We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid 4* Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A solid 4* Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Liked most aspects of this resort - good food, friendly staff, nice rooms, very large variety of pools, decent nightly shows in the auditorium. A couple things I didn't love - strong smell of sewage in a few areas of the resort (yuck!), and all the stairs (although I guess it was good exercise). Overall, I'd recommend this resort but I liked the Gran Ventana and Riu Bachata more (a couple other resorts I have stayed at in Puerto Plata).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zazzle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    981
    486
    321
    360
See reviews for
928
1,118
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Had a great time nice pools where the drink just flowed freely and had get people working... To other dance and personal gps blackie you made the trip both fun and easy to get around the large complex!!'

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craziebaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Ok, at first I booked this through groupon and was a little nervous after buying it that it was going to be an awful experience. A lot of reviews were all negative and made me scared this whole experience was going to be a nightmare. I went into this vacation thinking the worst, and it turned out to be the best time with my 5 other friends. The staff was VERY friendly and always consistent with asking if you needed anything. Our room was clean, only downside was the water pressure in the shower was low, but that's not anything that would ruin the trip and I am not a person who would make a big deal out of it. The buffet food was decent, nothing to brag about. But you come on this vacation mostly for the weather so I didn't care so much about stuffing my face. The restaurants were pretty easy to get reservations if you listened to the workers and came to the lobby at the correct time people cancel. We ate at Indochine and Johnny's, both had great food! The drinks were very tasty and our favorite bartender was Andres who worked at the bar that you could walk up to or swim up to! Puchi who worked at the animation center was always trying to get everyone to have a good time, and kept it entertaining throughout the day. Overall this trip was great, very relaxing, fun, and we will definitely be back again next year! Highly recommend going to OceanWorld too! Fun filled day of activities to do!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The boys and girls providing the entertainment pool side, were fantastic. Sexy Blackie, Sexy Banana, and all the rest. The trip was Noliplus, but that was a joke.
We never go anything they promised. They certainly didnt warn people adequately about the resort having so many stairs. From our room, it was 112 steps to the lobby, 87 steps to the water, and everywhere in between, was nothing but stairs,.and it actually caused my wife untold amount of grief, pain, and 4 months later is still being treated by doctors for the problems it caused in her knees.
The restaurants were good, staff were super, and as I said, the activity group really worked hard to keep everything happening all the time.
After you get over the bothering you get from all the guys trying to sell you the time share, they will leave you alone, after you convince them you aren't in the market.
I think I will look for a different place for my next trip. Such a shame, but thats life.
db Toronto.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room, dont leave any articles on the railing overnight, as it might get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had an amazing time. Food was great, rooms were nice, the people (particularly Blacky and supertino) were fun and made sure we had a great time. Even when it rained, we were having fun! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branieckisara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

This resort is so legit. We went on spring break and it was so nice. They let us in the beach. We went to the casino and club one night. We also were in the VIP beach area which was really cool with day beds and cabanas. The drinks were good and strong and the food was awesome. Overall it was awesome.

Blackie is the man!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanashank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Traveled with girlfriends for a quick getaway....and a steal via Groupon. Considering the price paid for the four nights at an all-inclusive --I really cannot complain. You get what you pay for essentially... and we certainly enjoyed ourselves in the sun.
The Pros:
-The staff were helpful and friendly.
-No issues with check-in or out.
-Plenty of Pools to choose from
-Decent entertainment near the pool/beach
I've had plenty experience at higher-end all-inclusives, so believe the following is a fair assessment of the cons:
-Alcohol selection is far from top shelf. Those who enjoy abundant cocktails may be disappointed.
-No poolside/beachside waiter service (none that I saw).
-No true adult only spaces (beware those who like to sunbathe topless)
-Beds in my room were not hotel-quality comfy

VIP sections (Lifestyle Vacations) are far superior. We took the tour and witnessed how it is a different world by comparison. I'm glad I got to see for myself. Be prepared for the sales pitches. Could be a good deal for you.

Room Tip: may be best to request a room closer to the main bldg, front desk. Tons of walking up and down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
5.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing