We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We're actually owners at the Lifestyle Holidays resort. We travel to the resort 4 times a year. In fact, we're leaving for the resort tonight! Never have we experienced the things these people are complaining about. If we did, we certainly wouldn't go back and take new friends and family with us each time. Imagine our embarrassment if we knew about things like we've heard described here and brought 1st timers, even our elderly parents. Everyone we've brought has had probably their best vacation ever and many come back with us over and over. The resort just purchased Cofresi Palm and put it into service in December. It sounds like to us that this particular area of the resort was simply opened to soon in order to handle the busy Holiday and January Canadian travelers who are dying to get away from the snow. Our advice would be to wait until they get the kinks worked out in the Cofresi Palm section of the resort to stay there. Another thing to consider is that this is supposed to be a Member's Only resort, but they do allow members to rent their weeks out. In the past couple of years Lifestyle's has opened up the resort to cheap travel companies and it sounds like these guests are getting what they pay for. If you go to this resort, only rent from an owner.

Room Tip: Rent from an owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 22sunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,200 - 3,206 of 3,971 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

This trip was amazing. The view of the beach is great. The accommodations were terrific. The room service was also good and the people that would there are friendly and attend any of your needs no hesitation. The beach is clean and over all the resort is awesome. I recommend this resort to everyone. There's nothing better than being away from home, going to a resort and feeling wanted and appreciated and respected by strangers that work there.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JubbieBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This was one of the best trips I've been to in DR. This resort has one of the best pools, and also the people around the pools were very friendly. The rooms there was one of the cleanest rooms I ever seen. This is a good trip to bring your family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This resort was one of our best of the best places we have stayed at. The beach,food,service was all first class and we found ourselves relaxing and enjoying the warm sunny weather. This is one of the best places to vacation. The really do treat you like a king and or Queen.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Recently signed up as members, my husband and I visited the LHVC resort in Cofresi a week ago and elected to stay at the newly acquired and renovated Cofresi Palm Beach Resort & Spa. We stayed in a Beach Studio, a spacious suite, close to the beach and to a couple of the 5-6 restaurants and bars at the resort. I thought the reception and lobby areas were impressive and reflected LHVC's "VIP Lifestyle" image. In addition, to complement the image, the staff at the reception was both friendly and welcoming as was other staff in the restaurants and Bars. The Beach studio was large and modern with a huge bathroom that had a jacuzzi and separate shower area, as well as a terrace. The only disappointment was that the terrace did not overlook the beach area. The pool areas, from which there were views of the beach, were lovely, despite the grey clouds and rain that characterized the day of our arrival. We particularly enjoyed the Tappas Bar and the many restaurants to choose from not only within the Cofresi Palm resort area, but also in the adjacent, main resort. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have persuaded some of our family members to stay at the Cofresi Palm when we gather for a mini family reunion at LHVC during the week before Easter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorP1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My friend and I returned to stay at this hotel because it was so great last year. Intially it seemed to have made positive changes. Since then, the Lifestyle chain of Properties to buy has taken over and it was a disapointment. The staff is Amazing, the rooms are clean, the a la carte restaurants are diverse but there have been so many shortcuts implemented that it's a little irritating. There are not enough wait staff in the restaurants, bartenders, or any good rum left after 6pm at night. While you are on holiday and not in any particular hurry, it's a bit much to have to be in a line up of 8 to 10 people whenever you need ice for your traveller cup.
The pools are clean, the beach is magnificent, come if you don't mind a larger hotel. Last year coffee was available everywhere, this year it was easier to go back to your room and make a pot(if you had one) then to get one after lunch or dinner. The animation team are good together, but they need to hire more of them. Long days and nights for them. We are "Make the Best of it' kind of people, so it was still fun. Do your research. You'll find much better value for your money in Puerto Plata.

Room Tip: definitely upgrade to a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I have been to the DR at least 12 times. We were booked here for 2 wks. This was our first time here to Confessi Palm ( Be Live Ambar). What a dissappointment. This is not anything over a 2.5 star.
What you read in other reviews please take seriously. Check in is terrible, the food is blaa.. and al acartes are a joke. (unless your a share holder) but we did find the Tropical(other hotel) was a lot better. Very under staffed, our air conditioner wasn't working and reported it but nothing done. Bed was hard and had a huge lump in middle and only 1 sheet, no blankets. limited shelves for clothes no dressers few hangers. Bottle water is hard to get. But watch for the guy and flip him some money and he'll fill your arms. lol! Septic smell is awlful and burns your throut.
We tried to change rooms but nothing available.
High pressure salesmen..we gave in for a blanket for our room.
Ended up after 4 days moving to another resort out of the area. Just weren't happy here!!
A TON of stairs, only 2 bars and very slow. The evening disco charged for drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,670 reviews
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,365 reviews
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing