We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best holiday i've had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best holiday i've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

The hotel is great! Excellent conditions and the best entertaining team i've ever seen!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,970
    1,326
    565
    246
    174
See reviews for
425
2,942
177
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashf17
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I went here with my boyfirend last month, it was our first holiday together and we wanted it to be a good one. We were a bit wary after reading some of the bad reviews, but i have to say...this place is fantastic!!!
The staff cant do enough to help you, from readin previous reviews we were expecting a lot from the entertainment crew, who more than lived up to it! Teddy is a dress... well, you'll see! one thing i did notice while there, the waiting staff / bar etc do not get nearly enough recognition!! These people do not stop! Towards the end of the week my boyfriend actually had an empty water glass during the meal, he was so shocked he took a photo! Seriously, they cant do enough for you, they are SUPER attentive to all the guests.
we had a romantic meal on the beach as my bday celebration, i would definately recommend this if there is a specail occasion while you are there, was so lovely! Plus like us if you are lucky enough to have the lovely Lucille and Francis waiting on you they really will make your holiday! Try the Mamajuana!!! Juan at the pool bar, Rock in the main bar, and one of the guys (who i feel reallly bad i dont know his name) were amazing...go to Juan for your cocktails!!
The maids were lovely, we had a constant supply of towel swans and our clothes in pretty shapes.
We did a few of the excursions, and honestly it was the most amazing 2 weeks ever, i would go back tomorrow!
The one thing i will say is that if your the type of person who goes on holiday looking for somehting to complain about, and a slighty cracked tile would ruin your holiday, dont bother! Not that the hotel is not in a good state, just that the majority of people there are so laid back they would think you were idiots (and i would agree)
All in all, i would recommed BlueBay to anybody, it is an amazing place, and i really could never say enough good things about it!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ashf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We came back from Blue Bay on thursday. I have to say that the island, the hotel, weather (even the rain – domincan snow) was great – I loved it. But two things that I will keep in my heart are: music and dance – bachata and merengue and people I have met there. People from Bulgaria (kisses for you Gerry and Jose!) and from Dominican Republic: animation crew, dancers (You were absolutely amazing guys!!!!). It was a great pleasure to meet you and dance with you. Hope to see you next year!!!!
For people who are not sure about BlueBay: Don,t Wonder anymore! Get your best holidays In BlueBay!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leoniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

My girlfriend and I had a really nice 12 days at the Blue Bay Villas (BBV) from Octo 31 to Nov 12.

Having read a lot of the reviews about BBV before and after we holidayed there it's important to remember that whatever people write is simply their own, honest opinion.

Even my girlfriend and I had differing takes on the quality of the food. She thought it was good, I thought it was average. One thing we agreed on was the food in the Oriental restaurant was dire.

Rather than drone on and on I'll list our tips and advice on do's and dont's and what worked for us.

DO

Think about booking an airport lounge on the way there and the way back. We found it a great way to start and end the holiday.

Tip good staff early into your trip not just at the end - Whenever we did that we found them extra helpful. Moses, Ramon, Francis and Lucia are all well worth looking after as they return the favour.

Following that it's worth getting some $1 bills when you change your money up. Don't listen to the exchange bureau if they say they don't have many, they'll soon find them when you say you will get the money changed elsewhere.

The gardeners and security staff don't often get tips. We tipped a gardener $5 on the last day and he was as happy as a French fan after Henry's handball. The night security chap was also made up when we gave him a couple of boxes of cigarettes.

We booked the Outback Safari through Thomson. The company that does it put a lot back into the community and sponsor schools, villages and other social projects. Very good day out and you are helping others at the same time.

Do ask your rep about bagging up leftover cosmetics, clothes etc and making sure they reach the right, needy people and are not just divided up among hotel staff. Sounds harsh but we were told a job in a hotel is more lucrative than being a policeman, nurse or teacher (due to the tips).

Try to learn even the most basic Spanish, the Dominicans love it when you try to speak it and provide off the cuff free lessons :) We're in their country after all.

Do haggle like mad on the beach, it's fun and when conducted with a smile adds to the holiday experience.

Don't

Worry about the sellers on the beach. A polite smile and 'no gracias' and they leave you alone.

Don't be afraid to ask for a better room if you are not happy with your one. We stayed in block 8 which is lovely and quiet but were originally placed in block 2 opposite the entertainment stage.

Don't tell the white capped timeshare sellers the truth, regardless of when you arrived, if approached by them with their standard 'ola, how long have you been here?' simply say 'I've been here for a week and have already visited the hut'. It's a minor hassle easily dealt with.

Don't leave bags / belongings sitting around at night. We left a bag by the pool for ten minutes on our last night and when we returned it, complete with camera inside, had gone. Our mistake but you need to be ever so slightly mindful of things like that.

I've read some of the 'Butlins' comments and can see where people are coming from but you have the option of peace and quiet around the spa pool and the beach is three minutes away. This place really is what you make it, the animation crew leave you alone if you don't fancy joining in.

In summary you will have a great time especially if you go with realistic expectations. We paid £700 each for 12 days, all inclusive to a sun soaked paradise where people move slowly and smile easily. When you take the price in mind it's easy to over look the minor mishaps that took place.

If you have any questions whatsoever please feel free to give me a shout.

Enjoy

Jerry & Polly

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank JerryML1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

its not all bad animation team did not hastle you like it says in other reviews they do ask if you want to take part but a simple no thanks is enough.
usual pool games during the day if you wish to take part the water volleyball is very good fun (big thank you to Teddy & Lorenzo who make it good fun) if you like peace and quiet you can sunbathe in the spa pool area also this is a non smoking area. the barman Moises provides excellent service he will refill your drink before you know you have finished, it a big thank you to him. We did not really take part in the evening entertainment which is provided by the entertainment team this finishes at 11pm.
If you want a sunbed and a brolly by the pool you need to be up by 7- 7.30 to put your towel on, plenty of sunbeds on the beach. disappointed with the beach area not very clean cigarette end all over.
The rooms are basic but clean although you never know when the room will be cleaned beach towels did not get changed every day as it says on the leaflets in the room ours were only changed 4 times in 2 weeks. we had a small issue with the shower in our room but a call at reception and it was put right very quickly . there is an iron and ironing board in the room and a hairdryer in the bathroom. There is a mini bar in the room you may drink the contents without any charge but to have it restocked will cost you $10
i dont know why but i was informed by the girl on reception that i could only have it restocked once which i thought was very poor you only get 2 beers & 1 coke 1 sprite the water is restocked free of charge but i assume you have to ask because the water was never restocked in our room.
There are 3 bars but the spa bar only has 2 tables & 8 chairs, the beach bar only has a few stools and is used by the steak house these tables become available once the steak house is closed, the entertainment bar is open to the elements as are the others there is no indoor lounge bar to relax in at this hotel.
Breakfast at the buffet restaurant is not bad egg station bacon etc although i went in after 9am once and there was no bacon left and they were not cooking anymore .
buffet restaurant for lunch dinner pretty poor all the meat is tough as old boots the griddle chef not a very friendly chap everything seemed to be a chore, also if you go in late after 8.30pm for dinner, you may find some items have run out and i did not see them replace them whilst we were in for our meal. At lunch time you are better off with a freshly cooked burger at the snack bar they will also fry you some onions if you ask.
steak restaurant not too bad although what they say is rump steak is really more like rib eye so if you dont like fat dont have it, your better of with the chateaubriand the sauce is seperate it can be left if you dont like it, also you can ask for fries with your meal although they are not on the menu. It is not a bad meal in the steak house but stay clear of the chicken (very dry & tough)
Chinese restaurant we left this till very late in the holiday because my partner does not normally like chinese food abroad this was a mistake the food was pretty good and she loved the fried ice cream I tried the sushi never had it before but not my cup of tea but we both enjoyed the meal and sorry that we only got to use it the once.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kezjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

First off let me say please please ignore any bad review on this hotel. Neither I nor any of our party of 10 can understand how it is possible to find a bad review of this place.

We flew with Thomas Cook and that was our only issue as the flight was awful with rude staff and poor entertainment although the flight back was on a better plane with better staff.
The experience at the airport was the best I have seen in the Caribbean. We landed at 4 and were through customs with our luggage by half 4. The transfer was only 15 minutes too. One thing to watch out for at the hotel are the porters. They will always try to carry your case just a few yards then ask for a tip. A stern no is required before they understand.

We arrived at the hotel and were delighted straight away with how it looked. It was certainly the best from the others we stopped at. We were given a refreshing Ice Tea and cold flannel to cool down and were handed our welcome pack. The whole process took 15 mins before we were shown to our room.

The first room we were taken too smelt of damp. No problem though. We simply asked to be moved and were instantly upgraded to a pool view room which was lovely. 2 huge double beds, big wardrobe, amazing bathroom. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and new towels for the bathroom and beach were given everyday. The only annoying thing was the room key card did stop working a few times so reception had to reset it.

On our first day we met the entertainment crew. They are simply the best. Lorenzo is a great team leader and one of the funniest people I've ever met. Rambo, Tino, Teddy, James Bond, Dee Dee and Angie all made every day so much fun. There was a full program of entertainment everyday. The crew are so energetic and considering they earn next to nothing they are always happy. And the evenings entertainment was the best I have seen anywhere. The whole team plus the resident dance crew were amazing. Anyone who says otherwise needs their head examining. You've gotta hope they do the Michael Jackson show while you are there cos it was almost as good as the real thing. I would have happily paid money to watch some of the shows.

The beach is nice with plenty of beds and parasols. Yeah there are lots of beach vendors trying to sell stuff but I can't see this as a problem. Just say no and they move on.

The food was good at every sitting. Huge choice and was all good quality. I'm quite a fussy eater but every night there was something for me to have. The 3 a la carte restaurants are all lovely. I liked the Oriental one best but everyone will prefer different ones depending on your food tastes.

There are loads of fantastic excursions on offer. If you want a nice Catermeran trip go and see Xavier at the beach hut. He did it $25pp cheaper than the rep offered and it was a superb day. And try and visit Ocean World, great day out.

If you are a golfer this is a great hotel. Literally only a 3 minute walk to the course and it is superb.
The Plaza is only a short 5 minute walk away with loads of shops. You do get a lot of people asking you to buy stuff but a simple no is enough.

Overall I cannot say enough about how good this hotel was. Any questions feel free to contact me and trust me I will remove any doubt you have.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bb1981Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Wish to thank bluebay villas for a wonderful holday the food and drink was amasing.The hotel was spotless and the staff was fantastic but the entertainment crew were the best so funney and happy all the time.They looked after you all the time and so friendly like one big family.I have to say the dancers were brillant i hope when i return again they are all still there because they make you have such a good time i would return just to see them everynight. so a big big thankyou to the entertainment crew and lorenzo and teddy for making us feel welcome see you next year mrs sharon moyse

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaz1cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing