We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really grossy. Don't even go.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chris and Mady's

Chris and Mady's
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is associated with their rental property, but definitely open tothe public ... and it is wonderful, especially considering the area.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really grossy. Don't even go.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

The worst experience on the vacation. Gross pasta. Bad, watery drinks. Very expensive. Horrible service. We were the only people there and it took three hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely_childress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 x bad - does not make good.........:(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We went to Chris and Madys on Thansgiving night. We did not want to have the turkey, but preferred just a burger with fries. Obviously, they do not serve burgers in the evening, but the waitress agreed to check if we could have our burgers.... and yes.... However, the burgers were dry and the french fries were a nightmare - oily and soft.... Anyhow, we had our meal and left... Logically, it took some time for us to go back to Chris and Madys, but 12 days ago we decided to give it another go..... My husband got french fries again - how awful... they were obviously re-heated (hopefully not served before), dark, dry and bitter... My rice was not much better - hard and chewy - also re-heated...... After the meal, I told the waitress that the french fries were a disgrace and she immediately offered a discount.... However, we are not looking for discounts - we wantna decent meal and we have no problem paying the price stated in the menu - but re-heated fries and rice..... no, no.... aweare NOT COMING BACK :(

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food....a real life saver in Cofresi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Chris, the owner, who is Canadian moved to the DR 30 years ago, has been running this restaurant since the 90's. It's great food at a great price and the staff are amazing! A very special thanks to Chris, his daughter, Jenny, and his son, John, for taking such good care of us while we were sick at the Lifestyles resort. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner. Chris ensures he always has fresh ingredients and goes to the market multiple times a day. Be sure to try the peppercorn steak, burritos, or cajun chicken. Thanks again guys!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea20437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

While staying at Lifestyles nearby, my husband and I were scouting out places off the resort to take some local friends for lunch. We had a brief but nice chat with Chris, the owner, and decided to go there a few days later with our friends and one family member in tow.

The food was decent, as was the price, but the experiece just seemed to lack something. There was a certain lack of ambience, ambience which you would think would be easy to acheive in such a location. No music, staff not very friendly or welcoming, no apology when their credit card machine was down (perhaps not their fault but quite inconvenient for us, especially since we had checked beforehand if they accepted credit cards, we had barely enough cash on us to cover the bill and tip) and no conversation with the owner Chris, despite my repeated attempts to make eye contact with him and engage him in conversation. Would have loved to have heard his "story" as I know he is Canadian but has been running this restaurant in the DR for 30-something years. I will likely never know now, as I will not be in any hurry to return.

My husband and I are frequent travellers to Puerto Plata, also members of Lifestyles, and while no one was outright rude to us, we just did not feel welcomed or appreciated as customers of this restaurant as we have at other places in Puerto Plata area, where we have made many friends that we continue to keep in touch with and visit often. Next time we wish to eat out off the resort, we will try the Mexican place down the street, or go with our tried-and-true favourites. Thanks anyways, Chris and Mady's, but I expected more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank digressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best and friendliest place you will find in the Dominican Republic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Chris and Madys is a family owned business of the most wonderful people you will meet in Puerto Plata. All of their dishes are incredibly unique giving you that perfect carribbean style mixed with dishes that you know and love. The surf and tuft is amazing, just like their Fettuccini Alfredo and Beef Burrito. Yum. Have a chat to Chris at the bar, or simply sit at a table facing the beach and enjoying that carribbean magic. I recommend them whole heartily and cannot wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chris and Mady's also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Dominican Republic, Caribbean
 

Been to Chris and Mady's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing