We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Good and bad.”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I picked this resort for its size, beach location and mostly its adults only venue. And for that it did fit the bill. I was also looking forward to a quiet relaxing holiday....

I summarize my observations below:



The GOOD:

- Location, size and cleanliness or resort
- Variety of food
- Staff friendliness and helpfullness (front desk the exception here - read more below)
- Nice beach with sufficient shade
- Clean, warm pools and ocean

The Not-so-GOOD:

- Rooms. Yes I knew the rooms are small and basic. But I just wanted a quiet room in a quiet area of the complex. Didn't happen. First room they gave me was right next to the stage and pool bar. (??). 2nd room was right by the parking lot, so again no privacy or quiet. Then I paid for an upgrade to balcony room and they still stuck me right in front of the pool. By then I just gave up. The walls are paper thin. My neighbours were TV junkies - had the TV on all the time they were in their room. Sounded like it was in my room.

- Front desk. Wow. Talk about being masters of giving you the run-around. Internet not working..'come back this afternoon'...then 'come back tomorrow morning'....etc. Answer was always to 'come back' Didn't bother helping me get the service somewhere else like at the plaza or at the next door Barcelo. Want to change rooms? Same story. "Come back tomorrow morning'....'come back later this afternoon'....come back 'in ten minutes'.....etc. etc. Finally had to take it up with my tour rep (who was wonderful!) and I did get a room change. (Still noisy though)

- Weird Buffet service. This is how this works. The sign says to please wait to be seated. Unfortunately the lady who supposedly seats you is too busy putting cutlery down on the tables. Most people tire of waiting so they seat themselves. Once you're sitting down, you then have to wait for the guy who brings the napkins. Then you have to wait for the guy/gal to bring you glasses. Then you wait for the guy/gal to bring you water and/or wine. Should you want something to drink other than that, good luck to you since you will have another long wait. This I found very bizarre. Why not just set the tables with ALL OF THE ITEMS at once?? Some days I was finished my lunch by the time my water arrived. Most days it never made it.

The down-right-annoying:

On property you get hassled for time shares or the vacation club. Now I just brush these guys off since I know what they are selling. However, I still did not like their approach. They are not terribly up-front in what they are selling. They will say that they want to tell you about the 'hotel promotions' or show you some 'brochures'. Yes they have a right to sell their wares. But why not be up-front and honest about it? If the product is that darn good...why do they have to use scum-bag tactics to sell this? I was NOT impressed!

On the beach you will be constantly harassed to buy cigars, trinkets, ugly paintings, manicures, pedicures, massages, hair-braiding, banana boat rides, catamaran trips, jewellery, and just about every other product imaginable.

Off property you will be approached with golf promotions, money exchange, restaurant coupons, horse and buggy rides, taxis, private tours, bus tours...and just about everything for sale.

If you happen to be female, you will be harassed to go out dancing..by just about every male from the age of 12 to 80. You can just about forget a quiet leisurely walk.

The UGLY:

Worst wine I have ever tasted. My friends make better home-made stuff than what this resort serves. They should be ashamed of themselves for serving the cheap nasty swill they do. I would be embarassed to serve this at my home. And the a la cartes serve the same shameful crap. Nasty.

Feel free to email or message me if you have further questions.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,032
    1,349
    571
    247
    177
See reviews for
444
2,982
180
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Dont be put off by any bad reviews, they baffle me. This was a holiday of a lifetime and i will be back. Food not 5* but no hotel abroad in such countries have the food we're maybe used to in our 5* hotels. The bar on the beach 24hr-loved it! Cocktails/Beers/whiskeys/rums(151 wasnt as strong tho for me anyway that they made out) you name it they had it from first thing in morning. The beds on the beach a lovely lovely touch!!Dinner on the beach 150dollars, personal waiter, lobster, shrimp, candlelight-very romantic absolutely worth it! A la carte restaurants were lovely, loved the sushi. I went for 2 weeks with bf and i never was bored, anything less than 2 weeks would be too short. Hurricance Iyke passed over when we stayed in sep which caused some flooding of our room, the hotel staff couldnt have been friendlier and brilliant in sorting the problem out and then leaving us a fruit basket and free massage as an apology. Perfect location for honeymoon, even having your wedding. 100% recommend for couples, no kids is an absolute BONUS. What can i say... it fulfilled all my needs (apart from cheapy willy (man on the beach trying to sell us stuff)) holiday of a lifetime, worth every penny. But make sure you fly into puerto plata as my bf made the mistake of flying us into punta cana!! 400dollars, 7hr taxi ride later we made it to the hotel!! :s
Wanna go?? Book it now! Never regret it! :D

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenhamillton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I am going to leave this review plain, simple and straight to the point.

Check in - Quick, easy, friendly and swift.

Guest services - Doralize and Ines are amazing and friendly helping you book the A La Cartes or any other issues you may have.

Bar Staff - Moises, Victor, Welvin, Juan, Franklin, Alex plus all the others are a brilliant team, with fast friendly service and always there with a smile and friendly Banter!!

Security Staff - A1, my wife occasionally walked to the beack on her own and always had an escort from the Security, one would stand at either end of the bridge and make sure she got there safely. Staff at the front of the hotel (security) were a great laugh and always looked out for you.

Animation Crew (entertainments) - This team really is second to none, with some professional shows and activities to keep you entertained through the day and night. Not pushy at all but there to make you smile. Teddy Bear, Super Tino, Rambo, Coca Cola, Dee Dee, ANgie, Karina, James bond 007 and a half, Lorenzo and Dj Aris. Excellence in Entertainment!

Beach Vendors - Quite simply a pain, ignore them and polite requests with no gracias, but they just don't leave you alone.... grrrrr

Timeshare/Vacation Club - Hunt you down wherever you may be, but they got the hint after a while and we managed to get around without any further requests!

Catering staff/Servers - Carmen, Luci and the other Evening waitresses are brilliant, always bringing fresh drinks to the table without needing to ask and always having a giggle. Staff at the Buffet were great nilson was great always waiting for my wife to get her teabag out to fill it with hot water.... brillaint... All of the staff were brilliant!

Room - Room 34 which was right next to the towel exchange, clean, tidy, comfortable and in a great position. No issues with noise.

Other guests - We did have a few issues with other guests causing a disturbance during our stay, using the hotel as a Club 18-30's style hotel. Nudity, shouting & Screaming and general offencive behaviour. This was soon stopped after a quick word with the General Manager. This issue was the only one we had during our stay and was dealt with in a professional and friendly manner by Oscar Lora.

I think that has covered pretty much everything you need to know about the hotel and the service....

Overall summery.

Worth a holiday and many return trips, friendly helpful service with friendly staff that always go the extra mile to help you. Food was great with a very wide choice of foods overall. A La Cartes not to our taste but that is just a matter of personal taste.

Go here, see for yourself, and if you do come across any issues, mention it to the staff and whatever the issue it will always be rectified. A1****

Dan x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrwurzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed at this resort for two weeks and loved every minuteof it apart from the seedy behavior aryound the swim up pool bar. If you were there at the same time you will know what I mean! Well done to the BlueBay managagement for acting so swiftly to curtail what could have gotten out of hand and well done to those who complained. If you are looking to stay at this resort donot be put off by the bad reviews. My wife and I have stayed in many 4/5 star all inclusive resorts all over the world and this was comparable bearing in mind you are in a third world country. The positives are the speciality restaurants.Absolutely brilliant especially the fish and Asian restaurants. The Grill was also good but this is not air conditioned. A big thank you to all the restaurant staff, they really did make this a memorable holiday.
The red and white wine in the speciality restaurants is better than the wine around the pool bars. Probably the best red wine I have ever had in an all inclusive resort.
The beach is nice and don't be put off by the beach vendors. They are not persistant and a polite no thanks and they get the message. if you are daft enough to encourage them they will persist remember they are only trying to make a living. During the day we spent the majority of our time at the beach, where there are numerous sun beds. See Mandy in the morning and he will sort you out with some shade. Not many umberellas so you have to be out by 8am. No problem getting a bed and then going for breakfast. Mandy will show you a management memo giving you up to one hour before the beds have to be occupied. I didn't see any body abuse this system. EG. On previous holidays in DR people were reserving beds and then going on trips. Again well done Blue Bay you have got this right. Big positive to this resort - there are no kids; hence they cater for adults. Do not take this to mean that the resort is for swingers, It is definately not as per my comment above. If you wish to have that type of holiday please try elsewhere.
To conclude this was a great holiday in a lovely resort with great staff. A big hi to everyone we met especially our Amarican friends from North Carolina. We really enjoyed our drunken conversations. ED Well done to the USA for qualifying for the last 16.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Firstly to start I am amazed with some of the reviews which put down this hotel we could not find one fault with this hotel so people who may be out off by some of these bad reviews, dont. The people who have wrote these really must be people you can't please. I would def say this was a 4* hotel. On arrival we were greeted and had a welcome meeting with a nice drink and staff are all very polite. The rooms are quite basic but nice and all that you want and very clean. There is a choice of 3 pools the main one being the swim up pool bar, then a really quiet one (proper chilled out) and then another one where volleyball is played. We ate at the buffet restaurant every night and couldn't fault the food a nice variety and never cold, dishes always topped up and the drink is always flowing, the staff in the restaurant are all very polite and very professional. The entertainment crew are by far the best and craziest i have experience being polite, funny, and friendly especially James Bond and Teddy Bear!! he have a variety of activities in the day such as water aerobics, volleyball, cocktail making, painting lessons, spanish lessons, darts, some games etc and you don't have to get involved if you don't want to. When even not doing games they are friendly and will chat to anyone and Teddy even joined us for dinner one night they are so chilled out there. Being a chilled holiday we decided to do a few tours and did Dune Buggies, Mega trucks, pirate evening, Paradise island and Ocean world and would recommend them all and a good variety if looking to do a few. As for the tipping in the hotel this is not expected just the people who take cases more or less expect this. Also as for the people on the beach trying to sell things they will ask but as soon as you say no thank you they don't hassle you they just leave you alone. Nightly entertainment in hotel is varied and ends at 11 but can still stay for drinks at the bar and option of going to Coco bongos with the crew. They are a few bars a couple of minutes walk and is very safe to walk outside there. My boyfriend and I loved everything about this hotel and our whole holiday (apart from him being burned on the 1st day, the sun is strong and don't be fooled by the cloud he he!) also we had a few storms but only country you will still see people in the pool and the drink still flowing. These mainly happened in the evening and we had lovely weather every day. Also hurricanes not common in the North so don't let this put you off either they haven;t had one in a good few hundred years at least!! All in all we loved this holiday and this hotel and we both would definately go back we are so depressed we are home it was amazing!!!!! Attack, attack!!!!! Cheapy willy, buy one get one free ha ha, crappy crappy!!!!lol!!!! These are just a few of the crazxy sayings the crew uses. Don't hesitate book with blue bay you won't be disappointed !!! xxx

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodiemeadEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

dont know how anyone can complain about this hotel yeah there are beach vendors a polite no thanks and they were on there way rooms were not too bad have had better . staff the best i have ever had and that was before tips the crew tried there very best

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I've hesitated to write a review for so long because I wanted to let my emotions calm down before writing a biased review. Four months later, I think I'm ready to write my review, but be warned, it's not going to be nice. Now, I know that DR is a poor country, but a 4-star should be just that.

From initial check-in we had issues. The front desk staff know minimal english (or at least act like they don't) so trying to get any type of help is going to be frustrating. We were given a 'cold' drink that was actually warm, mind you it was very humid and a nice drink with ice would've been great.

Anyways, we were given our room and upon opening the door, I said this has to be a joke (as we had paid for an upgrade). We complained to the front desk who showed us a different room, but it was sub-standard as well. I have NEVER been so disapppointed in my life with a hotel stay. Unfortunately, we were there for a week so tried to make the best of our stay. Our room was literally falling apart. The shower stall is the smallest known to man and ours kept overflowing because the drain didn't work properly. There are no soundproof rooms and we heard EVERYTHING going on in the room next door: use of the bathroom, their lovemaking, their conversations, everything. It was horrible indeed. And room-service? Good luck on that as well.

The all-inclusive is a joke. The drinks all tasted the same no matter what you got to drink. The alcohol is the cheapest they could find. Everything is served lukewarm. The food did vary, I can admit that, but by the 3rd night, it was all the same. Be warned, if u have a sensitive stomach, you will end up with travelers diarrhea, as my husband and I both experienced. The after-hours snack bar barely had any food. Either get there early, or starve all night. The three restaurants they advertise you only get to eat from once if you have a 7 day stay. Hello ALL-INCLUSIVE?!?!

The beach is nice, but you will be hassled over and over to buy something from the 100 vendors that walk up and down the beach. They will try to give you deals, but they aren't deals at all so watch yourself. There is a shopping plaza within walking distance that was very convenient.

The pool is ok if it doesn't rain during your entire trip.
Free internet, yea...ONLY in the main lobby which is basically outdoors so you risk sweating onto your laptop while trying to work or communicate with family back home. The hotel does have 1 laptop you can use, but there will always be a 6 person line to use it. People have no concept of courtesy so expect a few people to be on the internet for 30 mins even though they see a line behind them. Case in point, bring your own laptop!

Also, we had the misfortune of coming at a time when a group of 100 people from Canada make their annual trip. They pretty much took control of all resort activities and were favored over everyone else at the resort. The resort even made jello-shots that were SOLELY for them! The shows at the hotel are the worst! Don't believe me, then book this hotel and find out yourself.

Now, I will conclude by stating that I'm American and my idea of a 4-star may be different than people from other countries, so keep that in mind.

One more thing...but this has nothing to do with the resort. The airport in DR...since when are we not allowed to bring our camera batteries or umbrellas back to the US? Security was confiscating umbrellas (hello! it's been raining the past 6 days!) and batteries! Regular AA/AAA batteries!? Yea, so watch out for that.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank temple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only

Property: BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Address: Calle Principal Complejo Playa Dorada nr 538, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlueBay Villas Doradas is an Adults Only 24 hour All Inclusive resort in Puerto Plata, was completely refurbished in 2006 providing facilities and rooms of the highest quality. This hotel in Puerto Plata, which is only for the over 18s, is an ideal place for couples to relax or enjoy their honeymoon or wedding. Its location - literally next to the 18-hole Playa Dorada golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones – makes it a favourite among golfers.The hotel’s rooms and suites are equipped to the highest standard, in keeping with the quality of the resort and its recent refurbishment – all include cable TV, mini bars and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Villas Doradas Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Puerto Plata
Bluebay Hotel Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Villas Doradas
Blue Bay Getaway Dominican Republic
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing