We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ClubHotel Riu Merengue(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,043)
Filter reviews
6,043 results
Traveller rating
3,440
1,482
636
278
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,440
1,482
636
278
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames bondblue baycoca colaalfredospa poolbeach barthe oriental restaurantjade gardenanimation teamteddy bearel doradothe grillseafoodchateaubrianda la carte restaurantsan adults only resorttime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,840 - 2,845 of 6,043 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is the second time we have visited this hotel and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time, however the weather let it down a bit second time around!

The hotel is very well kept, always people around carrying out maintenance etc so it always looks tidy.

The rooms are basic and the main let down is that unless you are part of the vacation club you don't get a proper balcony. We were in block 4 and it was a lot more noisy than block 8 that we stayed in last time.

The buffet has such a wide range of food there is always something for everyone. I can not understand some of the people that write bad things about the food, I have no idea what would actually please these people!! We really enjoyed the a la carte restaurants, especially the oriental.

The bar man at the swim up bar was excellent and so friendly. He still had a smile on his face when people were getting a little loud and annoying demanding body shots!!

Main negative was the "bluebay vacation club" hard sell. Very annoying. They just can not understand why anyone could possibly not be interested.

All in all it was a great holiday, again we would recommend the hotel to friends and family. As we have been twice we probably wouldnt go back again, but would definately consider visiting other bluebay hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Becca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Second time in this resort, from the moment we arrived in the hotel the staff were always on hand to help with any queries our room was in block 5 wihich is in the quiet part of the hotel. The room is basic but is more than adequate an kept clean daily, fridge stocked daily as the maids work from morning til night. Buffet had wide and varied selection meaning there was always something to eat. The a la cartes are excellent orriental and steak were our favourites. Beach was kept clean even when there was a storm. Always a bed brought over to you, although there are allot of beach sellers if you politley say no they wil go away, a good laugh from cheapy willy leave him your old t shirts he wil be very gateful. We booked our trips through beach seller louis he was helpful and would go out of his way to give you the best price and they are safe and insured, leave him your trainers he will be happy tell him clever and jones say hi, the two trips that are fab is ocean world, and the dirt buggys. the entertainment could be better and more varied. There's a shopping plaza five mins away has everything for sale but you will be hasseledd just say no thankyou and tthey leave you alone. Pop in to phils bar for a cider tastes like apple tizer. One downside vacation club as it is situatted on the only walk way to the beach they are always trying to ge you in there office asked a few times if we would like to buy drugs . Woul highly reccomend the hotel as you wil have a great time and will be well looked after, met some great people hi Phil and Helen who we miss dearly and not forgetting our Nigel lots of certificates won . Also check out channel 61 Massive. Shame about certain people allowe in hotel let's starndards down, not nice seeing a drunken middle age women throwing themselfs at the staff and being a drunken mess at the dinner table. Maybe selected airports should be looked at not flying to this area. Clever and Jones

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleverjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

From minute we arrived it was fantastic. The hotel is amazing clean and tidy.The food is very very good. The staff are even better.A big thank you to Coca cola,James Bond,Mayo,Teddy,George and the staff in the restaurant & not forgetting the maids who have the tough task of cleaning tourist rooms day in and day out always with a smile. They are all a credit to this Hotel Keep up the good work. I would with out doubt return to this hotel any time and hope to do so next year. You want some where nice to go ? Then get yourself to Bluebay Villas. ASAP ***** THANKS AGAIN....TO ALL.
Ady & Julie (Yorkshire)

Room Tip: Book one with a jacuzzi
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdyHepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Food - Great Buffets, Some a la Carte options. Dinner on the beach was amazing

Surroundings - White sand beaches, no villas on the beach, but 30 second walk. Nature area on resort with little river running through it.

Staff - Very helpful, nice, warm. Security guard at the gate became a fast friend, told me about decent off-resort shopping; feel horrible that I forget his name :(

Excursions - The 27 Charcos (Waterfalls) was probably one of the greatest experiences of my life. You can do about a forty-five minute hike and then swim down a river and jump off waterfalls guided by the most amazing guides in the world. When I mean you can - you have to! It was incredible. Zip-lining was great too. http://www.colonialtours.com.do/charcos_of_damajagua_dominican_republic.htm

Shopping: One on resort mall (touristy), two shopping districts about a half hour beach walk (the Orange and the Blue).

Only negative aspect was that we went all inclusive through Transat Vacations, and the BlueBay timeshare sales team probably found you out daily wanting you to talk about signing up for a information session. Not a huge negative, and they left you alone when you said you didn't want to, but new person following day would do the same.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregTinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was my first trip to DR, but I've been to St. Thoms, St. John, Aruba, Puerto Rico, Fiji, New Zealand, Keppel Island, Heron Island and, for comparison to all-inclusive, a basic Carnival cruise. Our group rate came to about $50US a day and I think the amenities at that price were a bargain. The BlueBay had excellent curb appeal. The lobby was luxurious looking and your initial walk in to the open pool area did make you feel like you were in a Bond movie. So, to lounge at the pool with friends, this is a great vacation place. The beer was cold, there was some top shelf liquor, the house wine was aweful, but the mixed drinks were adequate. The food was spotty. Some was fantastic, and some was downright revolting, as in gagging on it. I can't chalk up too much of the gag factor to differences in taste, as I love to try new foods. I can say the gagging came from meats that tasted as if they were not properly rinsed of entrails. There were quite a few vegetarian dishes, copious tropical fruits, a fantastic breakfast smoothie and juice array, and interesting soups. If you didn't like something, at least there were plenty of other options to choose from, making other mistakes on the buffet forgivable. There was plenty of free water around, including a gallon in your room, to make hydration easy. The rooms were basic: a rock-hard slab of a bed with lumpy pillows, roomy shower stall, and walk-in closet. You could see bug-control people at work, but we still got a few bug-bites here and there--certainly not swarms. For whatever reason, the DR is cool with allowing vendors incessant access to tourists. So, near constant heckling from vendors on the beach. It was super irritating if your activity of choice involved looking around. Sleeping or reading was a mild deterrent. I'm not sure, based on other reviews, if the heckling was an uptick due to the long rain before our trip, but I really can't stand being continually hassled to buy stuff, especially the 'junior suite' next to the foul smelling watercourse running between the beach and the rooms. I would vomit smelling that fetid marsh all vacation long! Anyway, EVERYTIME I passed the junior suite, I was heckled, and EVERYTIME I went to the beach, except for dinner, I was hassled. Please, put a limit on this crap. I didn't go to the beach for shopping. The snack bar has burgers and fried chicken. Don't be fooled in to thinking there is anything else to eat outside of buffet times: there isn't. Do what you should at any all-inclusive event: eat during open eating times, or take a plate back to your room for later since here you can do so. Being next to a sugar cane plantation after a long rain, the beach was full of small bits of ash (not pure white sandy beach like the picture) and the water had all kinds of floaty bits in it and lots of sea grass. Between the bog water coming out in the shower, and the ocean water, you smelled like a fart a lot. (Yes, the tap water is not potable--standard issue tropical run-off.) Lastly, people recommend buying here and there (beach, town, hotel, strip mall, etc.). It's a crap shoot. Everyone is out to make money off of you. Resign yourself to this.

Room Tip: I have no idea how to avoid the loud nightly entertainment, but avoid, at all costs, the "junior suite" next to the fetid watercourse.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews