We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a find”

Mares Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: Caribbean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual & elegant. Creative cuisine with local fusion of products, one of the best chefs of the Dominican Republic, Rafael Vasquez. Situated in a private tropical garden, pool side bar and terrace, air condictioned indoor dining area, wine cellar, a local favorite spot, and a place you will remember.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were recommended to try this restaurant by the rep at our hotel Vicki who was happy to book a table for us

We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding. We were looking for somewhere special to go to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel had no where special to do that

we had a table for 4 booked and the night we booked had the whole place to ourselves delightful

The quality of food served and the service received here was 5*. The menu offers seafood, lamb, goat and beef. The food is of a high standard but it is also beautifully cooked and presented. this really was a incredible place go try you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forster159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    26
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto plata
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Amazing service. Amazing atmosphere. Amazing food. A total gem in the area. A truly unforgettable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greypetruccelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Rehearsal Dinner April 25, 2014”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was lucky enough to have selected my favorite restaurants for my wedding venues. This was no exception Mares hosted my intimate rehearsal dinner. The set up was great with help from my coordinator the band helped us make sure the ambience was perfect. Apart from the the most important part is the food. The Chef was able to bring together 2 different worlds and make a 3 course meal to please both the bride and groom and of course all of the guests. Thank you for hosting my rehearsal dinner and I hope that others can experience the same!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We must have gone on an off day”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We expected much more from Mares based on the reviews but when the photo of the chef on the website is of him in his chef's coat submerged in water up to his chest in the pool, I guess we should have known better. There was a server and a bartender working the night that we went and even though we were one of three tables there, the server dropped an amuse-bouche for us without explanation. We tried to stop him to ask given my husband has a nut allergy, which seemed a difficult concept to grasp at every restaurant we went to...even in Spanish, and he said he'd be back but never returned. It never really improved from there. The food was bland, in my opinion, and the restaurant is located in a residential neighborhood where, when we there, one of the neighbors had their music blasting from their amplified car stereo system.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aetienne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRVH, Owner at Mares Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
You must have a on and off day, since you arrive to our restaurant, fitting with you husband, we are very sorry that you have that expirient we us, I will recomend if you have a day like that don't go out is better to stay home or in you room in the hotel, Question what a picture have to do, regarding to the quality of the service or food in a restaurant, creative is a sing that you are a life, and life is beautifull , i don have much to responde sorry. change the spectation in life and everything will smile to you, and one day you will thing that litle place in puerto plata call Mares made my life better thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews after our first choice was booked that evening. What a great find! The restaurant was not crowded and we were the only table to sit outside overlooking the pool and it was like having our own private dinner. The service was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Food was great and we left stuffed! The appetizers are tasty and of generous portions - the beet salad and plantain sushi roll were both excellent choices. Wait staff was very attentive - overall a great experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielleknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mares Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Mares Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing