We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As my first time in the Dominican, this resort made for a wonderful stay! There were a few minor things with my room, but nothing a call to the service desk didn't fix, And they were fixed fast!
Beautiful resort overall. Very well kept, clean, fun and friendly! All the employees were friendly and always seemed to have a smile on their face.
The entertainment group is an amazing group of people! Very good sense of humor, fun to be around and you can tell they just love their job, as are they very good at it.
Mickey Mouse, Rambo, Speedy, Shaggy, Julio and Darlin are some very amazing people. They put on fantastic fun activities and always are so energetic and amazing to hang out with! They're very nice people and always are having fun. If i did not meet these guys i wouldn't have done half the things i did on this trip because i wouldn't know about them. Mickey Mouse told me about all the things that were going on during the day and at night so i didn't miss out! I cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CourtneyRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    1,021
    501
    328
    368
See reviews for
969
1,163
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Tuque, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Wonderful trip, everything is extra, the website, the rooms clean. The most fantastic entertainment team simply wonderful, fantastic we are the best. Speedy. Energetic there is the joy of life in this animation group number 1 best xxx Shagy is always ready to make us laugh, Miky Mouse always attentionner, Rambo 1, 2,3 go to the pool for aréobie, Julio is his music Techno and no dance you're super appointment our stay super nice thank you thank you and congratulations thanks to you the hotel deserves 5 ​​stars , soon XXXX MCG .......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIECG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

i was there for 2 week i travel alone all the time but this time it was deferent cause i feel all the people that i met there are stil with me

the room was Always clean only i missed my room all the time when i was
coming but from the disco ajjajaaj it is a nice DJ there with alot fun music

the bar have the best drink ever i got in another hotel omg the domican brugal is the best
and the people who works in the bar are Always smile to you and asking you what you want
to drink they made drunk all day kiss simon

the restaurant omg i cant say wich one is betler i loved every one the food is so fresh

the staf from emtertainment made me smile all the time and play RAMBO is good with his water aerobic and funny Shaggy made a nice talking and creazy boy DARLIN is boss is Always care about everything have to be ready on time and made me feel as i was home SPEEDY is creazy boy Always like cat JULIO NICE IS good dances WAOOO MICKEY 24 -7 CREAZY THANKS TO EVERYONE AND SEE YOU IN JULY KISS FROM PATRICIA

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ear Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

OMG so me and 4 other friends just spend that last week here, and it was by far the best week of my entire life. We have so many amazing stories to share and memories to look back on. The resort was gorgeous, and the weather was fantastic. HUGE shoutout to our main men from the resort.. SHAGGY, JULIO, RAMBO, MICKEY, & SPEEDY. You guys are amazing and we had a blast hanging with you guys, and thanks for everything you do! The bartenders were all so friendly and amazing! Manuel and Edward, you guys rock!! We lived at the beach pool and the volleyball net <3 so much fun. But our favourite time was the evening when we got our all inclusive drank on. The parties were amazing! The food was delicious and none of us ever got sick the whole trip.. unless self inflicted haha (oops). The rooms were awesome, they had ac, beds were comfy and clean with no bugs. I highly recommend this resort to those who want to have an amazing trip!! And bonus everyone there spoke english !!! lol

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ear Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Went to Cofresi for spring break with my four friends. I have been to may other resorts in various countries but this was definitely my favourite vacation so far. We stayed in the 300 rooms, and they were always very clean, cool and well stocked with water. The 400 rooms are newer and looked very nice, but if you are anything like me, I never spend any time in my room unless I am sleeping. The fact that our room was clean and comfortable was good enough for me. The food always tasted good, however, the selection was not huge and there are some times when it was difficult to find any food at all. Between 10pm and 5am expect to only find burgers and fries to eat. You just have to plan out your eating schedule to make sure that you don’t miss the buffet and it will be fine. Only tried out one A La Carte restaurant (Bellini’s) and it was awesome. The actual resort was very beautiful and huge. There are two resorts side by side, and you have access to the food, pools, bars and beaches at both sides. Shuttles will take you back and forth between the two resorts all day long. The ocean was very clean and only had a few rocks in it, but overall very nice. Not a lot of distance to walk along the beach as Ocean World is on one point and there is a rock pile on the other point. Almost every person at the resort spoke decent English, there was no issues trying to communicate with the employees. The waiters and bartenders were very friendly and fast at serving (Manuel and Edward were our crews favourite bartenders, but they are all great). The entertainment crew definitely allowed us to have the most fun on our vacation. They had different activities poolside or in the pool such as water aerobics, volleyball, darts, Spanish lessons and dancing everyday. The same entertainment crew, consisting of Rambo, Shaggy, Mickey, Julio, Speedy, and Darlin (We miss you guys already!!), danced at the beginning of every show at night. This was definitely the best part of the shows, but the other performers were also very talented. I just didn’t really love the shows. Overall, the RESORT WAS GREAT and I would go back in a heartbeat. The more people that you meet and talk to during your stay, the more fun you will have. Also, don’t forget to check out the Ice Nightclub, and definitely don’t miss the Glitter and Foam parties. They were incredible! The welcome party on Sunday night is an amazing show and the food there was awesome (Sushi, Crab Legs, Chicken, Beef, Pork, Pasta, Endless Salad, Bread, Desserts, to name a bit). The music was awesome around the resort. It was a great mixture of upbeat English and Spanish songs. The employees were always dancing and singing, making the atmosphere more fun. WE HAD THE BEST WEEK EVER!! Can’t wait to go back! Michelle from Ontario

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11_MichelleCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had an amazing time when we were at Cofresi Palm Beach.
Julio was what made our trip.....complete! Julio was a huge part in the Animation Team as well as a huge part in promoting all the activities my wife and I participated in. Out of all the members of the Animation Team, Julio Nice took us under his wing.....showed me how to dance, shared his culture with us and just made us feel welcome in Dominican Republic. Always smiling, laughing with the guests and sharing the intimacies of this really exotic resort in Puerto Plata..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Myself and 4 other friends, ages 21-23, booked Cofresi for our spring break. We were a little skeptical because it was listed as a great family and couple resort, all of which we were not. We HAD A BLAST. I just got home this morning and miss it already. Bartenders were fantastic, so friendly and always wanting to have a good time with us. Manuel and Edward were favourites of ours. The entertainment crew made our trip that much more enjoyable. Rambo, Shaggy, Mickey, Julio and Speedy were always an entertaining bunch and we spent all of our time down at the ocean pool because well... that's where the fun was at! (The Ontario crew miss you guys!) There were activities going on every day, volleyball was always going, and I didn't meet one rude person there the entire week. It's all about making your own fun and if you want to have a good time, you will! The glitter party was fantastic and the foam party was Incredible!!! Definitely don't want to miss out on that when you go. The evening entertainment was ok... I just found them to be a little repetitive. My favourite part of the shows was always the entertainment boys opening the show, then afterwards I left to visit our favourite bartenders then hit up their Disco, Ice!
Winston and his crew did approach us and asked us to bring us on a tour, trying to sell the villas, but I knew what was coming and if you just say no, they go away. They're nice people just doing their job! The banana boat guy was probably the most annoying, trying to sell you a ride on his banana shaped tube behind his boat. But just say you have one at home, and he won't know how to respond. haha
The rooms were great. Didn't see one bug, always clean, air conditioning was amazing, sometimes too cold!
The food was good, but I'm no food expert. It was a little annoying that anytime we were hungry, food wasn't available, and our only option was burgers and fries (which get old fast) but a few days into our stay we just learned to eat when the buffet was opened, no biggy. Oh, and not once did I feel sick, I didn't even need my imodium!
Be friendly, make new friends, take advantage of everything going on, and you'll have a terrific stay!

Room Tip: buildings 402, 401, and 403 look gorgeous, but we were just in the standard junior suites and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkleist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing