We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal experience”

Wise Mountain Retreat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wise Mountain Retreat offers a unique opportunity to explore the tropics of the Dominican Republic. Our trail riding company has been offering horse tours for 28 years. We are one of the oldest in the country. Our horses are healthy and well cared for. Our trails pass through the many sides of the country. Riding into the mountains then through the river you will be in awe of the breath taking scenery. It is a peaceful and very relaxing ride that have our customers falling in love with the country as we have. Your morning starts out with fresh made Dominican coffee as we learn about your horse experience, then once we have matched your horse to your experience we hit the trails. There are stops along the way where you get the chance to sample fresh fruit from some of the many tropical fruits along the way. You will have a chance to swim in the river, it's a great way to cool off and enjoy more of the countryside. Once back at the ranch you will get to sample some fresh made herbal iced teas, using herbs grown from our garden as well as some refreshing fruit. If you chose to have a full day ride you will enjoy a delicious Dominican style lunch of chicken, rice, beans and fried plantains. Then it's back on the horses for a tour of the local village to experience the cultural side of the country. We are so excited to have our guest rooms ready for guests. We have packages now for those wishing to get a more complete horse experience. We have romantic package available for those just wanting a special evening. A late afternoon ride to see the beginning of the sunset in the surrounding hills, then back to the ranch for a romantic dinner to watch the sunset. Then a quiet evening on the ranch, in the morning enjoy a full trail ride. For those wanting to spend their full vacation around horses we have that too. We give you the chance to groom, help out with the care of our horses, ride and even get Natural Horsemanship lessons. We include all of your meals, transport to and from the airport and trips to town or the beach. We also have a therapeutic spa so you can receive some much needed healing. Please feel free to contact us if you have anymore questions or are interested in booking a package.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unreal experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We did the half day trip and I'd love to go back for the full day! Les, Gerald and the staff are awesome to deal with. When Gerald was taking us back to the hotel, he even gave us a tour of the city!!!! Riding through the base of the mountain made for some beautiful views. And we got to swim in this beautiful little pool in the river.

I can't say enough about this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Pineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best excursion we have ever been on!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Signed up for half a day trail ride and ended up staying for lunch and riding all day. My girlfriend and I have been on many excursions throughout the carribean over the last 5 years and this was by far the best experience. Got to ride through Dominican villages that were very far off the beaten path and not accessable unless you are on a horse. Criss crossed a river with the horses half covered in water and rode like wind on the river bank. This was the first horseback ride for both of us but certainly not the last. Thanks to Gerald and Leslie (winnepeg horse mother). Bring a camera and a hat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like a kid again!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We took the half day horseback trip through the beautiful hills, valleys and through the stony riverbeds. There were 10 of us, and the guides were great. The horses trotted and galloped and walked at slower paces in the most scenic areas. It was especially thrilling to go through the water on the back of a big horse-just like everything you remember from the old Westerns! You do get wet! We stopped at a deeper part of the river to take a swim. The horses were very well trained-no mishaps-except my hat kept flying off and a guide always retrieved it. This was a truly special day! Upon our return, we were served a delicious Dominican lunch and the owners of the ranch joined us for lively conversation, questions and answers and a good food. I wanted to get up the next day and do it all over again. I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethM40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayers Cliff
1 review
“Exhilirating! A definite must to see and do...”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I would like to thank Leslie, Gerald and the staff for the wonderful adventure that we had last week. Gerald picked us up at the resort and took us on a tour of the surrounding area so that we could experience the culture, people and all that was around us. Gerald's stories, details, and recommendations kept us interested throughout the trip to and from the Ranch and we will always remember and be thankful for the extra time and effort to ensure that we enjoyed our trip from A to Z. When we arrived at Rancho Montana we were greeted with enthusiasm and a warm sense of hospitality. Leslie ensured that each rider was suited to the horse they rode. The guides - well, they were fantastic (attention to safety and rider satisfaction based on experience). The scenery, experience (riding through the mountains, river, locals and their habitat) and hospitality is well worth the trip and quite frankly - the highlight of our vacation while in the Dominican. Thanks for the wonderful memories. We will be back. Ian and Michele.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Amazing time”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We paid for a half day but one of the vans broke down so they had us stay the whole day because they could bring us back half way through. The morning was a gorgeous trail ride seeing the mountains and riding through a river. We stopped at a spot to go swimming it was absolutely beautiful. We went back for lunch that was included (nice fresh food and delicious potato salad!). Then we went riding through the town for about 45 minutes then went home. Didn't have to saddle up our horses or anything it was an awesome time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wise Mountain Retreat also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Wise Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing