We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Port Rowan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from DR on the 21st and we really enjoyed our stay at Cofresi! The place itself is HUGE! Your first few days you may be a bit overwhelmed but everyone is more then willing to help you find your way around. The resort is very clean, and the rooms are huge, not much of a view though if you aren't VIP. What made our time on the resort was the entertainment crew. Salami is awesome and will get you involved in the games on the beach. I know, I know ladies you just want to drink and tan peacefully on the beach, but I urge you to get up and get involved, you will meet other families and couples that way. By the way the Whiskey bar on the beach is fantastic, so are Banana Mama's!

Now for the food, I am pretty food sensitive so while it all tasted great my stomach didn't always cooperate, however my boyfriend had no issues. The Pearl has a great breakfast, and the Mexican restaurant was great to. All the servers are so nice, we really enjoyed talking to them and even learning a little Spanish. Now people I know its all inclusive but I urge you to tip, at least a few bucks US on the table with your meals. If you can afford this resort you can afford to tip the staff. We tipped $2 US at each meal, $5 US at the bar daily, and $5 US for housekeeping daily.

Now for day trips, I highly recommend the Zip Lining/ Monkey Jungle one, you will have a blast!!! You start off zip lining and then do a 54 ft drop (which sounds scary but after you will be so happy you did it), then you get to go hang out with the most adorable spider monkeys. The best part about it is that the money you spend goes toward the community there and the medical clinic for them. On the beach you will find reps (ask for Mosquito) selling scuba diving and snorkelling day trips at half the price as the flyer of day trips the hotel gives you. We did snorkelling and it was really a great time. Lastly we did the waterfall trip, now be prepared for a hike but trust me its well worth it and after you celebrate with rum (pack your own water shoes if you plan on doing this one).

You can't go wrong with this resort! If you are going soon tell Salami that Andria and Superman say hello!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADeCar0lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort.
We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,003
    491
    323
    364
See reviews for
946
1,140
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place was great! Our room was awesome, clean, spacious and with a comfortable bed.
The staff was amazing-friendly and entertaining. Definitely we will go back again and recommend it to anyone. Ina the general manager, Ana Maria, Danny, Pedro are the best.

Room Tip: I do recommend the junior suites, second floor - they are bigger and beautiful with jacuzzi, shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeskoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation and that you would recommend us to your friends.
We also appreciate your recommendation to other future guests.
Hope to have you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have been in both Lifestyle and Cofresi resorts. I like the accommodation at Cofresi better. Much cleaner and spacious with new furniture. All people on staff are very friendly, they go out of the way to please the guests. VIP beach is great, especially Danny making our drinks with a big smile. We tried most of the restaurants and the food was delicious. We were vacationing with another couple and the guest service coordinated our dinner reservations so we could eat together. For breakfast and lunch we ate at Casablanca and Ana Maria took such a good care of us. Pedro from Blue Lagoon is the best! He always makes sure that everyone is happy. Management and staff showed high level of professionalism. Way to go! We will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Victoria,


It is of great honor to us to receive a review like this one that you have kindly shared with us. Your compliment towards our staff really shows the readers the true results of our efforts to provide an unforgettable experience and also help us to always improve our service. We are glad to see that we have achieved your satisfaction and we hope to have you with us at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.


Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I'm writing this review after our recent experience at Lifestyle Holiday Resort, specifically Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort. We both have never been out of the country and were anxious as to what to expect. Let's just say that this resort EXCEEDED our expectations by far!!!!! Upon arrival, Stephanie who was our 'Living Social' representative which was whom we booked the trip was so very welcoming and did a wonderful job explaining the ins and outs of where we could go, what was available, and how to navigate the resort. She also gave us many resources and pamphlets which helped while trying to navigate through the large resort. We booked reservations at the Dominican restaurant (El Pilon) twice because the food was so delicious and "El Captain" was an amazing waiter who pleased us in every way. We had exceptional meals at the Dominican restaurant and had absolutely no complaints. I'd compare the food to a 4-5 star restaurant in the states. The Mexican (Trapise?) and Seafood (Blue Lagoon) were also fantastic. Many people complained about portion sizes but they are portions in which people should be eating as opposed to American portions. The only complaint with food was the buffets for dinner. There are two and we had 'The Pearl' the first night. The food was edible but not very flavorful and the texture was off. I would recommend booking restaurants while there. The facilities were kept so neat and clean and we were impressed with all the services received. I'd like to SPECIFICALLY thank the following people who made our stay more comfortable and relaxing: SALAMI, RAMBO, MICKEY MOUSE, SPEEDY GONZOLAZ, and SHAGGY. The rest of the Cofresi Crew were also fantastic. Salami especially was fantastic. We found out that it was only his first week working there and he made us feel so welcome. We took Spanish lessons with him, sang karaoke, and spent time on the beach with him. He was a fantastic entertainer and did a fantastic job helping us to enjoy our time. We want to thank the Cofresi crew and hope to see them ALL when we visit again next December. DENNY was also an amazing bartender at VIP BEACH. He was so helpful and gave us wonderful service. The service at this resort is better than ANY service I've ever gotten in the USA. Finally, a special thanks to JEAN, MOSQUITO, and SPAGHETTI who work for the Aqua Center through the resort. Though we did not buy an excursions, they were extremely helpful and friendly. Jean especially was such a wonderful man who helped us learn some basic Spanish and get a better feel for the local culture. I have NEVER had such a wonderful experience on vacation and WILL definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We were in the Superior Garden Suite in building 43 in Cofresi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank run5604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort.
We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Overall I would say we had a pretty decent experience at this resort. Cannot say enough about our pool staff; Salami, Mickey, and Speedy. They totally made our whole vacation, and we would go back just to visit them!! We ate at one buffet the whole time, Casablanca, and I was impressed with the different options they had. I am a pretty picky eater and I was still able to find things I liked. Our room was fine except for the fact the walls were so thin we could hear everything our neighbors were saying, watching, and other unpleasant things we did not want to hear. We got what we paid for, but again cant say enough about our pool boys. Without them, our vacation would have been pretty boring!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaitlynandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort as the hotel to enjoy your vacation and we also thank you for writing this comment about your experience here at our resort.
We will congratulate our animation staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just got back from one week at Cofresi and my five stars go the the animation staff. Salami was the best spanish teacher, got to learn alot from him. He was also the only one who got me dancing, which is next to impossible. Bravo for that!
We also had much fun with Mickey Mouse, Rambo, Speedy Gonzalez, Shaggy and his crazy glasses and the new guys, Julio Nice. Fun games, fun days, even better nights!
Please barmans, put more alcool in the drinks...and don<t go and cancel VIP parties...it<s part of the reason we go! Premium drinks could only be found at VIP locations...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you took your time to write this comment, expressing how much fun you had at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa resort.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests. We will congratulate our animation staff for providing a great hospitality.

Best Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence , ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I write this review with a great deal of experience so I hope it will be helpful. We booked though CheapCaribbean.com and had great success.
This multi level resort was very hard to manage.
Our check in went smooth , there was 6 of us traveling together and they accommodated our request with no problems .We were given restaurant reservations right away. Nicer than having to stand in line to make them.Then they went as far to give us the "special upgrade, just for us", needless to say that was a bunch of garbage. Our rooms were very nice, just like all the pictures but the upgrade was looking out to a golf cart parking lot and a wall . That was building 42. Building 43 , 41 and 40 looked better, pool view. We soon found out that the rooms were a-joining and with that- it was noisy and the cigarette smoke came into our room. We ask to be moved and they did so efficiently.
We decided right away that we did not care for the food at the buffet at Cofresi AND it was at the top level of the resort about 4 flights up, so we ate the rest of the week at Life Style , Casablanca and were very happy . This multi level resort was very hard to manage, there are shuttle busses to help out but there was a lot of waiting for the bus. We were able to walk next door pretty easy and only up one big hill .
We spent most of time next door at Life Style at the VIP beach because it had free wifi and there was drinks and food served right at your cabana. That was a great perk.
A couple of days we spent at the pools. once at Cofresi by our room and once at Lifestyle, both were nice. The week ends were very crowded with locals so we avoided the places they were. They were noisy and rued.
Our restaurant experience was good. I thought the food was good quality for the most part.
Over all everything was beautiful and well kept. the beach was nice and the upper level beach at both properties were nice. The ocean was a little rough, but we knew that.
When we go back we will stay at Life Style and only visit Cofresi. The rooms were quieter and the food was way better. And if you're not aware this is a time share place. They will MAKE you listen to the spiel. Do it early and get it over with, it wasn't that bad and when you tell them "no thank you" they will let you go.
I will be happy to help anyone who contacts me. We have been to both and know a lot of info.

Room Tip: Eat at Casablanca at Life Style , Rooms 43 , 41 and 40 are pool and ocean view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekohnens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.
We are happy to hear that you had a great time in our resort and of course your comments are taken very seriously, we will use it to improve our product.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,398 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,164 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing