We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The resort was beautiful and everyone was so friendly. The farthest walk from the beach was five minutes at most. So much to do there with all of the shows, restaurants, and excursions. Two of my favorite people there were Mosquito and Jhony Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    979
    486
    320
    360
See reviews for
926
1,118
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The staff at most of this resort are absolutely wonderful. Our concierge member was Cesar Lora and he made our trip phenomenal. He would pick us up and take us wherever we wanted to go, and if we weren't sure where we wanted to be this man would take us somewhere new and beautiful. He really went above and beyond every day we managed to stay. The other members of the concierge team were equally as marvelous every time we seen them.
That being said, I was sick from the second day into the trip and I remained sick from that moment on wards. When we called the desk to see if there was a possibility of food delivery as I was unable to remove myself from a toilet long enough to go to dinner, we were RUDELY denied, and then I watched on as several other rooms in our section were hand delivered plates of food. we were also told we couldn't switch our excursion date and I should "try not to puke in the tanks" at Ocean World by a member of the booking staff.. Our room especially the bathroom was always far from clean,with dried puke on the sides of the toilet, a bowed ceiling and a light falling out twice while there. We found the front desk staff completely unaccommodating. People get sick on vacation, it happens all the time. However apparently this resort is completely unwilling to be helpful in anyway if this occurs. Customer Service was made aware of these issues however by the time they had offered to be helpful in anyway, we had already changed our flights so we could leave early. Until they heard we were leaving early they were willing to do nothing. I can not say how disappointing this whole experience was, especially since it was our honeymoon. If all the staff had of went to the lengths of Cesar Lora this resort truly would be number 1. The sights and scenery are second to none with a view of the ocean on one side and mountains on the other. However with how we were spoke to by the desk when I was ill, I wouldn't recommend this resort, sickness happens, this place wont help you. The food is sub par and gentlemen will be required to wear pants to the restaurants or you will be denied entry and stuck eating at the buffet, which will be cold and dried out within an hour of service starting, which was again disappointing after how many good things we had heard about the food here.

Room Tip: The rooms behind Ying Yang spa are very quiet, they aren't the most modern or the cleanest but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginjaninja456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, seriously, the staff at Cofresi are fantastic. All of them. Yes, the beach is beautiful, there are tons of fun activities both on and off the resort... but what will keep me coming back to Cofresi are the staff. From check-in to check-out and everything in between. The friendliest, most accomodating people you will ever meet. And especially the animation team! They were the best part! They got us involved in games and activities throughout the day, and then at night they danced and performed and threw amazing parties for us! Blackie was the best :) Rambo, Speedy, Mickey and the rest of the gang were all awesome, too, but Blackie went out of his way to make sure my friends and I had nothing short of the best vacation ever! We had so much fun I didn't want to come home! Definitely going back. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first visit to the D.R and we didn't quite know what to expect. The staff was welcoming and the rooms were to die for. If ever we had a problem the front desk crew were quick to resolve it. Everyone on the property were friendly and had excellent customer service skills. We will definitely be coming back. We had one problem with our room. We wanted a king size bed instead of two twin beds and Natvidad Pana was quick to change it. Never have we had better service on any vacation than we did at the Cofresi. Rafeal at the Casablanca was outstanding with our service. The scooter rental gentlemen, Raul, and Mariana were very friendly and took us on an amazing tour of the city. I couldn't have asked for better tour guides.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View Room. It is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to cofresi for 2 weeks and had an Amazing time. This was our first vacation and it was exactly what we wanted. We really enjoyed all of the entertainment especially the shows at the lights camera action theatre. We met the wonderful animation team, Speedy, Mickey mouse, Julio, Shaggy, Blackie, Rambo and Darling, you guys were awesome!! Always entertaining and amusing. Thanks for teaching us the merengue! It was very nice getting to know all of you. The guys at the dive center are awesome too, Howie Mandel and Patron got us to go parasailing which was awesome.
The hotel room was really good, we stayed in building 41 and didn't have any problems. Our room attendant Melvia was exceptional. The fridge and coffee station were restocked every day and if we needed something we would just ask and she would get us what we needed.
The Pearl buffet was the restaurant we went to the most, and the food was really good there. Especially the omelette chef Juan, he made a pretty great omelette. Also the French toast and pancake chef (I don't know his name) was really good too.
Seriously this hotel is great and a lot of the complaints on here are not justified.
We had a great vacation and would definitely go back. Thanks again to all the great people and staff we met!
-Delaney

Room Tip: Hotels in the 40's are really nice and bring sunscreen because its hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delaney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my second time DR and to Cofresi Palm Beach and Spa Resort. Upon arrival the receptionsist Dawil Castillo were extremly pleasant and welcoming.. Dawil were amazing friendly, He made sure my all my accomdation were taken care of. The entire hotel staff were great maid service, waiters and bartender, etc. Everyone went out of their way to ensure I had a great time. The food was excelllent. My entire vacation was great. Can't wait to retrun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my sister just got back from this resort on Sunday and we absolutely loved it. The resort was beautiful and clean, the food was always good and the staff were amazing. The VIP party they have every Thursday is awesome make sure you go to that. The animation team was hilarious: Shaggy, Mickey, Rambo, Speedy, Julio, they all made the trip so much more fun, thanks guys :)!! I would go back here in a second, and we are already planning on it for next year!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn-Cunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,122 reviews
7.0 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing