We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interval World Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I visited Cofresi Resort (Lifestyle Vacations) from Aug 2-9, 2014. We booked through Interval World as we are time share holders in Colorado. Interval World is a partner with Lifestyle vacations. We had no idea what to expect in regards to this VIP thing. Interval World had no idea what we would get either. I sent 2 e-mails to the resort inquiring about this before our trip and got no response from Lifestyle. We did get some amenities, but not all. Disappointing for being a "partner"- would have liked to had access to additional VIP beaches and VIP restaurants. We did get a one bedroom with a separate living area and balcony on the Cofresi side overlooking the pool at the spa. The AC worked great, no issues with the room or cleanliness whatsoever. Also had lots of bottled water for us with refill stations throughout the property. And 110 plugs so no need to bring power adapters. Had no issues with towels. Always clean and replenished. We stayed in building 203 and it was very quiet. There were a few power outages. This would knock out the alarm clock and we had to manually reset it. I mention this because if you have to get up by a certain time- you may want to have a backup alarm on your watch or phone in case the power goes out in the middle of the night.

The Lifestyle time shareholders (or those vacationers who bought their vacation week/perks from members) are true VIP- gold band guest with full access to all restaurants and several beaches. As Interval World travelers, we had a blue sparkly band. We did have express check in- which was helpful after 2 full days of traveling. We were given 4 restaurant reservations with a 6:30 dinner time. (normally there would have only been 3, but the Sunday night party was cancelled due to tropical storm Bertha) So that was great that they offered guests an extra reservation night. As Interval members, we were offered a reservation for "The Jazz"- a VIP only restaurant for the night we arrived (Saturday) Unfortunately, I got sick within a few hours after our arrival- salad from the buffet- and was in bed by 8. We were unable to reschedule that dinner as it is for "Saturday only" and we were leaving the following Saturday. They were however, willing to give us another reservation for Friday night to the Brazilian restaurant which was wonderful. We did have access to one VIP beach along with other "blue banded" guests who booked through Cheap Carribean, etc. This beach did have covered cabanas, good liquor, food service and free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi was spotty at times and the strongest signal is right when you enter, near the sushi bar. It is true that the cabanas go quickly. We are early to bed, early to rise people so yes, the early birds get the cabanas. For us, not a problem and we stayed there all day long. We did do a tour of the property. We made it clear from the beginning we were not interested in buying/upgrading. They respected that. We did get to see the other amenities, got some great pictures of all the upscale areas, a great margarita, a small bottle of rum (each) for touring and went back to our cabana. So worth 2 hours of our time to see how the other half lives. No clue on the costs for that stuff.

The restaurants were good. Our dinner reservations were for the Blue Lagoon (seafood), El Pinon (Dominican), Aisan and Belleni (Italian) plus the additional Friday night to the Brazilian. Thursday night is a party night- they only have drinks there so eat before you go. The 2 buffets- The Pearl and the Casablanca were the same food every day. We liked Casablanca better so we ate there. On the weekends, the locals (yellow bands) are there and the Pearl was a madhouse. Didn't see locals at the Casablanca so we ate there. The Belleni is also opened for lunch (at 1230) to all guests. It was wonderful, not crowded and a well kept secret. Plus there is a nice pool there- also not crowded. The wines at the restaurants were terrible- the whites were too sweet for me, most of the reds were drinkable but very low quality. The mixed drinks were good, especially on the VIP beach.

We did two excursions and booked both of them after we arrived to the resort- the city tour and Paradise Island. Both were good. Unfortunately for Paradise Island, it was "high tide"- which they failed to mention at the time of booking. The sandbar (island) was engulfed in water and the tide was rough. So the one hour snorkeling adventure lasted about 20 minutes as the water kept coming into the mouthpiece. So that was a bummer. But the scenery was beautiful and the booze part of the trip was great! We also stopped by a cigar factory so hubby was happy and bought a box to bring home. Got lots of great pictures. The city tour was well worth it. Took a cable car to the top of the mountain for great views, visited a rum factory, jewelry store, amber museum and the downtown square. Again, great photo opportunities. The rum factory was great and you could buy rum to take home. ($10-$12 per bottle- super cheap so have room in your suitcase) We also brought back 2 smaller bottles ($5 each) for our college age kids and won parents of the year!

The other thing I was unsure of was transportation to and from the airport. We were told that Lifestyle would pick us up but we would need to arrange our own transportation back. We booked through Viator- $26.50 a person round trip. Would highly recommend them. We did have to call them the day before we left to confirm transportation back to the airport. (guest services did this for us) Viator was very efficient and professional. Lifestyle offered return rides to the airport for $50.00- not sure if that is per person or a group. But again, since no one answered my initial e-mails, I wasn't going to chance it and just figure it out when I got there. This might a different scenario for the "gold VIP people"

All in all, we had a really good time. The service was good and the people were friendly. We relaxed, read books, took long walks and naps. There was lots of entertainment if you are looking for that. We did go to the Thursday night Vegas style show which was awesome. We walked all over the property- lots of hills and stairs- fine for us. Worked off all the food and drink! Every vacation is what you make of it. Little things didn't bother us. Special kudos to Winston who was always friendly and willing to help with whatever we needed. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,926 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time 4 a great price, I would like to thanks to all the staffing from this hotel specially to a guy named "Rambo" Lol. All of them have great personality and are really hard worker and very kind peoples, thank you again and I hope to see you guys next year... Att: Joel & families. .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Confresi is just 1 resort among about 4 or 5 others all on the same property. You can visit the other resorts. Infact,YOU MUST visit them if you want to enjoy your stay at all. But most importantly please know that this is NOT suitable for those people who may have any type of trouble walking. TONS of stairs and hills. and nothing is close by.

some things:
Our first room didnt have a working A/C and we saw 2 cockroaches. Front desk gave us a 2nd room. That room was even worse but I didnt feel like switching rooms again. * I usually dont care what the rooms are like cause im hardly ever in it- but I need to be able to come into the room after swimming all day to get ready for dinner and entertainment- and that was just horrible with bad AC and roaches and the hairdryer didnt work and we didnt have Cold water for a nice cool shower :(

In addition to the bad rooms... (long story short --> the lady in guest service told me and my friend that we could join my other friends at their reservations, she said she would call The restaurant and let them know. well she never did and we couldnt go to the restaurant.)
** she was the ONLY one at the resort who I thought was NOT a people person and then on top of that failed to do what she said. grrrr.

the Buffett at Confresi was reeeallly bad... It was soooo Hot in the restaurant and the food was hardly mediocre. Go to the buffett at the Tropical.

The entertainment at the Confresi is very minimal.. Go to the Tropical for the entertainment at the pools during the day, and go see the shows at the Colosseum at 930.

Housekeeping--- ugggg... your towels will be taken when they do cleaning but they dont bring you back any until late afternoon. Most importantly- they do not care about the DO NOT DiSTURB sign on your door. If they want to grab your dirty towels or bring you clean towels they WILL go in no matter what.

alright im going to wrap this up with a warning to the ladies: These men WANT an American sugar momma. They will hit on you, whisper to you, ask if you want a Dominican Boyfriend. My friend was suckered into this about 2 years ago.... i wont go into details. But yes, be prepared to be flattered and hit on. after the first couple of shuttle drivers and waiters.... i started to get annoyed by it.

Room Tip: get 1st floor- you'll be tired from all the walking around the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Stefanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked our reservation on 8/4-8/11, 2014 at the Cofresi Palm Beach Resort and Spa in DR thru Living Socials. I wasn't impressed with the room, but we were able to switched to a Junior Suite-After we signed up to be members of Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. There was a misunderstanding at the beginning, but the facility were able to accommodate our needs. This is an all inclusive resort ! They have tons of restaurants where members and non members can go to. Being a member, you can go to any of their restaurants without paying extra. But for non members there's still plenty of choices but are limited to certain ones. They have plenty of swimming pools. They have diff beach names for each theme sections of the Resort.

Room Tip: If not a member- for this Resort , book a better room right away- Junior Suite at least. Otherwise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Row1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As a seasoned traveler, don't waste your hard earned money. Cofresi Palm Beach Resort is horrible. YOU are treated as chattle from the moment of check in to the moment of check out.
The food is awful and the room accommodations are less than desirable.
I feel like they should refund my money back to me for the hardship endured on my "relaxing vacation." All inclusive is advertised, they deliver on nothing!!!!
The staff are rude and the overall feel at the resort is you need to be upgraded to get basic services. VIP status is joke here. Your money will spend far better in ARUBA!!!!

Lisa P

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family vacation to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort was one to remember forever! Not only was the resort beautiful, but the entertainment at night was phenomenal! There was never a night that we didn't have a show to go. Along with the entertainment involved the incredible workers! Julio, Shaggy, Mickey Mouse, Rambo, Speedy Gonzales, and Coco Loco were my favorite part of the entire vacation! They were very down to earth and each had a great sense of humor. I would also like to note the hospitality from the maids on our floor, our room was cleaned everyday with a flower on the bed! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, fun vacation!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First class personnel, very friendly and helpful. Hotel was great - marble floors throughout, huge room with king size or 2 queen size beds, beautiful bathroom. Food was good, no elevator in 3 floor unit. Upgraded to VIP status. Was worth it - got my money worth on upgrade.

Room Tip: pool side rooms face ocean, but are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,668 reviews
5.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,360 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
2.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort

Address: 1 Paradise Drive | Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Be Live Grand Carey)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort – Dominican Republic is the newest jewel in the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club. Nestled along the Cofresi beach shores, and overlooking the sparkling Caribbean sea, this resort caters to the luxurious enjoyment of both families and couples looking for that perfect getaway. With 468 well-appointed accommodations that range from Adult Only Spa Suites, to Standard family friendly rooms located in a quite setting between the ocean beach and spectacular pool, this is a paradise worthy of the Lifestyle name. The resort was created with space and comfort in mind, making Cofresi Palm a relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experience for all guests and their families. All rooms have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the decor has a distinctive design, featuring dark wood furnishings. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather in some of the units. Providing both service and features that are standard for a Lifestyle property, the Cofresi Palm offers a unique luxury accommodations experience. Cofresi Palm provides the easy, relaxed ambiance of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting. Experience the array of beauty and excitement that Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Puerto Plata
Sun Village Hotel Cofresi
Dominican Republic Sun Village
Sun Village Dominican Republic
Sun Village Spa
Sun Village Resort Dominican Republic
Sun Village Resort Puerto Plata
Sun Village Beach Resort
Sun Village Resort Spa Puerto Plata
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing