We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,328)
Filter reviews
6,328 results
Traveller rating
3,635
1,524
664
289
216
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,635
1,524
664
289
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay spa pool alfredo beach bar the oriental restaurant animation team jade garden teddy bear seafood steak restaurant the grill el dorado a la carte restaurants chateaubriand an adults only resort time share beach vendors
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 6,328 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

It was me and my partners first trip to the Dominican Republic and we are really unhappy with our stay at the BlueBay. After reading on the TUI website all about this hotel and viewing all the images they had to offer, we were expecting a beautiful, relaxing beach holiday, which was far from the reality.

When checking in, we felt the receptionist was very inconsiderate to the fact we had just come off a 9 hour flight and to be quite honest we felt there was a lack of customer service.

We requested a quiet room when booking the holiday and we got a room right next to the main stage so was kept up most nights with loud music etc etc, then after being told that wifi was free by TUI when booking the hotel we were greeted with an extortionate charge of best part of £200 for two weeks worth of WIFI for myself and my partner. I questioned this with the receptionist to which i received a very rude response. However, i found many of the staff were very friendly and in particular the entertaining and bar staff were very welcoming although sometimes you are made to feel bad about not taking part in the daily activities.

We felt the buffet restaurant was reasonable and had to eat there nearly every meal as the al la carte restaurants were very disappointing. Both me and my partner were left with upset stomachs for the majority of the trip after only eating and drinking in the hotel.

Our room was nothing special at all, the safe was broken and not secure (with a charge of 3 dollars a day). We both think the rooms are very out dated and need a good re-vamp as i think the hotel has potential to be a brilliant resort with a lot of work in the right places. We spent a lot of money on this trip and feel with all the extra charges (which aren’t advertised) we could of stayed in 5 star accommodation.

In addition to this, the Circle One staff completely misadvertising. They hounded us for days before we reluctantly agreed to see what they offered. He said there was nothing being sold, however after spending 3 hours listening to a presentation selling a holiday package, we soon realised this was a complete lie. We declined their offer and experienced a negative tension from then on.

Overall, I found this trip a complete disappointment and feel like we have wasted a lot of are money on this holiday.

We will not be returning to the BlueBay anytime soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Destination749807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear, Customer

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire hotel we want to thank you for sharing your review and highlight each point of improvement, we are working hard to increase our service quality in order to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers.
We consider your comments as an opportunity of improvement; however we want to apology for the issues you have experienced and please be informed that your review will be take in account order to take action about it.
Our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us.

One more time thank you for your review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Well... online this resorts looks absolutely beautiful...
I can say the set of of the resort is very nice and its beautiful. However... it was very disappointing. Front desk staff are very friendly.

For an "All-Inclusive" Resort you have to pay for your drinks at the White & Black bar in the lobby which i think is silly. You have to pay extra for the safe as well... which seems odd.

After a long day of flying we got to our room to notice a very "big disappointment" rooms need lots of work, bed is hard as a rock, everything in general needs a face lift.
OHH and the best part is we had ants all over the right night stand and the bed. After seeing that we decided we would shower first than deal with the ants after. Well... after having a shower... the shower flooded half our room... must of been a leak somewheres...

Got dressed and went to the front desk, they had housekeeping come and clean up the water and spray the ants. (not that they knew where the ants where)
They did offer us a new room but not until the following night.

That night we decided we did not want to spend the next 7 days in this hole. We called Expedia and they overoad the system and booked us at beautiful resort called the Millennium Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear, Crystal L

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire hotel we want to thank you for sharing your review and highlight each point of improvement, we are working hard to increase our service quality in order to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers.
We consider your comments as an opportunity of improvement; however we want to apology for the issues you have experienced and please be informed that your review will be take in account order to take action about it.
Our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us.

One more time thank you for your review.

Best regards.

Francisco Diaz
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Just what I came back from vacation and I'm still thinking about it.

The rooms are modest under 4 stars but are clean, the food is very good, diversified and what I liked the most is that there is not much waste of food.

Those who make your vacation a super-vacation are the animation team! They're the hottest and most fun people I've met!

P.S. Mandy is the most beautiful girl in the Dominican Republic and Roberto (Dj Panteras) is the hottest DJ and dancer!

For animation team 5 stars, for resort 4!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Florian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Public Relations Manager at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Florian

Thank so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s more than a great pleasure for us to read your positive reviews about us and highlight the great work of our entire Staff specially our animation team, our goal is to offer a service to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.


Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards

Francisco Diaz
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

So....just got back from Bluebay
I must say...what a disappointment 

From the time we got there... everything was not was it was supposed to be
My wife paid for the platinum package and from the start nothing was as stated in the ads
From check in.....on
Platinum is supposed to have a private check in... didn't happen
Fruit plate and bottle of rum in the room upon arrival.... didn't happen even after mentioning it to 3 different people

Our room....1st day the fridge didn't work and had to be replaced
Day 2...the a/c blew up and water was everywhere on the floor
The shower took forever to heat up and then finally as you got in and soaped up the cold water disappeared for upwards of 20mins

The black and white bar....is not worth the upgrade
My wife couldn't even get a glass of wine at it.... 
My thing I did last year in Cuba was coffee and Bailey's in the morning....i could get a Bailey's..but not till 10am and would have had to pay for the coffee. When my wife did order a wine at the bars...it came out of a water jug!

Our waitress at this bar however was without a doubt the best one on the resort!

Our room....after it rained later in the week there was a sump pump outside our bedroom window that when running shook the entire wall.....i went to the reception on the Thursday night and they did give us a different room to just sleep in that night as we left the next day....but 2hrs into our sleep a concierge mistakingly opened up the wrong room and walked in on us sleeping 
Also....the window on this wall leaked water all over the floor soaking a pile of dirty laundry I had under the window

We also had a door at the back of our room connecting it to another room...
This door made everything the people did in their room very loud and noticeable to us...conversations, bathroom use etc....

So food.....
....food was ok
But bland and luke warm
But the big problem....was how sick me and my wife got. We have now been home 5 days and are still having gastric issues
I got sick 3 days into my vacation and my wife followed suit 2 days

Last thing....

We asked on the Friday for a late check out(as the bus didn't pick us up until 8:40pm)but was told everything was full.
So we where stuck in the lobby all day due a big rain storm. Yet everytime I checked our old room, no one was in it (the room was right beside the lobby)

So in summary.....we didn't enjoy our vacation at all

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Geoff w,

We thank you so much for having selected BlueBay Villas Doradas to spend your holidays.

On behalf of the entire hotel we want to thank you for sharing your review and highlight each point of improvement, we are working hard to increase our service quality in order to offer a service that exceeds the expectations of our customers.
We consider your comments as an opportunity of improvement; however we want to apology for the issues you have experienced and please be informed that your review will be take in account order to take action about it.
Our expectation is to have our entire customer back to the resort every year for that reason working on the customer’s reviews and solve is very important for us.

One more time thank you for your review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We are a couple in our late 50's travelling to DR for our 3rd Xmas week holiday-first time to this resort. We both had a great time, and were impressed with the food/drinks, staff, and especially the dinner/live music/entertainment for Christmas. We "upgraded" when purchasing our Transat trip online to the best level offered (gold). The benefit was to have unlimited specialty restaurants ...which we took advantage of and thouroughly enjoyed every night for dinner (except Xmas eve gala) and 15% off spa (we had a couples massage which was excellent) and "preferred deck" with Bali beds at beach which was nice (although there were plenty of options for everyone at beach. Other "extra" details-we had to ask for...and never got turn-down. The room was not well located (ground level, back of building #1)...but was a quiet so we decided to stay. Small awkward bathroom, large room--but seriously lacking in storage (no dresser...& tiny closet has safe so you have no full length hanging space-we could not unpack our suitcases. Comfy king bed..ok linens...AC great (could have used a blanket on the bed). Bleach smell in room after being cleaned daily. This resort is small so walking distance to everything is not an issue. I loved the beach (very clean) because the water is calm...easy flat entry and no large waves rolling in...so you can swim/float. Property needs a little updating (tiles in and around pools, for instance) but was was tidy and attractive. Very friendly staff and other vacationers. We both agreed that our experience was very positive and we would consider returning next year.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CaroleAtCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Public Relations Manager at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Carole

Thank you so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s a great pleasure for us to read your positive review about us and highlight the great work of our Staff and point of improvement, we always work very hard in order to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.

We hope that you back for many years.

Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards.

Francisco Díaz
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews