach a lot of lounges available and trees for shade if required. The beach to the right is the best for swimming , not as rocky and less shells on the bottom. Everything has been described accurately by other reviewers, you have to eat dinner at your home hotel, men have to wear shirts with sleeves to dinner. The staff in my opinion is very good, bartenders are very efficient and friendly, the maid kept the room clean and stocked and the animation team kept trying to keep you entertained. My only complaint with the staff was, trying to figure out what channel and if the Super Bowl was going to be televised, I got answers like go over there and talk to someone and then they said go back to your own hotel and ask there. We did not find out until a couple of hours before the game. Their solution was to put it on a big screen to the right of the main stage but to have no volume and continue with the show behind us. This did not work well for either group, guests watching the stage show approached us and requested less noise and got the expected response and we were irratated by the blaring noise behind us . There were not as many Americans at the resort as other nationalities but there were enough to think that they could have had a showing somewhere. My recomendation for this resort is if you are getting a reduction in price it is a good deal. The meals were well prepared and kept clean. The specialty restaurants while being very close to the same menus were good and a change from the buffet. The breakfasts were better than usual for these types of resorts, but the beds were old and worn out, the bathrooms need a lot of updating and the television was a 20 inch with blown out speakers. We paid about 15 percent less than the average for this resort so when we considered it all we were pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westernpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We had 2 weeks at the riu mambo in Jan 2011. Only rained once - we were lucky! We couldnt fault it at all! The staff were so friendly, always saying hello and asking how you were. There was lots of activities to do; water polo, volley ball,football, boules etc. If you didnt want to get involved it was fine becuase there is the beach too - which gets sun all day. The day trips were a little expensive but we did go to paradise island, it was absolutely beautiful, snorkiling with the fish was fab!
The cleaners at the hotel cleaned the room everyday and the mini bar re filled every other day, the pool towel service was brilliant too.
The entertainment team, were so funny and managed to involve everyone of all ages, we had a micheal jackson show one evening he was soooo good!
Also the food was good, the a la cartes are very popular so have to get up early to book, we only got chance to go to italian one and wouldnt say it was much better than the food in the buffet reasturant.
Over all a lovely relaxing and laid back holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth0977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#10 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,330 reviews
8.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
9.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Merengue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ClubHotel Riu Merengue (All Inclusive 24h) is located in Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic, and is surrounded by impressive views of the mountains and a lush, natural environment. This is the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. The ClubHotel offers all facilities you could need for relaxing holidays away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You’ll find a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium terrace, a gym and the Renova Spa wellness centre with a range of different treatments and massages as well as a sauna. In the Dominican Republic you can find a wide range of international cuisine, but if you want to make the most of your time in this marvellous destination by sampling Dominican cuisine, delicious in both taste and colour, you can enjoy a wide variety of flavours and aromas, as Dominican dishes mainly consist of fruit and vegetables. In the buffet restaurant or themed restaurant you’ll find an endless range of dishes and recipes prepared by our chefs every day. The hotel shares its facilities with the hotel complexes of the ClubHotel Riu Bachata. You’ll enjoy access to the entertainment programme and activities thanks to the acclaimed All Inclusive system. Whether you’re travelling as a family, couple or with friends, you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep you entertained all day long.. There are areas for enjoying tennis, table tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, bodyboarding, snorkelling, golf, volleyball, swimming and much more. Your children can also enjoy crafts, activities and dancing together with other kids in the RiuLand programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing