We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 1 February 2009

For the price ,not bad.Rooms were big and clean,had to be transferred to another room after 3 days of no hot water.there was a shortage of towels and no washclothes.The staff was very friendly .The food was pretty much the same and yesterdays left overs,bland .A small walk to the beach and mall which we enjoyed because the weather was great .Over all not so bad ,we had a great time .The Puerto Plata Runners excursion was the BEST !!! Yea Elvis

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank winstonnovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2009

I was a little afraid after we booked this trip and saw the reviews.

This turned out to be one of the best vacations of my life. The hotel and room were very clean. The food was o.k. The hotel staff and servers were indifferent, but once you tipped them, they had a smile for you. I was shocked at the amount of vacationers who expected the world and didn't leave so much as a peso behind.

The entertainment was decent, although we didn't see to much of it. At night, we hit some of the local public houses and clubs in the compound and had an absolute blast. The club disco was a little busted but we still had fun.

We loved the snorkeling off of Paridise Island and the rum factory. The Cascades excursion was the absolute high point of our vacation, despite the Canadian Embassy and Air Transat telling us not to go.

Tonnes of things to do and places to see. I was afraid the walk to the beach would've been a drag, but it was nice to get a little daily exercise. The beach in not as nice as Punta Cana but it's a decent beach with food, booze and a place to pee in the middle of Feb. What else can you ask for???

We didn't have any trouble with insects. The beach vendors can be a little bothersome, but you just say "no thanks" and they were on their way. I wish the Dominicans would respect their environment a little more. For that matter, I was a little disappointed in my fellow Canadians who rarely took their trash with them when they left the beach!

Great vacation! We'd do it all again too!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machineaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stayed here in 2006 because my friend and I had got a last minute deal. I would have rather paid the price for a better hotel but this place is okay if you are paying less than $800 inclusive. It rained frequently and the hotel didn't offer much to do. It was an expensive cab ride to go see any sights. The disko was a joke and there was never anyone there having a good time. Luckily we met people and managed to find things to do to pass the time. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for good nightlife. The accomodation was alright but nothing too impressive. This hotel looks nothing like the pictures on the site.. I had to make sure I was looking at the right one!
The staff were amazing. So friendy.
The food was the same buffet everyday. To get to the beach you had to either take a 15 minute walk or a five minute trolley which wasn't too bad.
There were tons of mosquitos out at night so take some Off!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingles8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Ever Ever go back this horrible place.
Food bad, bad, bad.
Room old
not restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarehamGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

We've been going to the CV village for 3 years now, every year we bring some one, the people are so nice. Last year my wife got a little sick, they helped her sooo much, thank you. I would recommend the resort to any one, the weather is terrific, the food is good and the people are really nice

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trickydicky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

If you appreciate paradise without the trims, this is the place!! Just beautiful!!...Not luxurious, but definitely a comfortable environment. The weather was absolutely beautiful and the staff were genuinely friendly. We appreciated interacting with the locals and weren't bothered by them 'taking over' the resort on the weekends. In fact, it gave us a taste of the local flavor and culture. Dominicans seem to be able to make the most of life through their music, family games and fun loving personalities. Everything we read before actually going to the resort was true....in fact - DEAD ON!..The buffet can get boring, the locals are quite plentiful on the weekends and the people pester you to buy everything from a shoe to a timeshare. However, the a la cartes were great, so take advantage of them. We loved the Italian, Mexican and Brazilian restaurants. As well, the breakfast buffet was the best of the three daily meals. We had alcohol and fruit juices galore!!...we even had midnight snacks after gulping down the local beer. Partying in the disco was lots of laughs. For what we paid, it was a fantastic experience. People complained about being bombarded by locals on the weekend, pesty hustlers and boring food....but that speaks to their own issues with diversity and assertiveness...all you have to do is say NO. I personally did not appreciate some - shall we say - closed minded tourists suggesting that the wait staff were feeding the cats so they could be in the buffet the next day. Though Canadians, our roots lie in the Caribbean (JAMAICA) and cats are not on our menu. Overall, we had a grand time and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mparrydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

What a dump! Room was horrible, had to change so did everyone else we met. Was nothing like described on the website, was not told about any locals having a free for all on the weekends. Food was rubbish, the same stuff everyday. The best part was the friendly bar staff and the waiters.

Would never go back there or recommend it to anyone ever!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank orville79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,309 reviews
0 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#37 of 40 in Puerto Plata
682 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 40 in Puerto Plata
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada | PO Box 653, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Caribbean Village Playa Dorada
Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing