We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This review is geared toward "Groupon" buyers since that is how we booked our trip.

Pros
- the location (Dominican Republic)
- weather ( absolutely perfect)
- beach ( beautiful water and sand)
- pools (well maintained, a lot of them offered throughout the property, plenty of seating)
- spa ( able to get a " same day" hair appointment, great service, reasonable prices)
- entertainment (lively, fun)
- wifi availability ( reasonable pricing, great connectivity)
- shuttle service between properties ( runs timely)


Cons
- room(old decor, not what is shown in the ads, mildew smell, outside sprinkler flooded our room, dingy lighting)

- food ( terrible at all times and locations including those which require a reservation)

- timeshare presentation ( we were not aware that this was a timeshare " sell" vacation, the presentation lasted 2.5 hours)

- customer service ( calling the front desk does not result in a timely response)

- maid / cleaning service ( better training needed for the hotel staff, lack of attention to detail)

- resort layout / handicap accessible ( there are a ton of steep steps to get around)

- drink selection ( only Presidente beer or poorly mixed drinks)

This was not AT ALL what we were expecting. I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our Hotel did not meet your expectations. The Cofresi Palm is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.


You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future make your experience at our property an unforgettable one.


Sincerely,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,764)
There are newer reviews for Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We purchased the Groupon deal for $350 All Inclusive for 5 days, 4 nights. You are only given one night at a restaurant. You can TRY to get another night but they always say its full (not true). The rooms are HORRIBLE!!! We felt the springs in the bed, the shower was broken, the floors were chipped, but it was clean. We only had wash clothes one day. The food at the buffet is just OK. The restaurant food wasn't much better. If you are going for the pool, sun and booze, then do it, but if you are looking for a nice place and good food, don't. The help there is amazing and very nice, but it is true that they really try to get you to buy a time share. They ask everyday more then once to take you on a tour. Oh and one last thing, the people that had the groupon called the rooms we stayed in "the ghetto" of the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations, anyhow we appreciate that you took your time to write this review.
Your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product and we apologize for not being able to help you, enjoy your vacation.
Our rooms are in general in very good conditions even though, we have a continuous maintenance improvement plan in place for our rooms.

I appreciate your observations which are treated with the utmost interest, since we believe that this is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention to improve in all aspects.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed at the Lifestyles Resort In the past and so we knew that if we didn't enjoy Cofresi we could spend our time at the adjoining resort. There was no need. Cofresi is a beautiful resort. There are several pools so finding a quiet place to bask in the sun and swim was not difficult. Having access to the Lifestyles Resort gives the option of eating at either of the two buffets and several restaurants. My in-laws had difficulty with all the stairs so they often walked over to the Lifestyles Resort to eat but I enjoyed the exercise since I tend to overeat at a resort anyway. My only complaints were that the decorative bedding was dirty and that the resort was packed. Being such a sprawling resort with so many guests there were often long lines for food and we couldn't get into the restaurants we wanted for dinner. That though could be remedied by not going during their busiest season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faith1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.
We are happy to hear that you had a funny time in our resort and of course your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

There were so many restaraunts with very good food choices the mexican and asaian were my favorite for dinner,. The buffets the pearl and casalbanca wer every gd everyday with different food choices the food service manager Brain was very helpfuil and went above and beyond daily to make sure we had anything we wanted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities, service and food and we will congratulate Bryan for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First time in the Dominican Republic, stayed at the Cofresi with my wife and our two boys and we were all pleasantly surprised! Beautiful resort, friendly and accommodating staff. I would recommend the up-grade to a junior suite, they are new or have recently been renovated...we were in a standard room and it was a disappointment.
The food was okay .The kids had a blast, we all had a wonderful vacation.Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inter_fan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation and that you would recommend us to your friends.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Overall, we had an enjoyable, budget-friendly vacation. However, we were disappointed by the lack of customer service and a number of other inconveniences during our stay.

The positives:
*The beaches, pools, and grounds are well-kept and easily accessible.
*Transportation provided by Olympus Tours from the airport is convenient and well-organized.
*Waiters and waitresses are very friendly and helpful.
*Shuttles around the facility are convenient and frequently available.

The negatives:
*Food and beverages are low-quality. The liquor at the bars (other than one VIP beach bar) is low-quality, off-brand. The food at the buffets was mediocre and questionably fresh.
*Customer service at the front-desk (including management) and at Guest Services is lacking. When we checked-in, we were placed in a "standard room" instead of the "junior suite" that we had reserved. Management and the desk staff were unwilling to remedy the situtation or to provide us with anything to make-up for the error and the inconvenience of having to negotiate with the staff and with Olympus Tours (the apparent onsite representatives of Cheap Carribbean) for several hours. In addition, both the hotel management and Olympus repeatedly claimed we were being given an "upgrade" to the junior suite. In reality, we were simply being placed in the room that we had actually paid for.
*You cannot dine at all of the advertised restaurants. At check-in, guests are provided with a limited number of pre-arranged reservations at restaurants and at times selected for them by Guest Services. To change those pre-arranged reservations, you must be at the Guest Services office during a limited window of time each morning. One of our pre-arranged reservations was scheduled after our departure. We contacted Guest Services to correct this problem. They did not correct the error until several days later, after we had visited the office two additional times.
*If you do not use the shuttles, the resort is very dificult to navigate.
*The resort occasionally smells like sewer.

The mixed:
*Olympus Tours is portrayed as the onsite representative of Cheap Carribean. However, Olympus is unwilling to contact Cheap Carribean when there is an error in a reservation (for example, when we were incorrectly placed in a standard room). Olympus is also reluctant to take ownership of the situation to remedy problems for guests, including at times suggesting that guests are simply being dificult or unreasonable. On the other hand, the actual tour services provided by Olympus, including the City Tour of Puerto Plata, were very enjoyable and well-organized. We would highly reccommend this tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite or higher.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nosedive225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Beautiful resort, beach is clean and staff are super friendly! Great experience. Entertainment staff - Spaghetti and babyFace were amazing hosts - only detractor was food was average and room were small in older villas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate Mr. espaghuetti and our entertainment staff for providing a great hospitality.


Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,257 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,505 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £64 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing