We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My partner and I had a great time at LHVC. We stayed the the Cofresi palm area and thought the accommodations (junior suite) were beautiful. Some renovations are happening in the Cofresi area so I would recommend building 40, 41 and 42 which around where we were. It's right next to the pool and very close to the beach! Many reviews about LHVC talk about the disparity of the service, but you have to understand that you are attending a club which has various levels of ownership/membership (shareholders, gold members, platinum members, etc.). These guests receive first priority in all restaurant bookings and a few other perks (understandably - they pay a lot to be members), so if you've booked off of a discount website - you will not be treated the same as a member. We went as Guest Members (of John and Pam Roth) and we got to experience a lot of really neat opportunities. I would highly recommend booking through them! If you purchase the VIP bracelet, in addition to all the regular stuff, you also have access to every VIP beach and restaurant except for one beach and one restaurant reserved for shareholders only. The beaches are absolutely beautiful, and the beds, hammocks, chairs are to die for. The bar service is excellent and so friendly - you can have all the drinks AND food you'd like brought to you out on your bed on the beach. Serenity beach is, by far, the best beach for those who are looking for a more tranquil experience. It's a piece of heaven! As for booking, we had a great experience booking through John and Pam Roth. They were quick to respond to us and had many pages of information to prepare us for our trip. We were very happy with the service that they provided and would happily book through them again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akalb104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,077 - 2,083 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I went in Cofrési We spent of excellent holidays, we appreciated quite specially Speedy Gonzales, for his dedication, it is always thoughtful, he works well all day long and all evening long, we noticed that the clientele of the hotel liked very much him and of this fact too thanks to Speedy you made of our most memorable stay it is the number 1 of the team of animation .Cofrési deserve 5 stars .Us are going to come back for from magnificent There!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank MARIECG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Mar 4-11, 2014 was the first time my partner and I had stayed at the Cofresi, we loved it so much that we are returning April 7-14, 2014. I have never returned to the same resort twice so that itself speaks volumes.
Out of all the countries I have traveled to Dominican Republic is my favorite place to be. As for AI resorts, I have been to several areas within the DR staying at some 4 but mostly at 5 and 5+ star in La Romana, Samana, Punta Cana, Boca Chica, Las Terrenas, Puerto Plata and the list goes on. However, after being to Puerto Plata twice in the past year, I swore there had to be a betterhotel and I found it at the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort. It was recommended to me by a local so I booked the resort, afterward I checked the reviews on tripadvisor and cringed and thought omg what have I gotten myself into. I promised to stay open minded and just think of the vitamin D.

So, here's my mini review of the Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort...

What a delightful resort, very friendly and professional staff.

Pools - one for everybody's individuality, a small quiet one was where I enjoyed hiding out for a couple hours each day. The main one, near the lobby was also another favorite. Many people congregated around the large one by the beach where the entertainment staff were and by the sounds coming from that general direction a great time was had by all.

Bar Staff - excellent! More often than not the bartenders knew what you were drinking before you ordered and it had nothing to do with the amount you tipped. Great service!

Food - not a huge buffet but at the Pearl I managed my protein and veg at every meal, my partner enjoyed his rice, protein and late night hamburgers. On two occasions we took the shuttle to the Tropical next door for lunch and ate at their buffet. We only ate at one ala carte, Johnny's, the food was good, the restaurant itself has a funky/musty odor.

Clean - every part of the resort was kept clean.
Our room was spotless, towels were fresh, bed was made and bathroom was cleaned daily. There was one instance where I had to pass through as our maid was mopping the floor. She went back and mopped my foot prints, I felt bad.
The grounds and washrooms were always impeccably clean.

It is a large resort, lots of walking and stairs so be prepared. I am fairly fit but by the time our week was up my legs were feeling it.

What I would like to see - a cafe bar; somewhere that you can sit and enjoy a freshly brewed cappuccino, espresso or cup of Dominican coffee with or without a liqueur.

Our room was a little outdated but for a 4* the bed was really comfy so I slept like a baby...

Looking forward to April 7, 2014
10 more sleeps ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR_over_and_over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at the Cofresi from March 20th -27th 2014. We were 2 couples travelling together. My boyfriend and I stayed in a "Junior Suite" in building 42, the other couple we were travelling with couldn't get a Junior Suite (all booked) so were moved between 3 regular rooms (because the 1st 2 were unbelievably yucky).
The Junior Suite was acceptable, a nice size and the mattress was really comfy. The VIP beach that the Junior Suite gave us access to was a joke, very crowded and lots of kids in the tubs. We spent our days in one of the huts on the much less crowded regular beach and walk over to the Junior Suite ViP for drinks (better quality).
The staff o the hotel were all very nice and friendly.
This was my 3rd trip to Puerto Plata, the 2 previous times I had stayed at the Riu and wanted to try something else out this time.
The part of this resort that made it a place I would not recommend is the problem they have with their sewage system, when walking through the resort certain areas would set off my gag reflex! The 2nd room that the other couple we were with had was smack dab in the middle of this smell. It is honestly the nastiest thing I have ever smelled! The resort should really consider shutting down until the problem is resolved.
The Sunday night party/dinner was very cool, Wednesday night and Thursday night parties were not the impressive.
They don't play very much Caribbean music which I really enjoy. Instead they play AC/DC and common pop music.

Room Tip: If you haven't already bought your vacation try the Riu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

First of all, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel! I would absolutely recommend it to everyone!

Anyway, the best thing was the entertainment staff. I can't believe how Micky, Shaggy, Rambo, Blackie, Speedy & Julio can work so hard all the time. They are doing amazing job with hotel guest every day... When you are coming to this hotel, make sure that you get to know these guys. I got myself back on track in my life during my trip at Puerto Plata because of these wonderful people. I would like to thank especially Blackie - please say to him that he really cares about other people and I have never seen so good heart than he has.

:)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Every day was a party, the staff was always friendly and a blast to be around. The staff at cofresi was the best. Some of being Blackie, Rambo, Julio, Shaggy, Mikey, Speedy, Darlyn. If youre looking for a good time this is the place to go. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leannesabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Although my wife and I enjoyed the resort, the hidden gem is the tennis pro, Li Lo. On top of being a great teacher and player, he was very friendly and helpful. His rates are reasonable and if you are a beginner he offers a free lesson to get started.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.8 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £80 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing