We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Bad time to go.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Live Collection Marien
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was very nice. The food was amazing, and the staff were extremely friendly. One big issue, we went during worker holiday between May 2-5 and they let all the local people into the resort. Extremely over crowded, restaurant and bars were a mess, and overall it was a terrible experience. Completely unimpressed and will never travel to the DR in May again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Jrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mrs. / Mr.:

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.
We thank you for your kindness comments, which are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We would like to have a second opportunity to welcome you at the hotel.

Please receive our warmest Regards!

Sincerely,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 4,193 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I travelled with my husband and 2 daughters (one 9 months and one 2.5 yrs) from manchester for 2 weeks in April/may with Thomson.

Hotel is good value for money but is only a 3* hotel at best. Definitely not 4star as Thomson lead us to believe.
Check in is slow, though a cool drink is eventually given to u.

We were initially given a standard room in building 4. Having just endured a 10 hour flight with 2 young kids, I could have cried when I saw this room. It looked like something u would find in a hotel owned by Norman bates. It smelled of mould and mildew, the bedsheets were stained, cleaning was awful with dust and hair follicles everywhere, the decor was dark and gloomy and the view was into the bedroom of the room opposite.

We ended up paying $35 extra per night for a room upgrade. We were given a room in building nine. It was clean, large and modern. However, soon realized it was overrun with bedbugs and mosquitoes. Every night, despite using the 'off ' spray we would be bitten many times!!!

Food was below 3star standard. The dishes were always the same- rice, lentils and pork in some form or another. I am a vegetarian and it was a nightmare to find anything to eat. I was practically living on bread. They do not understand the concept of vegetarianism. Even the cheese was artfully arranged in a platter mixed in next to ham. Because the dishes were next to meat dishes ppl would use the wrong serving spoons and contaminate the dish. Even omelette in the morning would be mixed in the dish which just had the makings of a ham omelette.

Even salads would be mixed with meat. Very few '
Vegetarian salads!
Also they keep reheating the leftover food until it is finished. The veg chow mein made on Chinese night was still being served 3 nights in the French night, and was in adequately heated up. The eggplant ratatouille was served cold the next day as 'eggplant salad'. The beans stew was revamped with some sausage and served for many days after!
Also foods weren't labelled so I was never sure if something had meat in it or not!

This was done with nearly all their foods. Halfway through our holiday both myself and my daughter got severe diarrhoea for the rest of our holiday.

There is nothing to do outside the hotel unless u pay for the overpriced excursions.

Rooms have no locks and staff seem to have no concept of 'do not disturb signs'. Also on weekends hotel is open to locals to use pool and beach so could be seen as a bit of security breach.


There are good points also- lovely pool and lovely beach. But overall a very low 3 star hotel. It is suitable for those on a budget or those who love pork. If u r a vegetarian or can afford to pay more, give this hotel a miss!




  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniemouseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mrs. / Mr.:

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Be Live Grand Marien for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience through this web site.

We thank you for your kindness comments, which are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Sincerely,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

the service? the WORST! specially in the recepction, they don't care about anything! we had a problem with one of our swimming pool towel because someone stole it and we went to the receptions, the receptionist told us that we had to pay for it 20 dollars, what?! i'm telling you that we were stolen and you tell me that we HAVE to pay? instead of resolve the problem, the guy, who was in the reception, starts to laugh and he told us that it was our problem! the day after, we found one in the swimming pool, so we went to change it but we couldn't because they told us that we had to give it to them the day before so they could wash it...there was no way that they could change our dirty towel for another clean..so we had to use it..DIRTY! The quality of the food is horrible! You don't have also a lot of choice! The room was dirty and they never filled the minibar! We only drink like 2 drinks because there was a lot of people! and theres only 3 bar where you can get something! So people if you have to travel in DR don't go there! At least go in the Be Live at punta cana! There is a little best! But not that much!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.:

Thank you for your comments through this web site, wish is very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, .

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Food was tasteless and fried and meh at the buffet. Couldn't get a reservation at a restaurant, even though we were a honeymoon couple. Bugs in our room. How is this a 4 star hotel is beyond me. Avoid

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.:

Thank you for your comments through this web site, wish is very important for us, since they help us to improve on our services.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay; your comments for the appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.


Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

went here in april I wasn't to impressed but it was ok the pool was ace and big haha as I like to be in the pool... and my partner enjoyed playing water basket ball and pole in the pool... the food wasn't very good I wasn't impressed with it all to be honest... the room were also ok but we were not there to stay in the room haha they did the job we take a shower and sleep in there and they were cleaned everyday as for the fridge to be filled up well there wasn't alayas beer 7up or coke in there we had something but there should been one of each pop and 2 beers but wanst very often we had 2 beers... the shows were also ok but the thing is we was there for 2 weeks and we saw the same show twice a few times x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lou2009gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had 2 amazing holidays here, room upgrade was lovely with fab accommodation , staff amazing especially Danny in entertainment. All staff so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, well recommended .

Maxine Jarvis

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank maxinePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful views , pool , people , amazing entertainment , beautiful food , would go there over and over again! Huge thank you to danawry and Miguel they really made our holiday! Make sure when you go to say hello to them their a brilliant laugh and really make your holiday complete! Wouldn't of been the same without them!Amazing photographers ! Just the best holiday you could ask for with the best people!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annyadurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Be Live G, Gerente at Be Live Collection Marien, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us, through this web site.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

We thank you for your kindness comments, wish are very important for us, since they helps us to improve on our services.

Please receive our warm regards from Dominican Republic, has been a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
1.3 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
1.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,355 reviews
8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Collection Marien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Collection Marien

Address: Carretera Luperon, Km. 4,5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £63 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Collection Marien 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Collection Marien is an all-inclusive 5-star resort in Puerto Plata, located in the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. With a privileged location synonymous of beautiful settings and its heavenly beaches, it is a perfect place to spend a relaxing vacation whether it is for a romantic getaway or for a family fun adventure. The resort features a spa, nearby golf course for guests and event facilities ideal for hosting special events. This complex is located 1 hour from Santiago de Los Caballeros, 10 minutes from the city of Puerto Plata, known for its rum factories and 30 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belive Hotels, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Be Live Collection Marien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel Puerto Plata
Grand Oasis Marien Hotel
Coral Marien Puerto Plata
Oasis Marien
Marien Coral Resort
Grand Oasis Marien Puerto Plata
Be Live Collection Marien Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing