We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

the food, people, room, pool the beach and also the drinks was outstanding I would like to say thanks to the staff staring with James Bond, Commando, Yokasta,Yayi,George, Johny Garcia and Mr. CocaCola for all the fun....

Room Tip: all the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,038
    1,349
    573
    247
    177
See reviews for
444
2,990
180
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

For the price I paid, I could not possibly have expected more. The wait to check in can be infuriating, the buffet choices are not as high quality, and there may be some relatively minor maintenance issues but if you find a better value in an all-inclusive Dominican resort, please let me know.

Room Tip: Better chances of avoiding a less acceptable room if you request a room on the ground level. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I traveled to the Dom Rep, Puerto Plata on 7/2/14. The weather was decent and the ride to the resort was approximately 1 hour and 45 mins from Santiago, D.R. airport. The travel agency said it was only a 45 min drive! VIP was our transportation and they were nice. We stopped along the way and ate some local food and drank beer (It made the ride bearable). When it was time to check in, we were greeted by Dana with a glass of tea. The main lobby is nicely decorated and don’t let the bar there fool you (it’s cash only).
It did not take long to check in, but the problem we experienced was they did not give us a double occupancy room. We were supposed to get the “Superior Deluxe Gardenview”. Needless to say, we had to change rooms 3 times before they got it right (it was a bit rocky). We finally settled for the room and it was very clean but plain. NOTE: They do not provide washcloths. It was quiet so we knew they didn’t have a lot of people staying there at first. The upside to this resort is it is adults only and the downside was the food. It was hit and miss every day (Dinner was the best out of breakfast and lunch). They have two specialty restaurants, Oriental and Seafood and the seafood was a tad bit better. Be sure to book the first day you get there. There were plenty of fun activities during the day by the pool and I hear the night shows were entertaining as well.
The best time to take the excursions is near the weekend. In the low season, companies send their employees to the resorts to keep the economy going. We were surprised at how many locals came to the resort. The men are smooth talkers (or so they think so) and it can get a bit uncomfortable when they come in groups of ten or more and stare.
We took two excursions: The first one was to go shopping and we were pleasantly surprised when we hung out near the beach and played dominoes with the locals. The second excursion was to Paradise Island. Now if you plan to visit Paradise Island, request for Pedro. He charges a lot less and gives you more information and stops off to several areas that the other tour companies will not. We had the Island to ourselves for an hour before all the other tour companies arrived. The Island is exactly what you see on the pics. We did not take a yacht; we took a small speed boat. Luckily for us, we traveled with another individual that visits the D.R. on a regular so he made us feel comfortable.
I feel 5 days was too much and would have rather stayed for 3-4 days. The staff was really nice and tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. George is the leader of the activities, Lorelai was the best bartender, and Pedro was an excellent host for the Paradise Island excursion.
Caution: They serve a drink named Mamaguana…… It is a beast and it’s supposed to be an aphrodisiac for men! Hahahahahahaha But it is a very good drink.
I probably would not stay at this resort again and definitely would stay less days.

Room Tip: Bring your own washclothes, stay near the spa area, book excursions near the weekend (resort gets cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in June. Its a really nice small complex. The staff here are excellent, always looking to get you involved (if you want) in the daily activities, with anything from water polo to cocktail making. The entertainment in the evening is a little cheesy as you would expect from any holiday resort however one night the animation crew did put on a really good water show! The guys who work behind the bar put in a decent shift too especially at the weekends when it seemed busier, but they still managed to get to you quickly

The rooms we big and well kept, and we liked the blue lighting effect around the beds although we didn't keep them on as the constantly flashed. I've seen some reviews that talk about rooms being renovated but i have no idea if we stayed in one of them.

The food was fairly good, always a lot to choose from. I liked the fact that you had the option to have some foods cooked in front of you (omelettes, pasta, burgers). The quality of the food may not have always been 5* but when you have to make it on mass i guess its never going to be, but its was still good food. We tried to book into the specialist restaurants but we could only get into the grill (which wasn't all that good) which was a bit disappointing..

Overall it was a really good trip, nice venue close to the beach, with really helpful staff who are always looking to brighten up your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Our room was near the spa and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Astle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our trip to the Dominican Republic. It's a beautiful country with beautiful people. I stayed at the Bluebay for two weeks in june, and wouldn't hesitate to go back. The hotel was great, the food was tasty and the staff was extraordinary, especially the housecleaning workers (they really work hard) and the animation crew, especially Yocasta, Coca-cola and Felipe. Yocasta is an amazing, kind-hearted, young lady with a lot of sense of humor and made us feel like home. Coca-cola was a really fun dude, I couldn't stop laughing, he was such a goof ball. Felipe was really nice and played awsome music.

The only negative thing I have to say is that they could've had more variation in breakfest and fruits section.

Stephanie & Miriam

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I love it. My very first vacation. The villas. Palm trees. The pools. The evening shows. The beach and early morning walk. Breakfast and service. Serenity. Lunch and the anticipation of delicious dishes. Then dinner and most of all the safety and honesty I sense and know. Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loyalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ive had the most absolutely amazing time. The location was beautiful and I loved the fact that the beach was just 2 seconds from the hotel and the shop and club was 5 minutes away. James Bond, Coca Cola, Jorge, Yayi and Yocasta were very entertaining and made sure that everyone joined in. I will definitely be coming back very soon!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
9.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing