We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost All Positives, Only One Negative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Almost All Positives, Only One Negative”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Food - Great Buffets, Some a la Carte options. Dinner on the beach was amazing

Surroundings - White sand beaches, no villas on the beach, but 30 second walk. Nature area on resort with little river running through it.

Staff - Very helpful, nice, warm. Security guard at the gate became a fast friend, told me about decent off-resort shopping; feel horrible that I forget his name :(

Excursions - The 27 Charcos (Waterfalls) was probably one of the greatest experiences of my life. You can do about a forty-five minute hike and then swim down a river and jump off waterfalls guided by the most amazing guides in the world. When I mean you can - you have to! It was incredible. Zip-lining was great too. http://www.colonialtours.com.do/charcos_of_damajagua_dominican_republic.htm

Shopping: One on resort mall (touristy), two shopping districts about a half hour beach walk (the Orange and the Blue).

Only negative aspect was that we went all inclusive through Transat Vacations, and the BlueBay timeshare sales team probably found you out daily wanting you to talk about signing up for a information session. Not a huge negative, and they left you alone when you said you didn't want to, but new person following day would do the same.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregTinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,032
    1,349
    571
    247
    177
See reviews for
444
2,982
180
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was my first trip to DR, but I've been to St. Thoms, St. John, Aruba, Puerto Rico, Fiji, New Zealand, Keppel Island, Heron Island and, for comparison to all-inclusive, a basic Carnival cruise. Our group rate came to about $50US a day and I think the amenities at that price were a bargain. The BlueBay had excellent curb appeal. The lobby was luxurious looking and your initial walk in to the open pool area did make you feel like you were in a Bond movie. So, to lounge at the pool with friends, this is a great vacation place. The beer was cold, there was some top shelf liquor, the house wine was aweful, but the mixed drinks were adequate. The food was spotty. Some was fantastic, and some was downright revolting, as in gagging on it. I can't chalk up too much of the gag factor to differences in taste, as I love to try new foods. I can say the gagging came from meats that tasted as if they were not properly rinsed of entrails. There were quite a few vegetarian dishes, copious tropical fruits, a fantastic breakfast smoothie and juice array, and interesting soups. If you didn't like something, at least there were plenty of other options to choose from, making other mistakes on the buffet forgivable. There was plenty of free water around, including a gallon in your room, to make hydration easy. The rooms were basic: a rock-hard slab of a bed with lumpy pillows, roomy shower stall, and walk-in closet. You could see bug-control people at work, but we still got a few bug-bites here and there--certainly not swarms. For whatever reason, the DR is cool with allowing vendors incessant access to tourists. So, near constant heckling from vendors on the beach. It was super irritating if your activity of choice involved looking around. Sleeping or reading was a mild deterrent. I'm not sure, based on other reviews, if the heckling was an uptick due to the long rain before our trip, but I really can't stand being continually hassled to buy stuff, especially the 'junior suite' next to the foul smelling watercourse running between the beach and the rooms. I would vomit smelling that fetid marsh all vacation long! Anyway, EVERYTIME I passed the junior suite, I was heckled, and EVERYTIME I went to the beach, except for dinner, I was hassled. Please, put a limit on this crap. I didn't go to the beach for shopping. The snack bar has burgers and fried chicken. Don't be fooled in to thinking there is anything else to eat outside of buffet times: there isn't. Do what you should at any all-inclusive event: eat during open eating times, or take a plate back to your room for later since here you can do so. Being next to a sugar cane plantation after a long rain, the beach was full of small bits of ash (not pure white sandy beach like the picture) and the water had all kinds of floaty bits in it and lots of sea grass. Between the bog water coming out in the shower, and the ocean water, you smelled like a fart a lot. (Yes, the tap water is not potable--standard issue tropical run-off.) Lastly, people recommend buying here and there (beach, town, hotel, strip mall, etc.). It's a crap shoot. Everyone is out to make money off of you. Resign yourself to this.

Room Tip: I have no idea how to avoid the loud nightly entertainment, but avoid, at all costs, the "junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

i am writing this review a little late, we stayed xmas/newyear 2010 but have been prompted to write by some of the bad moany reviews ive read.
firstly, three restaurants were good, 3 al a carte and buffet restaurants, all great selection, if you cant find somthing you like, well what the hell do you eat at home ?
The bars are good, many drinks and cocktails to choose from, beach bar open all night , a great place to meet people and chill out.
The rooms are good, tidy and clean, rooms by stage are noisy, ours was very noisy at night . The animation staff are great working really hard to give everyone a great time, theres loads of activities to join in on if you want to, but youre not pressured to.
The beach is beautifull but there are loads of people selling stuff but they go away with a polite no, as do the timeshare people !
After the shows are over everyone goes out to a club or casino, so theres somthing to do if your not ready for bed.
We had an amazing time here, met some great friends, this place is everything. If you want a romantic break its for you, likewise if you want a fun packed time and a laugh, its for you too, im just very jealous if your reading this because youre off there shortly!!!

Room Tip: dont go near the stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobsey1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from the BlueBay Villas on December 3 and had a great time even with the fact that it rained for 5 out of 7 days. The hotel food and beach were basically what you would expect from a 3 possibly 4 star place. The reason for my review is to tell of my outside the compound dealings with the locals. We are not the kind of people to simply sit on the beach and drink all day so we found a lot of adventures to be had in the area Ex. White water rafting (Iguana Mama), a cable car ride up a mountain, a trek through the jungle to play in waterfalls and a catamaran trip. We booked the rafting trip online just to be safe which proved to be a good idea, the rafting location was about 100km from our hotel which would have been very difficult to find ourselves. We decided to try and save some money by taking the local transportation from the airport to the hotel and back but also into town for the cable car and just out of town for the waterfalls. The cabs at the airport want $35USD for a one way trip, we found that if you walk out of the airport to the main road you can catch a "gua gua" (a local bus) or a local taxi for $50 pesos each (basically $3USD) you may be forced to be very close to others in the bus but its a 20min trip and was well worth the saved $32USD. The most important tip I have is that if you feel that you want to take a guagua into town or to anywhere else ask the front desk or even the time share sellers for directions and prices because once you get out of the compound everyone will try to take advantage of you. We even met a time share guy outside the compound who tried to tell us that the guagua to the cable car was $300pesos each even though we knew from the hotel front desk that it was only $20pesos each. He even had the driver drop us off about 2km from where we should have been just so the time share guy (Santana) could show us the way for a small tip (which turned out to be $11USD each! We argued with him for a bit and ended up giving him $3USD) So be aware that basically if someone is giving you tips on cost the only way to be sure they are not trying to take advantage of you is if they are not the actual ones doing the selling. Even the guagua fare takers will try to charge you more but if you just give them the actual fare and then tell them thats it they will just leave it be. We had a great time in Puerto Plata and would recommend to everyone that they have a little adventure and take the public transportation. Now money is not everything but saving it is fun. We found the 27 waterfall trip online for $80USD each person, the company would pick you up at your hotel drive you there feed you lunch and take you back to the hotel. We took advice from tripadvisor reviews and took the guagua and a second local bus to the same place, paid $10USD each and the local bus back to our hotel. Grand total for our trip $30USD. We than were able to use the $130USD we saved to take an awesome catamaran trip basically for free.

Room Tip: Like everyone else stated, if you want to party pick rooms in building 1,2,3, or 4. If you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

It was a nice place, we had fun, great service, i highly recomend it, the only bad thing was that they offered some information that we didn't ask about a vacation club and we went there and spent 1 hour listening and we said we would think about it and they got mad and lefted us feeling really upset, so, if some1 offers to give you some information and you don't want to pay UD$ 5,500.00 right away just say you are not interest, have fun and enjoy your stay.

The rooms near the pool are noisy but it is a really nice place, just stay away from the vacation club thing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferLopezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Excelent services. I recommend for everybody to rest and take a good vacation. The food is great!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhimasbobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Just returned yesterday after 2 weeks staying at bluebay villa and have no idea what people are moaning at.Me & My friend Arrive on 16th november stayed for 2 weeks and nearly everyday was brilliant. We chose the hotel because of the area and for the fact it was a smaller hotel and adults only, and it was pretty brilliant.
When we arrived there was alot of people our transfer coach, we were all greeted with a drink and seated in the lobby area and called up 1 by 1 to get you pack and everything was explained. Much better that all queuein at reception.
Rooms were absolutely fine, 2 double beds a bathroom with sink, toilet,walk in shower, walk in wardrobe,tv,fridge,tea & coffee making facilities What more do u want?? even get a free bottle of coke, sprite, 2 bottles of beer and big bottle of water.
We booked all our trips through the thomas cook rep helen who was brilliant and to be honest they didnt vary much in price from the beach boys so glad booked with her as know its all safe and insured.
Food was lovely, did get slightly boring and repeatative after 2 weeks but what do u expect with all inclusive, couldnt fault the a la carte restaurants either And they made a nice change.You could eat in each a la carte restaurant once per week,so in 14 nights there was 6 you didnt have to eat in the buffet restaurant if u fancied a change.
Hotel its self clean, tidy, rooms spotless and cleaned daily, pool areas kept tidy too, of course plastic cups, not good idea having glass round the pool.
Animation team ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!! Lovely guys really made our holiday, couldnt fault them, games most days from 11-1.30 and 3-5.30 then evening shows 9.30-11 ish some times later if did beach party or went to casino/disco which there was a free taxi there 11.45 and back at 3am. They Tried there best and were very entertaining, few days not much going on but if people wont take part they wont keep on at you so didnt do the games. Great Job guys
Evening shows varied to from band to michael jackson show, dance shows, magic show karoke, guests got involved was a real good laugh. Just dont know what people expect.
So dont listen to bad reviews, met some lovely guests and lovely staff really nice hotel to go 2.
Hi to james bond, teddy, george,comando, coca cola,DJ and all the others WE love u for free........ ATTACK (vicki,leanne,lisa & Nyny xx) we'll be back :D XXX

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing