We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$150
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Marien(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue JackTar(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PlayaBachata Resort(Puerto Plata)(Great Value!)
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,136)
Filter reviews
4,136 results
Traveller rating
1,612
1,169
578
364
413
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,612
1,169
578
364
413
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlvip beachjunior suiteminnie mousevip partysexy bananawelcome partyel pilonblue lagooncasablanca buffetanimation teamdominican restaurantthese guysstandard roomcoco locofoam partyocean world
Filter
Updating list...
2,818 - 2,823 of 4,136 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I went to Cofresi with 3 other girlfriends and we didn't know what to expect. We instantly made friends with Fernando (Blackie)! He was a wonderful guide and talked to us about what the resort had to offer! He made sure we had a good time while there, and offered to show us around. We made our vacation a blast!!
The resort offered many different places to eat, but something we didn't enjoy was that our dinner reservations were per-made for us. We wanted to make reservations at restaurants that sounded good to us, and also place the time. If we wanted to change these we had to go to the lobby between 9 am and 10 to change this. This was inconvienent for my group, and was annoying.
We did enjoy the wonderful shows that the resort had to offer. They were very funny and entertaining! It was also great to see the dancing shows which were so different from anything I had seen!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementteam55, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We are really happy that you liked our facilities and we will congratulate Fernando for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My mom and I just went to this resort for her 50th birthday celebration, and we absolutely loved it! The resort is HUGE. We didn't realize that it was a bunch of different Lifestyle Vacation resorts all connected. The entire place was gorgeous. We stayed in the most basic room you can get and we had no issues at all with it. It was very clean, the bed was very big and comfortable, and we even had our own private balcony. Other, more expensive rooms were even more beautiful. The staff is very friendly. I want to give special recognition to 3 boys who go by the nicknames Spaghetti, Supertino, and Blackey. These three were always visiting us at the pool, making sure we were having a great time, and two of the boys even taught us how to dance. The food isn't the best, but from what I've heard, it's no different than anywhere else in the Caribbean. However, the restaurant Bellini was AMAZING. We also really enjoyed the huge VIP parties they throw for everyone staying at all the resorts. Great entertainment, and one night there was a foam party! It was awesome! Overall, my mom and I DEFINITELY recommend this resort highly!

Room Tip: Our room was in the little villas off to the side of the lobby, on the second floor. We had no issues with our room and liked the view. The A/C units are a bit noisy, but that's the only minor detail we could even complain about. Apparently the rooms closer to the adult pools are even nicer, with more modern decor, a really cool shower, and free wifi access.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara-and-Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

me and my family and my little baby had such a great time ,the people are very friendly and the beach was amazing ,banana ,supertino they where amazing people very funny and friendly i will go back next year.
p s :tony montana!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymontana1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I am going to start out by saying that we were literally dreading our trip to Cofresi because of all the terrible reviews we had been reading by other Groupon travelers. It is NOWHERE near as bad as these reviews. We were actually perfectly content, with just a few things we wish were different.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous and isolated--you couldn't hear anyone else at all. And the air conditioning really worked, which is of huge importance to me...and the hot water worked too. (Although we did overhear another couple who said they were in the newer apartment-like buildings who could overhear a fight in the room next to them.)

The resort itself was gorgeous--the pools were like paradise, the beach was really nice, the staff was ALWAYS friendly, and the flowers and plants were well gardened. Like some of the other reviews said, you could smell sewage every once in awhile, but never IN your room and it was always fleeting anyway. One thing that was slightly annoying was that they didn't enforce the adults-only pools and there were often kids in them in the afternoons. We also got massages right on the beach, which was incredible. And all the complaints that VIP Beach was too full--sure, the beds fill up fast, but do you really want to be jam packed in beds directly next to other people anyway? We preferred the Cofresi Beach, which was wide open. And yeah, the resort is big, but we walked everywhere with no problem--there is absolutely no reason to complain that the resort is TOO big...if it were smaller, you'd get bored faster.

There was never a wait for drinks or food--there was more than you can even consume. Anybody who says that they're hungry at Cofresi is absolutely ridiculous. Of course, it's rail liquor--but with all-you-can-drink, a couple drinks of top shelf liquor at VIP Beach is all you need. We actually preferred drinking more frequently with the weaker drinks (that weren't all that weak anyway). We were assigned restaurants when we got there, so also not sure where that complaint came from. If you want to switch to a different restaurant, you have to stand in line that morning at one specific time only, which would be annoying--but we were content with ours. Moonlight was our favorite--really romantic vibe and great service. Trapiche (Mexican) was also really unique and delicious--although the margaritas were not margaritas, not sure what they were but we stuck with wine after trying them. The worst restaurant is Johnny's--it smells damp and has a weirdly awkward layout, it feels forced. And the buffets for breakfast and lunch were pretty good--not amazing, but not bad either. I don't understand anyone who says they got sick from the buffet, it was totally fine.

The single thing we had to complain about was the in-your-face join-this-resort. There were billboards of the resort IN the resort. That doesn't even make sense and just uglied up the places where they were. You're THERE so why do you need a billboard showing a picture of where you are? The guy assigned to give us the tour and try to convince us to join was also pretty annoying. We told him no thanks, after which he guilt tripped us by saying he wouldn't get paid if we didn't go with him, then asked us again every time he saw us thereafter. I had to just ignore him and walk away. There were also times when an employee would show up at a previously quiet pool where people were relaxing and literally start SCREAMING into a microphone with a club beat booming out of a boombox, trying to get people into an impromptu dance party. I get that they're trying to make it fun, but it was obnoxious and the opposite of relaxing until he goes away an hour later.

All in all, we had a great vacation--but now that we've tried it, won't choose to come back again, we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Came here with six friends for a quick vacation and gaff a great time. Banana and spaghetti (staff nicknames) wetter very friendly and helpful. We mainly say on the beach and they came and invited us to activities and the days entertainment. The food was blah but didn't expect anything more. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PritC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews