We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I are new Lifestyle members. We visited from 1/18-20/2012. We were given gold bands when we checked in. It was a great visit. The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. We ate at several of the restaurants and, though not spectacular, we found their offerings to be of very good quality and quite palatable. One evening, we visited the Tapas Bar and had a most delightful evening of live entertainment light fare, and cool drinks.

In all instances, we found all Staff we encountered to be friendly, pleasant, helpful, and very accomodating. We've recommended it to our children, who will be visiting later this year, at which time we will revisit for another expectedly delightful stay.

Arthur P.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    1,025
    501
    328
    368
See reviews for
971
1,164
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I were there from 1/19 – 1/22 as part of a larger group of about 25. Here are the facts. The food is of much lower quality than your local buffet. The seated restaurants can, however, be good. Their check in process is questionable and can apparently take hours. They have multiple levels of accommodations, if you are going to go, get the upgrade and go VIP. If your room is down near the beach, you probably will have hot water, good AC, etc. I pity you if you are “up the hill”. Beach and pools are really very nice. Liquor is questionable unless you are getting top shelf at VIP bars. Rail rum is actually pretty good though, most people in our group drank a lot of the rail rum and weren’t feeling any worse off for doing so the next day. To that point, there is a decent mix of bars and other opportunities to meet some other tourists if you are so inclined. In closing, if what you care about is the beach/pool/sun, you’ll do well here. If you want five star dining with room service and only a little bit of beach time, you’re going to be much better off elsewhere.

Room Tip: Closer to Beach is better, pay for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We planed to travel to this resort knowing it used to be the old Sunvillage resort which we had never been to before we had stayed next door a few years ago and liked the area. We forund it to be beautiful and very tropical. The pools were nice and plenty of room to roam around and you could use both the origional resort and this resort which actually had more beach area . We went with vip plan so the drinks were fine, I read a few reviews where people had issues with drinks and such but I would guess they opted for bottom dollar so I guess if you want the finer things pay a little more and go for vip. The only issue we had was I like a harder bed but I have a temper pedic at home so pretty much anywhere we go we have thet issue. To be honest this is a lovely place where they have plenty of activities and the vip parties are a lot of fun , the restaurants were very nice and best of all were the resort employees were just like friends. I did not really deal with the sales people I say and walk on but I tend to do this in a car lot to. I would suggest Ocean World which is just about next door even with out children it makes for a plesent day without the huge crowds found around theam parks in the US. Bottom line is this can be a fun very nice place and if you want to relax and warm up you can do it, or you can be busy with all the excurissions offered if you want . For the price you can really enjoy the trip and the resort parties are great so they are a must.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean side rooms , if you want large beautiful room upgrade to the presidential suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have just returned from vacation at the Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort in Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, we had a wonderful time. The staff at reception, domestic at the hotel, bar staff and restaurant staff are wonderful. They are so willing to please, and will do any thing you ask. You have so many amenities to choose from for entertainment, you would never get bored. I have been to many of the other Lifestyle properties over the last six years and I have never had a bad experience. I find it one of most relaxing vacations I have ever had. My wife and I have traveled all over the world, and we both agree that the Livestyle Vacation Club is a wonderful place for us to spend our vacation. At all the Lifestyle properties, the complete staff is well tranined and eager too make your vacation experience the best you have every had. I would highly recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamNimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great food, service staff and quaters. Very clean and family oriented. Would reccomend to family and friends. We be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Ambar from Jan14-21, we were travelling with 5 adults (ages 33,34,36,38,60) and 4 children (almost 3,4,5,7).
We booked with nolitours, all together and had 2 rooms in building 207 and 1 room in building 702. It took 2.5 days to get all of the rooms in 207 as the 702 room was on the 3rd floor and had no elevators. It was hard for the kids (5 and 2) to go up and down the stairs as they were always slippery. All of the rooms were very run down, sheets were frayed, towels were stained and frayed, the locks on the patio doors did not work and took 3 days to fix. The air conditioning in 1 room was broken for the last 3 days, called many times to the reception but nothing was done about it. The 24 hour snacks were in another building, if you wanted a drink at night you had to go to the bar by the lobby or pool- not so bad if you are close by but not so great if you are farv away. We did get harrased by the guys in the white shirts trying to get us to go for a time share info session. Not so fun while on vacation with kids. The grounds were beautiful and the scenery was amazing. Their was a very strong smell of sewage that came and went the entire week. The pools were well maintained all except the childrens pool. It was dirty. The food in the buffet was not so great but we nevery went hungry. Your vacation is what you make of it and we had fun as a family just being together. We played in the sand and swam in the pool by the beach. Would we go here again? Never.

Room Tip: Their are no elevators, so it stairs are a problem ask to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111Liz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

First of all, I must say the staff is OUTSTANDING! Please don't let these negative reviews detour you, as you just can't make some people happy.

As for the food, well it's organic!!!!! If you want amricanized fried food or even sprayed veges, then go elsewhere! Here they serve FRESH FOOD!!! I can't say enough about the Chef here that has made this resort a 5 star









The staff is 5 star, the food is FABULOUS!! What more can you want? It's so sad to see that you that you just can't make some people happy. Just come and experience this place, you'll see, It's. incredible!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellybean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing