We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten pass experience”

Wise Mountain Retreat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wise Mountain Retreat offers a unique opportunity to explore the tropics of the Dominican Republic. Our trail riding company has been offering horse tours for 28 years. We are one of the oldest in the country. Our horses are healthy and well cared for. Our trails pass through the many sides of the country. Riding into the mountains then through the river you will be in awe of the breath taking scenery. It is a peaceful and very relaxing ride that have our customers falling in love with the country as we have. Your morning starts out with fresh made Dominican coffee as we learn about your horse experience, then once we have matched your horse to your experience we hit the trails. There are stops along the way where you get the chance to sample fresh fruit from some of the many tropical fruits along the way. You will have a chance to swim in the river, it's a great way to cool off and enjoy more of the countryside. Once back at the ranch you will get to sample some fresh made herbal iced teas, using herbs grown from our garden as well as some refreshing fruit. If you chose to have a full day ride you will enjoy a delicious Dominican style lunch of chicken, rice, beans and fried plantains. Then it's back on the horses for a tour of the local village to experience the cultural side of the country. We are so excited to have our guest rooms ready for guests. We have packages now for those wishing to get a more complete horse experience. We have romantic package available for those just wanting a special evening. A late afternoon ride to see the beginning of the sunset in the surrounding hills, then back to the ranch for a romantic dinner to watch the sunset. Then a quiet evening on the ranch, in the morning enjoy a full trail ride. For those wanting to spend their full vacation around horses we have that too. We give you the chance to groom, help out with the care of our horses, ride and even get Natural Horsemanship lessons. We include all of your meals, transport to and from the airport and trips to town or the beach. We also have a therapeutic spa so you can receive some much needed healing. Please feel free to contact us if you have anymore questions or are interested in booking a package.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten pass experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thank you for this wonderful and memorable experience!
We took a family vacation to DR in February of 2014 with out two kids aged 9 and 14. This excursion was a highlight of out trip. As we had riders of different abilities (ranging from the first time rider to an intermediate beginner), we opted for a half day ride (about 2.5 - 3 hours.) The total cost for 4 riders was $232. We rode through a couple of small villages, traversed the river at the foot of the mountain and stopped at a little swimming hole (we had so much fun jumping into the cool river from a big boulder!) We even came upon a small village school with two classrooms which we were able to tour. We had to come back the next day to deliver supplies and books as this school had about 10-15 books in their library.
To sum it up, this was totally off the beaten path, intimate and non-commercialized experience. Can't wait to go back and I would highly recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katerina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ride”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were picked up at our resort and driven to a beautiful house where fresh coffee was offered . They ask about our level of experience and matched us with horses very well suited to us. I had ridden before but my wife hadn't. We had a roughly 2 1/2 hour ride through the street, mountain and stream. The guides were great and gave us lots of info on the area. I would have marked excellent but we paid for a full day but only had less than half a day with no lunch and roughly 5 hours ride and trip to and from resort. Maybe just a mix up as they really do try to make sure you have a great time

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fender52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best adventure during our 8 day DR vacation.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In October of 2013, My wife and I were picked up at our hotel in Cabarete by Leslie and taken for a 20 minute drive to a beautiful ranch. We opted for the half day ride as I was a beginner. Our guides Charnal and Pepito were knowledgeable and fun loving leading us through jungle trails that traversed a river at several points. Our guides were skilled at assessing our riding ability and setting the pace accordingly. The ride was exciting but not too exciting. Getting to know the owners, visiting a local village during a rest sop and jumping mid-ride into a cool swimming hole were particularly enjoyable. We would definitely go again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Came for the riding, got a truly unforgettable Dominican experience.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I went for a full day's ride at the ranch, and the day exceeded our wildest expectations. We were the only ones in our group, along with two absolutely brilliant and very knowledgeable (and patient!) guides. Words don't describe the experience these fellows gave us. We ate freshly fallen fruit by a waterfall, galloped through the lush forest, had a refreshing ride through the river, and got a peek at local village life as we rode through it.

Leslie took the time to find out our riding levels (advanced for myself and beginner for my boyfriend) and horses were carefully chosen for us, each with their own spunky personality that made the ride all the more interesting.

After a full day's ride, Leslie graciously hosted us to a delicious lunch, homemade right down to the fresh passionfruit juice. We got to chat with herself and the ranch volunteers and learned about their incredible projects being planned to better the ranch and community.

We went for the riding, but what we got was an incredibly authentic, personal, and professional Dominican experience in and of itself. We would definitely visit this little gem again, and can't recommend it highly enough. It's an incredible value for what they charge, just make sure to book through Leslie to ensure that the money ends up going directly to the ranch rather than a resort!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well organised, professional - best trip in the DR!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I joined a family of 5 for the half day mountain river ride. When we arrived at the ranch the horses and colony of dogs and cats (mostly strays adopted by the owners) were wandering around freely. We were greeted by the wonderfully friendly owners - a Jamaican/US couple, who offered us coffee and gave us a rundown of the trails and plan for the morning.

The horses were very well cared for, and the guys who worked at the ranch were incredibly knowledgeable and professional. They matched us up with horses depending on previous experience and ability, then off we went. The trail was wonderful, beautiful scenery, and the guides were very capable, leading the group and helping out when needed. The kids of the family had never ridden before but were very comfortable and had great fun too, so this is a trip that anyone can take part in. We also had delicious fresh fruit, juice and water during the trip and after back at the ranch.

I really cannot recommend this trip enough, just wish we had gone for the full day now!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZDetoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wise Mountain Retreat also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Wise Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing