We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Animation Crew is by FAR the best thing about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Sylvan Lake Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Animation Crew is by FAR the best thing about this hotel!”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Everything about this hotel is "good". I wouldn't say anything was "great". Nothing to complain about, except maybe the nightlife. The hotel is DEAD after the nightly show (11:30) and the 24 hr beach bar isn't any fun. My friend and I went to Coco Bongo's with a couple of the guys from the Animation Crew (Eddie and Teino) and had a good time. By far, the best thing about this resort is the Animation Crew and I miss them!! I hope to see them again!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBarBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,090
    1,359
    574
    249
    179
See reviews for
452
3,024
183
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We went to the DR on a belated honeymoon in October of 2008. We were so stoked! We arrived a day late because we got stranded in New York. The hotel was really accommodating once we got a hold of them. They were willing to even extend our stay an extra day because we missed a day. That was really nice, but it caused some issues later. We booked one of the nicer rooms, but were kind of disappointed with the room. It was clean and nice looking. I especially loved the fresh flowers and how they make you towels into animals. The bed was really uncomfortable which was unfortunate. It rained a lot of the time that we were there which definitely put a damper on things. We chose this hotel because it was so high up on the list for trip advisor, but I would choose another one if I were to go back again. My husband spoke Spanish which helped a lot. Because we were honeymooning they were supposed to give us a dinner on the beach, which I was so sad we didn't get. We kept asking about it and they kept saying Saturday. We told them multiple times we couldn't stay that extra day, which was Saturday, because our plane tickets were for Friday. It sucked to see someone else eating dinner on the beach that night though...that was pretty lame. The day to day staff were really nice and the shows they did at night were pretty fun. If they have the magician then you should definitely go, that was both of our favorite show. Our travel card back to the airport said Friday, but we were waiting in the lobby and they didn't come. We finally got a hold of them and they came to pick us up, and luckily we still made it to our flight on time. The food was pretty good. We only went to one of the restaurants, but both of us liked the food they had at the main place the best. The hotel was pretty looking, and the people were really nice for the most part. Some of the people at the front desk and at reservations weren't so nice. It isn't the greatest beach ever, but it had been stormy so that may be why the water looked kind of yucky. I am trying to put a positive spin on this because it wasn't that bad of a trip, but my husband was pretty upset about the service and having to pay for something we didn't enjoy a whole lot. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samjanetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Like many - i had read the reviews of this hotel and wasnt sure what to expect - being an adults only complex. It was simply amazing! The hotel was clean and rooms spacious. We had a leaky toilet and a warmish firdge - both rectified immediately and we were offered to upgrade (for a fee which was worth it) but were double rooms only.
The "crew" who provided the entertainment were really great and very funny. We had heard that this was many years ago more adult themed but had been tamed right down and i couldnt see any evidence of it being OTT. The food was a plenty, despite a small outer bar - never had any problems getting served drinks. The setting of this hotel is lush with green trees and flowers which you follow over a bridge and reach the beautiful beach! The place is exactly as seen in photos and was just very WOW!!! I dont consider myself to be easily pleased but nor did i expect the Ritz. The weather was amazing - if we'd gone 10 day before we would have had 4 days of rain! It rained for 3 hours one evening to clear the air and it was refreshing! Lets face it - its warm rain - you're not cooking, cleaning, or working so who cares!! Met some amazing people and hopefully made some new friends.
I would love to go again.................and im doing my best to make it happen next year!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freckles1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I was a little worried because of some of the reviews I had read and it was my first time going to Dominican...do not believe everything you read!! The staff at Blue Bay were extremely friendly, helpful and a great deal of fun. They tried to involve everyone in the various shows and daily activities but if you just wanted to lay by the pool they didn't bother you. We really enjoyed the Oriental Restaurant even though that seemed to receive the worst reviews, the Steak House we didn't enjoy and we didn't bother with the Seafood Restaurant because there was such a great selection at the buffet every night.

I stronly recommend this resort for a fun and relaxing vacation!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etucker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Bay in Playa Dorada mid March 2009. It was such a great trip, made even better by the hotel and the hospitality of the staff!

The Hotel
This place is magical, lovely lush surroundings and the best hotel (from what we saw) in the Playa Dorada resort. We started off our trip with a drink at check in and were taken to our room. My husband asked to check what other rooms looked like and he was taken around the grounds. We decided to stay with the room (double plus). It was spacious, with a huge bed.

Good Points

Food was AMAZING. All inclusive is the way to go. Three meals a day in the buffet restaurant. Fresh fruit and vegetable with various mains served each day. Each time they had chips and pizza for those less adventurous. Food was well cooked, well marinated and well served. Snacks and drinks served throughout the day. There is a different theme each night and there is always something to suit each individual palate.

You get three tickets for the À la carte restaurants, which are nice, but we preferred the buffet meals for more variety.

Staff – so polite and courteous, I don’t think I have stayed in a hotel with such amazing, smiling people They really make you feel welcome. The animation crew were hilarious, we didn’t get to see much of them but the beach party on the Friday night was worth going to. They have so much energy and try and get everyone involved.

Surroundings – lush and scenic with the golf course in front and Mount Isabel Del Torres in the background.
Hotel amenities were lovely with neutral shades and bright colours intertwined. The beach is just behind the hotel.

Bad points:

Room has thin walls and through doors, you can hear the people next door like they are standing in the room with you. Slightly annoying when your neighbours watch TV at 6am!

Room was not cleaned as regular as expected; a couple of days was done pretty late…

No bath tub in any of the rooms unless you have a Villa ($100 more per night) and you will get a Jacuzzi…

Don’t expect a white sand beach. It is yellow sand and the beach (at this time of the year maybe) is not the best feature. We stayed by the pool most of the time. The snack bar is on the beach and serves food and drinks all day.

Tips for your stay
Do not book excursions through the hotel, they are much more expensive. Instead take a quick walk down the road to the Playa Dorada Plaza and go to AJ’s (next to Hemingways). Ask for Goran. The more excursions you want to do, the cheaper it is. Each excursion costs far less then what the hotel was asking for. We went to Paradise Island, horse riding, dune buggy rides and went to the city for a tour. My favourite thing has to be the horse riding. You will ride through the most scenic and beautiful fields and into a village – take something to give to the children and some water to drink. Paradise Island was a let down, it was a long trip and speed boat to the sand bank (it is not an island) and it was pretty windy. We saw one fish!

I wouldn’t bother with the city tour – instead (if you are a couple or a group) walk just outside the Playa Dorada complex and take a “bus” into Cabarate or Sosua. You will see a whole new side of the Amber Coast and take back with you a few authentic memories. The cable car ride up Mount Isabel Del Torres is worth the trip, you will get the best view of the northern coast! We went to Bongos at the Playa Dorada complex and this club is the place to be on Fridays and Saturdays but the rest of the week seemed pretty quite. Drink prices are around 300 Pesos a shot…best thing to do is get drinking in the hotel well before!! We took both Peso’s and Dollars and this was better as we could haggle more with the local currency. On our final night we went to the Lighthouse Lounge and Discothèque…we regretted not having gone here sooner – the venue was magnificent! The whole place looked like an underwater castle – a must see. Goran, (at AJ’s) was able to organise transport for us (it is about twenty minutes away). It is well worth the trip! Everyone has to pay tax, put this aside ($10 arrival, $20 departure). Take plenty of sun tan lotion! If you are planning the Paradise Island trip, DO NOT take a camera or phone with you, the speed boat will get completely soaked and if (like me) you had a beach bag this will get completely soaked!! Be sure to take some smaller denominations with you, the staff really appreciate the tips and even a $ or 100 Peso’s goes a long way. Puerto Plata airport. After a wonderful trip in a beautiful country with such lovely people, this is one of the worst airport experiences we have had. On the whole the security/immigration/retail staff were surprisingly miserable and discourteous. The food on offer was of a low quality and at rip-off prices. Something like $5 for a packet of crisps is one example. Try and take some food and drink with you before you get there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed at the Bluebay between 21/3/09 and 4/4/09. We travelled with friends and all 4 of us loved it. We had rooms 6303/04 which overlooked the main pool.

Rooms were basic as people have said but were spotless and we didn't have a problem.

I am a bit of a fussy eater and my friend is a vegetarian but we still found plenty to eat and we all enjoyed the food. We visited the Grill 3 times, Seafood twice and the Asian once. The food was very good in all 3. The only thing we didn't like about the Asian was that we felt very rushed and there wasn't much of an atmosphere.
Lucia and Francis at the Seafood were both brilliant, excellent service.

The Entertainment Crew were very good and never stopped (Eddie Murphy was our favourite). We were happy to just sit and watch the games but they still chatted and were very friendly with everyone.

We spent most days on the beach and then moved to the pool later on in the afternoon. I don't know why people moan so much about the beach vendors. All you need to say is no thank you and that's it. How hard is that? At the end of the day they are only trying to earn a living.

Timeshare - we were pounced on after breakfast on our first morning. Just told him we weren't interested and off he went, we weren't bothered again. Our friends actually went to the talk (didn't get their t-shirt and cap) and the girl told them there was no way she could ever beat the price we paid.

This was our first holiday without our daughter and the fact that it's adult only was one of the reasons we booked it. It was nice not to have kids running around.

We had 2 days of rain and then fantastic weather, it got hotter every day.

As previous reviewers have said the thing that makes this hotel so good is the staff. They were all so friendly and the service was brilliant.

We had a fantastic holiday and would reccommend Bluebay to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stejobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My wife and I travelled to Puerto Plata in April 2009 and stayed at the BlueBay Villas Resort. We loved the Staff and the service was excellent. What we didn't like was the food, however, after being asked by the kitchen staff about the food they offered to cook us whatever we wanted which was AWESOME. Night shows were a little corny. Cleanliness A+.......Free Wi-Fi in the lobby was a plus. Additionally, they have two laptops available for guests. Oh, don't get sucked in by the Time Share employees. Tell them NOOOOOO.!!!! If not they will keep on annoying you. Overall this hotel was EXCELLENT!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejr163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,976 reviews
9.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing