We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place has a lot going for it. The setting is beautiful, the employees are friendly and helpful. It has all the makings of a great resort. It's lacking leadership. If they brought in a new maintenance chief the room maintenance issues could be addressed. A new head chef would fix the food issues. A new operations VP could fix all the glitches with check in, restaurant reservations, wifi issues... It will be interesting to see if the owners are willing to take this property from ho-hum to wow. Time will tell.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripgirlsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    1,021
    501
    328
    368
See reviews for
969
1,163
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went there with my family, came back to the New York about 2 weeks and my children are already talking about that we they want to go back. Great faciliticies and the food absolutely exquisite. We went for a few excursions to, to see the caves and to see the rich nature of dominican republic. Staff was very friendly and helpful in helping out to organise the excursion.
Will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Jones_1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just returned from Confresi Palm Beach and Spa. We were traveling with 2 other families(6 adults and a child in total) and had booked Jr Oceanview suites in Oct. We were a bit nervous with all the negative reviews but were assured by our travel agent that everything would be fine. I am so glad we listened to her it was a beautiful resort and we are planning to return next year! The rooms were in buildings 43,41,40 and they were nice and clean and right by the pools and the beach, the best rooms we have ever been in through all our travels. The pool bar and restaurant were right outside our doors. Arrival: Our rooms were not ready till late afternoon but we had packed bathing suits and lotion in our carry on so we had no problem we just hit the pool by the lobby for the day we didnt check on our rooms till around 5 and they were all ready. We were taken by golf cart with our luggage to our rooms. Nolitours had prebooked 3 ala cartes for us and we were able to change the times so all 3 families could eat together. The Pearl Buffet was amazing the food and quantity and quality were great.We ate there when we didn't have reservations for supper.The liquor was good not brands we recognize but we are in a different country! We are varied drinkers rum,vodka and beer and we never had a problem!(except for a few mornings! lol) It was a bit of a hike from our suites but we enjoyed the exercise and there was always shuttles every few minutes if you didn't want to walk!There is a bit of a sewer smell after a heavy rain but its not unbearable! It is a 3rd world country! Never had anyone of the resort staff from front desk to gardeners that never met you without a smile and a Hola! Super friendly !! Gina the Nolitours rep was awesome as well. She went out of her way to help us with tours and other info.It rained for a day and a half while we were there but we still had lots to do and had a blast! The resort opened the theater and put on games and movies. We did run into a few people who were complaining but we could not understand why! A vacation is what you make it and the resort people aren't there to be your servants or to be verbally abused. As I said we are booking for next year as soon as we can and we have never gone to the same resort twice!I would not have a problem recommending this resort! Any questions feel free to ask. Brenda

Room Tip: We were in Jr Oceanview suites on the 3rd floor and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PEIAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The management of this place ought to be ashamed of themselves. You are in a virtual pop-up ad. From the moment you walk into this resort you are a pawn. There are sales people roving all over who try to be kind to you and tell you they will get you reservations etc. All they want to do is up-sell you to a time share and show you "VIP" areas. The Cofresi si so neglected and so poorly run you would need your head examined to buy into the VIP time share. Onto the resort. 1. They never have towels. 2. You cannot get a reservation in any of the restaurants once you are there and if you do it is at a very late hour and if you do it is because a sales person gets you the reservation because they want to pawn you off to the VIP sales people to show you the better VIP section. 3. If you have any sort of appreciation for food you will realize the food is awful, just disgusting. You will have much better food at a fastfood restaurant in the states. 4. Half the bars and restaurants [if not more are VIP]. I realize from other reviews that the rooms not near the beach smell like sewage but do not fool yourself a "Ocean view room" is not an ocean view, more it is in proximity to the beach and you have a view of villa roofing. 5. This place brings new meaning to the lowest shelf alcohol, names nobody has heard of ever. The wine is awful and there is only red or white. 6. The phone in my room never worked and wifi is not free. 7. The pictures on the website are of VIP areas. 8. The staff is not helpful whatsoever, you are a pawn in a big up-se;; scheme. Please please stay away, this place is awful. Shame, shame, shame on the ownership and management of this resort.

Room Tip: Skip this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This all started from our last vacation in Punta Cana there was 3couples,we all went to this socalled great deal called Lifestyle Vacations seminar.There was 6 of us all asking questions,we were told all we had to do was call when we were ready to go to one of their resorts or sister resorts and they would arrange the flight because they deal with so many airlines they get good deals,we would be in no less than the room we were in now(a beautiful junior suite) ,we would be chauffered back and forth to the airport in a stretch limo,caddilac or a escalade.,and we would receive a magazine every 2 mounths with deals the one he showed had deal like LasVegas for around 150 for 4 days/3 nights.We went to this seminar after breakfast so there was no drinking and we all heard the same thing (they certainly try to feed you alcohol). So all said and done we all bought a package this so called VIP .Tell it to your best friends is their moto,I would only tell it to my worst enemy.Our rep. is Charline Bodie so my wife emails her to arrange a flight for 4 of us,oh we don't do the flights you call us when your coming to book the room.So the bells started ringing then,we made up our mine then we was go through with this to see what we got into.So we booked the flight and sent a email and got a confirmation back from Charlene.Our friends that bought the Lifestyle thing too booked a trip to the same resort but they didn't use any of their weeks as they had 5 more people with them we told them we was at confresi so they booked there to.We booked this in Oct./11,so in Jan./12 we get a email from Charlene that we didn't let her know when we were coming so my wife emailed her back with the conf.#(every email we saved and still have between us and them).OK here the fun begins .we land in Porta PLata its raining there is a guy holding a sign with our names so we go to him ok he says wait here,so we waited about 10-15 min.and back he comes(we see the stretch lim. in the parking lot) ,so we get our stuff and follow this guy around the corner and here this old stretch volkswagon van what a laugh so we get in with 10 or 12 more people and some luggage was put on a 1/2 ton truck.We get to the resort not bad 1st impression so we reg. and get keys to the room OMG this is a 50 dollar sleep and run room,so we go to the front desk, we paid for a junior suite they reply that is a junior suite not what we had and was told in the last resort not only that we was at Tropical instead of Confresi here are friends are at Confresi so they said we was at Confresi and we showed them the email and they said it was all Confresi 1and2(bs).They said they couldn't do anything that day but tomorrow they would see about moving us where our friends were and we was supposed to be.That night we go to where our friends were,all we can smell is sewer when we go over there and our friends say they have to walk through sewer smelling water to get in their room as their room is down below the lawn(2 days later first thing in the morning they jack hammer the steps out and fix a broken pipe)but the resort itself still smelled like sewer all the time.We went back the next morning to the front desk and they said they couldn't move us to Confresi because it was full,after we were over there we said we would stay at Tropical we didn't want to smell sewer all the time,so we would go over and visit them everyday or night.Now they admitted Tropical wasn't Confresi where we was supposed to be.Now about the room,we argued for 3 days but they kept saying we was in a junior suite and if we wanted to pay more we could get a presidental suite after what we been through they wasn't getting another cent from us as it already cost us over a$1000 a couple more than if we just went through a travel agent.After 3 days fighting we just said to heck with it for now we will enjoy the sun and fell lucky to be here not shoveling snow.Our room number was 1001 and our friends was 4212 in our room 7 mornings out of 9 we had no hot water but plenty of pressure when we had no hot water,in the evening there was hot water but no pressure just dripping out the showerhead.our frinds never had hot water every morning either.The water wouldn't drain out the tub when you were in the shower so i went to clean the plug and everything came out threads and all so i put it on the side so they could fix it but they never did .Our room was close to the 24hr bar so 4or5 nights we were woke up early morning by people fighting and screaming and people off the resort would come here after the other bars nearby closed and they could come on the resort.This place sounded like a airport as the helicopter was flying over all the time low and it would land on a roof on the resort.We were not the only people not happy we talked to a lot of other people including another older couple we met the year before at another resort and they were very unhappy.There was a young girl electricuted that was there with 40 other people for a wedding only 12 years old and still in the hospital when we left her father said the resort offered a massage when she got out.they were from Winnipeg and going home the day after we left,the uncle said the wire in the metal tubing was stripped when they pulled it through to set up the staging for the wedding.(he was there with his cell phone video when they took it down.They staff at the front desk just give you a lot of bs because thats how there trained.The staff at the bars and restaurants are very good the maids were excellent(but we gave about $400 out in tips in 9 days).Wehad people waiting to see how we would make out with this Lifestyle package and after we talked to them they will not be buying and i strongly advise not to buy into this(if there was only 1 couple that went to this seminar then i would say we misunderstood what we were told but there was 3 couples and we own our own businesses for a few years so we asked a lot of questions).So this was 2 trips in 1 to Porta Plata at this supposed to be great resort my 1st and last.,i think i would rather go to Mexico and be shot at then all the bs from this Lifestyle crap TELL YOUR WORST ENEMY.We got a ride back in the stretch volkswagon too.We have all the emails to back everything and we sent a email to Charlene when we got back and she pretty much said too bad ,our friends forgot their jackets in the closet and it's been over a month and haven't got them back yet fed ex hasn't received them yet from the resort.oh and about their magazine every 2 months thats crap too,that is why they wouldn't let us have the magazine they showed us.They should pay their photographer $1 million this place doesn't look anywhere as nice as the pictures.

Room Tip: punta canta much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smithboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

If you're travelling from Canada with Nolitours and they are promising some kind of special treatment with your "Cameleon" bracelet, don't book it. Nolitours does not deliver on their promises and they blame the resort for any of their failings.

After expressing our concerns to Transat, we received a form letter telling us that if we read the small print in our contract, they are not obligated to deliver on anything they advertise.

We won't book with Nolitours again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $500 per person to stay in the "Grand Ambar" / recently renovated area. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHappyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

These hotel is run by idiots. They over book their hotel . Then they placed us in an other hotel that was dirty and had bugs all over the place . The refuse to give us back our money they are thief , and if I have to take them to court I will

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelly0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing