We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Co Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I have just come back from a lovely honeymoon. On arrival at the hotel you don't have the rush to reception for check in - they sit you down - you get a drink and cold towel and then hand out your keys. I am a travel agent and for me and I know the majority of my customers a god send after such a long flight. The process is quick and easy, your bags are then taken to your rooms by a porter. First impressions of the hotel at this point is modern and chic. The level of service is of a high standard and this is aparant imediately.
On arrival in our rooms (in block 2 may I add - wasn't noisy after midnight as entertainment would finish - through the day I hardly noticed it either) We paid extra for a balcony and it is a minimal supplement, My room didn't overlook the pool but a bit of garden and a quiet road. We had bath robes, rum, fresh fruit and flowers scattered around our room - I had stated at time of booking it was our honeymoon. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern - beds huge. Maid service daily. It had a walk in wardrobe with shelves and hangers - ample space for holiday etire - I heard people complaining about not having drawers and read it in previous review but there was plenty of space. There was ample shelving for 1wk or 2wk holiday - lots of hangers etc. There is TV in rooms with lots of channels and aircon and fan free of charge. Rooms were great and found it overall quiet!
Food/ Restaurants - the standard of food compared to other caribbean islands I had been to is pretty typical - good standard - plenty of choice, I like trying new things and the varierty was good - breakfasts exceptional. We had a honeymoon meal put on for us - 5 courses in the Seafood restaurant which was beautiful - 5 courses - wasn't part of our ala carte allowance. I went to the Oriental and it was good. The only one I wasn't too bothered about was the beach grill which was just burgers etc - But it wasn't bad was just burgers and I like to try different things. Regardless of where we ate the service levels were high.
Beach was quiet - nice to walk along to stretch your legs -beds are free and sellers will go as soon as you say no thanks - unlike some other holiday destinations where you can be hounded. Sea is choppy - not typical calm caribbean waters - Thinks it's atlantic so you have few waves!
Enterntainment - was what you amde of it - you can get involved or not - the staff work really hard and made me laugh - although I was getting driectly involved - my hubby palyed volleyball a couple of times.
The Manager invited us to a champagne cocktail candelit cocktail party which I really enjoyed - I didnt once say I was a travel agent so no preferential treatment - This was them ensuring we had a fantastic honeymoon.
Pool area is nice but need to be early for beds - although we always did manage it - no probs and later on it got quieter!
My husband is a golf fanatic - Plays at competition level and the course is ranked high in the world from what I have read. He said it was a nice course!
The hotel is small and friendly - if you view the webiste what you see if what you get - no false advertising.
Overall Would go back and will recommend to my customers!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jillyp4perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,142
    1,375
    576
    253
    178
See reviews for
469
3,058
185
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Having read quite a few decent reviews on TA, I have to say I was very dissapointed by Blue Bay Villas.


Rooms: These are pre-allocated and distributed in envelopes with the key and other hotel info at a all in meeting at reception on arrival, not at the desk. We were in block 2, which is right next to the performance stage and can get very noisy sometimes. The PA is way too loud for such a small area. Blocks 7 & 8 are in the quieter part but do back onto the swamp!! There are no drawers for you to put clothes, only a wardrobe to hang them up. Maid cleans daily, but check they change your sheets, otherwise they just make the beds up. Towels are changed daily if required, however, they only seemed to take blue beach towels and replace with one when we had two!! Also, don't bother to pay extra for a balcony view, chances are you'll get one anyway. We did and only got a small one when bigger ones were availible. Not worth the money !!

Pool Areas: The two main pools here are very clean, it is only a shame that one of them is not deeper (max 4ft) as it is an adult only resort the dangers are less. The Spa Pool is quieter, with a decked area and small bar.

Resturants: The main restaurant is buffet style breakfast, lunch and evening meal. We found the food to be sub-standard, often bland. We used the Pasta Stations mainly as the food is cooked in front of you and is a bit fresher, as is the Egg station at breakfast. There are 3 A la Carte resturants advertised there. They are in no way A la Carte!! Jade is an Oriental, El Dorado is a Grill and Pescador is Fish. They are better than the buffet, but only just. There is a Pizza Hut in the Plaza if all else fails !! Sometimes in the buffet, the waiters took drink orders, but forgot about them and we had to ask again. Not a big deal, but not what we expected after some of the glowing reports about how good they were meant to be.

Mosquitoes: These ate us alive!! We asked the maid to sparay the rooms, but they didn't. One of the bartenders said they regularly smoke them out, but we didn't witness this once. I ended up sleeping fully clothed with shoes as well and they still got me !! Must be Robo-mozzies!! It's a shame because this can spoil you holiday with constant itching and scrathing. A lot of others suffered as well judging by what we saw.

Animation Crew: These guys work had to keep those who want, entertained. If you don't want to get involved just say no for a few days and then they recognise you and leave you alone. They organise games, aerobics, volleyball etc.

Watch Out For: 2 guys employed by the hotel to get you hooked up to timeshare. They claim there is some sort of promotion going on and offer to show around the place, but it's a ploy to get you to speak to someone in the office and try to sign you up. They try every day and in the end I had to be rude and blank them, it was the only way to stop them from hassling me. Beach vendors are everywhere, but are not nasty, a quick no thank you and they go on to the next target.

I have written a few reviews on here on other hotels and sadly this is the first time I would not recommend one.I know that most people will rate this review unhelpful because it differs with their opinion or is not what they want to hear, but it is my honest appraisal of how we found the hotel. It has good and bad points...........

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EssexMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel in November 2009 with my partner for two weeks.

The hotel lobby was lovely and the greeting was very welcome after a long day travelling!

I was a bit disappointed with our room as we had no outside space at all, so nowhere to dry towels etc. I asked to be moved but I would of had to pay extra so we stayed where we were.

The food was nice, especially at the a la carte restaurants. I would recommend that you book in early as they seemed to get booked up very early. The service in the main buffet was quite slow and we had to ask for water numerous times because they kept forgetting to come back to us to give us a drink.

The pool areas were very nice, you have to be up early if you want to be in a specific spot though. The swim up bar was very good, I would recommend the special cocktail, or "pink drink" or whatever you want to call it. It has bananas in it, so too many can give you a bad tummy.

Overall this was an excellent holiday, very relaxing! Ian and Denise if you read this then message me please!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yorkuk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

From touch down til departure we had a blast! Reception was great, location, food, pools and the beach, wonderful. Had a slight mixup with room locations as another couple travelling were with us & put in block 7, we were in block 2 but problem was resolved quickly. Other than that we cannot say enough good things about the place. Doralize, Teddy, Dee Dee, Jaimie & Leslie our Sunquest contacts - everybody treated you like family and knew who you were by day 2.....it was like being with friends you knew all your life. The count down is on til our return next November!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taxlady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

this was the best holiday ever the crew wre brill and the staff wre brill to the crew made our holiday excellent angie was an angel our room was brill to the food excellent all the staff were very helpfull if you needed anything we bookd up the next day we got home cant wait to go back next year .

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ishbel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

this was the best holiday ever the staff were just fag the crew were outstanding angie robert are the best the whole holiday was just brill

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

The hotel is great! Excellent conditions and the best entertaining team i've ever seen!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing