We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$US 25 a day for WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our family stayed here for a night having come from the Nicolas Ovando in Santo Domingo and waiting for our rooms the following day at the nearby Casa Colonial. We did not have high hopes for the Be Live and we were not disappointed. The reception area, staffed by glamorous young ladies, was fine, but from then on it was all downhill. The room was dank and musty, the beach was covered in litter and there were constant loud activities going on the pool area. The tennis pro and the clay courts were the best things on the resort. The worst was the extortionate fee of $ 25 per day for wifi service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 3,988 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Have travelled to many places down south and thought we would give this resort a try. Never stayed in this part of the DR before, and will most likely not be returning. The beach at this resort was the biggest down fall. We planned a trip south to soak up the sun and enjoy the beach. We didn't even get to go into the water once during our stay. The beach was covered in broken glass, garbage etc. The water access that is available was more sea weed then sand. Not so much the resort fault, but turn off for us. The pool at the resort was not bad though, big and lots of room to swim without running into anyone. There was daily activities near the pool as well. The nightly entertainment was not great. Was hoping for some guest interactive shows which are always hilarious. We went to two shows but didn't stay very long. The rooms were average and clean. However, my mothers Guess watch was stolen from her room (dumb idea to have brought that along anyway) but just be sure to lock anything of value up! This resort is located on the very end of the beach & has a fence to block any locals from sneaking on the resort. It is also patrolled by security who carries a huge gun strapped to his chest. We spoke with him one night and he said that the locals do try to jump the fence and happens at least once a week. Never seen or heard anything and our room was located right next to the fence facing the beach. The food was not the greatest. Have eaten better food in Cuba then here, however the snack bar sells hotdogs, fries, and pizza which were all really good. The disco was fun! They played a lot of their music, but also mixed it up a bit which was greatly appreciated. Overall, the resort was small which we liked, a little run down but it is the DR so what do you expect. However, would never return to this resort or this part of the DR, it very dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovaScotiaDolphin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Be Live from November 5 to the 19th. This resort cares. It cares about the food, it cares about the room, it cares about the property but most of all it cares about the people staying there. My husband and I along with another couple enjoyed this resort so much we are looking to book for next November and are actually making plans with another couple from Germany to return next November and that's a first for us.

This was our 8th visit to Puerto Plata so needless to say we love this destination. This side of the Island is not for everyone. If your looking to just go stay on the resort, white beaches and calmer water then Punta Cana is probably for you. If you want to meet people that actual live in a everyday way then try this side. We travel on the local transit...which is a van with seats that are tattered, no A/C and sometimes the lady next to you has been to the market and is returning home with a live chicken in a bag for today's meal. The fare is one US dollar per person one way and you may be stuffed in like sardines depending on the time if day but the locals try to assist you anyway they can and are the kind, happy and generous.

I would never suggest that you go anywhere off the resort alone or at night but a day trip to Puerto Plata that is a short distance from this resort is worth the adventure. Leave your jewelry in the safe only take a small amount of money and you will be fine. Often a local will take you under their wing and help to get you in to town. They are looking for a tip so 10.00 to 20.00 would be nice depending on how much time you spend with them.

The one secret that no one wants to tell you is that downtown there is a large pawn shop. The prices are not as negotiable but they are reasonable to begin with, I bought a 14 carat gold bracelet for 500.00 cash. You would pay at least twice that much here if not three times as much.
Plaza Las Americas is located right next door to the Caribe Bus Terminal in Puerto Plata, about a 15-minute walk from Central Park.

In the off season you can get a cab for about 15.00 return and they often send someone that speaks English with you and he will be expecting a tip. But even if you spent an extra 15.00 on him they will take you to town drive you around and bring you back. This is a very safe way to go to town but they tend to want to take you place where they will receive a tip if you buy something...but everyone needs to make a living. Ask them to take you to Plaza Las Americas the pawn shop, you won't be disappointed and many of the shops where the local middle class shop are within walking distance from this location. Also ask them to take you to La Sirena the largest supermarket. A full assortment of snacks, alcohol and great gifts to take home.

Anyways back to the resort. The food at the buffet is varied and the steam tables are the best of any resort I been to, the food was always hot and even the plates are heated. The Brazilian al carte was amazing, the Gourmet al carte was equally good. The Caesar salad and the Chateau Briand was amazing. The snack bar at the beach offers chicken wings by day and pizza comes out at 5:00pm. If you can enjoy the food here than you are extremely hard to please.

The locals do come in on the weekends and tend to blow off a little steam. The staff does cater a little bit more to them on the weekends but that seems to be a cultural thing like a show of respect to those that have done well in a country where it's hard to do well. Not to mention that the folks that vacation from other country can at times be very rude which I witnessed many times. The good part is the pool is the area of focus for the locals so the beach is the place to be if you are bothered by the influx on the weekends. During the week there are fewer kids and often the locals bring their children as we would here so the noise level and the wait times do increase.

There are only two complaints we had and those are the king size beds are as hard as the floor so opt for two doubles. We did request a change of rooms for this reason and we were quickly accommodated. The other complaint was from the other couple as there were no hooks to suspend your bags from on the tiki huts. We figured if that was all we could think to complain about then we had the best trip we ever had and the negative reviews are people that were born to suck lemons.

I would recommend thus resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place is a great place for a family ,so happy that we picket be live ,the crew is great food is a nice ,activities ,rooms ,reception and checking in and out .Me and my family spend a whole week in this hotel frankly it's rated little bit high but doesn't matter when you get from the first step till checking out it will be one of your great trips .
I was surprised that how many families where there multiple times even we travel as a family quite a lot but never seen that many people in vacation going to the same place that many times ,but here is why is the staff ,trust my Dany boy ,Michael and Hicktor and meany more of the great guys in the staff after few days you feel that you are one of them dancing having fun then you will know why all these family go back aloe of them they are not a time share members or any cub members but just love the staff and the place .thanks for everything guys hopping we see you again soon

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yassershamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We read up on this hotel before we booked it and were a little sceptical but have to say it was fantastic and a wonderful relaxing experience.The sea,beach,resort and pools are fab.The staff really make your holiday.They are most friendliest genuinue people who will do anything to make you welcome.Especially the cleaners,bar staff and michael Jackson, Usher, Hector-Miguel Angel Diaz and Danny boy and mosquito who dresses as an aborigini at night and does a fire show at the beach party.The security guards who guard you at night appreciate a cigarette and a coke from your fridge, they do a good job so before you go out at night take one to them they are soooo grateful.We did enjoy the food to start with but it does wear thin and you crave a good curry!Take immodium you will need it.We arent sure whether it was the food or just the mineral change in water but most people we talked to had diorreah.A few people did get bitten at night whilst in their rooms and we think it was sea fleas in the beds although dont know for sure as they did not look like mosquito bites.They do fumigate your room but take antihistamine tablets and a Benadryl for bites.Jungle Formula coverage before you go out a night is a must from mosquito bites.Definately dine in the gourmet restaurant.Steaks are gorgeous.Mexican and Brazilian werent good.We stayed in sea view rooms and it is well worth the upgrade.We peeped at the older rooms and they are really dated ours was modern,jet bath and spacious.We agree that large groups of locals do take over at weekends and can be rude but it is their country and have every right to enjoy themselves.We were lucky enough to have met a local guy and his family who live in glasgow now who took us to his village and believe me the Dominican people are the lovliest friendliest non racist people we have met.They can not do anything more to welcome us.DO NOT PURCHASE TRIPS with people on the beach!!
After reading on here, We booked a fishing trip that was so dangerous and had to abandon after 2 hours for fear of our lives.It was an old tug boat that was full of fumes and made us sick.We actually feared for our lives as the sea was so rough and like the film Perfect Storm but could not get a refund.However we booked Ocean World through Raphael at the hotel and it was amazing and we were insured.Visit Ocean World.It is an amazing place.Go to the aviary section and feed the love birds it will be an experience you have never had in your life! Be warned..PURE the nightclub off site is full of prostitutes and pimps whilst this was an experience and no one bothers you it is slightly intimidating.The prostitutes also come into the hotel and you will see the older man lavishing these girls at the next table!
We took Malaria tablets as directed but soon abandoned them as they made us so ill.Everyone we spoke to had the same experience.The lifestyle staff will try every day to sell you their time shares.We know people who went to see the resort and whilst they enjoyed seeing the luxurious lifestyle they were bombarded!!if you have resilience it is worth going but if you are tempted to part with thousands.. dont go.The local drink 151 rum is lethal it is so strong consume with caution.You will get sellers up and down the beach trying to braid your hair or sell you coconut.Just say no.Remember this is a third world country and they are in poverty more than this country will hopefully ever know.These people are just trying to make a living.We are the lucky ones lying on their beaches!! have fun guys we will definately be going back!!

Room Tip: upgrade to superior sea view room it is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank michelle688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just got back from vacation at the Grand Marien and the resort was done up in the Xmas season with lights and a huge Christmas in the lobby, nice touch. Miguel Angel Diaz that looked after the pool events was very out going , friendly and a good addition to your resort. The resort is clean and the flea markets the vendors do try is sell you the goods, just walk away. I would recommend this resort to visit again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is nicely located in front of the Playa Dorada beach, the rooms are very clean and well kept and the staff is really friendly and seems to strive to do a good job, BUT, the hotel allows prostitutes to walk around offering services (while your kids are in the pool!), they allow sales people to hassle guests trying to sell souvenirs and other stuff inside the hotel and the food and beverage is really compatible with what you pay. Don't expect any unforgettable experience. Also if you're in a romantic trip or traveling with your kids, that's not the place for you, for the reasones mentioned above.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marcio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,148 reviews
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £77 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata
Be Live Collection Marien Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing