We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 2 weeks!! Great Animation team and Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing 2 weeks!! Great Animation team and Great staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to cofresi for 2 weeks and had an Amazing time. This was our first vacation and it was exactly what we wanted. We really enjoyed all of the entertainment especially the shows at the lights camera action theatre. We met the wonderful animation team, Speedy, Mickey mouse, Julio, Shaggy, Blackie, Rambo and Darling, you guys were awesome!! Always entertaining and amusing. Thanks for teaching us the merengue! It was very nice getting to know all of you. The guys at the dive center are awesome too, Howie Mandel and Patron got us to go parasailing which was awesome.
The hotel room was really good, we stayed in building 41 and didn't have any problems. Our room attendant Melvia was exceptional. The fridge and coffee station were restocked every day and if we needed something we would just ask and she would get us what we needed.
The Pearl buffet was the restaurant we went to the most, and the food was really good there. Especially the omelette chef Juan, he made a pretty great omelette. Also the French toast and pancake chef (I don't know his name) was really good too.
Seriously this hotel is great and a lot of the complaints on here are not justified.
We had a great vacation and would definitely go back. Thanks again to all the great people and staff we met!
-Delaney

Room Tip: Hotels in the 40's are really nice and bring sunscreen because its hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delaney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    1,005
    491
    323
    364
See reviews for
948
1,140
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rego Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my second time DR and to Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. Upon arrival the receptionsist Dawil Castillo were extremly pleasant and welcoming.. Dawil were amazing friendly, He made sure my all my accomdation were taken care of. The entire hotel staff were great maid service, waiters and bartender, etc. Everyone went out of their way to ensure I had a great time. The food was excelllent. My entire vacation was great. Can't wait to retrun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my sister just got back from this resort on Sunday and we absolutely loved it. The resort was beautiful and clean, the food was always good and the staff were amazing. The VIP party they have every Thursday is awesome make sure you go to that. The animation team was hilarious: Shaggy, Mickey, Rambo, Speedy, Julio, they all made the trip so much more fun, thanks guys :)!! I would go back here in a second, and we are already planning on it for next year!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn-Cunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from Cofresi with our friends and family for a birthday celebration. Its a huge resort, and is very beautiful. here are the highlights and low points.

highlights - pools, lots to choose from, never a problem getting chair... we really enjoyed the frost pool, with swim bar - our grandson loved it and played for hours here... the pool at our bldg. 41 was great too.
Food - very nice, buffet at Tropical Casablanca is much better that the Pearl. its worth taking the shuttle there.
bars - cheers was always fun at night
rooms - bldg. 41 we had oceanview and garden views.. they are very spacious, clean and comfy, could use a few more drawers, but overall great rooms...

low points - CAUTION - only go here if you are able to WALK STAIRS!! soooo many stairs, no ramps and definitely NOT FOR STROLLERS!!! we would have been fine if we didn't have a stroller, its really tough with wheels.... honestly you cannot access any restaurants here, unless you do stairs, you can take shuttle to tropical, which we did for lunch and dinners... but be aware of this if you are booking with kids or anyone with mobility challenges.

strange sewer smell intermittent in 2 of the 7 rooms... its very smelly from time to time...

drinks - definatly watered down alcohol, only VIP beach seemed to have top shelf booze

Other stuff...we didn't have any interaction with this hotels animation team... I think they must cater to singles, and only worked the main pool area... but we were happy to hang our own group. people seemed to be enjoying their activities at the main pool

The weekend was overwhelmed with some sort of weekend special offer to local people. the shuttle driver told my daughter they were the crazy's that come on the weekends... this is apparently usual during low booking times it got very busy and hotel was struggling to keep up with food and overall the hotel was not pleasant on the Saturday and sunday with these challenges ( drunks passed out and sick in front of restaurant at sunday morning breakfast, lots of rude comments to my daughters, difficult to get bar service, men in ladies bathroom.. we should have booked our excursions for the weekend, had we realized it would be this crowded.

honestly we had a really great time... there were just a couple of weird things! If you can do stairs its lovely... if you have small kids, I'd go elsewhere or be prepared to carry and lift!!

Room Tip: bldg. 41 is great.... 41314,41313, 41312 no smell... 41311 & 41306 was smelly. located right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

So I came back to DR and stayed in Cofresi Palm Resort and everything was great. I have come to expect a friendly staff and I was not disappointed. The maid everyday day did an amazing jod. The reception staff was nice, most specialy my friend Dawil Castillo who took good care of us making our stay unforgettable. He is a funny dude, come to think of it, he was the one who checked us in last year as well. We are looking forward to come back. The plan is to come back next year, but I may actually return in October.

Room Tip: The junior suites at Cofresi in the 40s buildings are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

YOU 5 guys made his trip unforgettable with your welcoming hands, Huge Hearts, and LOTS of jokes with plenty of laughter. the shows that these guys would put on would entertain you for days!!Had the best vacation ive ever had in my life time and it all stems from these amazing men!!! will be going back very very soon!!! see you all in a couple weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

These guys were the best part of my trip. Very welcoming, always making sure people were having fun, and never missing the chance to make you laugh. They are outstanding dancers, the shows were amazing and always entertaining. Being home makes me miss seeing what great things they had in store for the guests each day.

These guys alone are what will be bringing me back to the Dominican again sooner rather than later. I cannot express how much you need to meet these guys and see what they have in store for daytime activities and night time shows.

Each one is their own person but as a group they are even better!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
5.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,407 reviews
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,164 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing