We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location For A Wedding *****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location For A Wedding *****”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I must say the last time we visited was 10 years ago for our wedding but it was fantastic from start to finish - very friendly staff - basic rooms but with great airconditioning! excellent choice of food even at the beach bar ! Weather was great - we had a choice of locations for our wedding and we selected the gardens as they were fantastic - horse and cart ride for the bride and groom finished off a fantastic day - hope to re-visit very soon!

Room Tip: try and get one of the villas in the gardens if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleleighjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Nos alegra muchisimo haber llenado sus expectativas.
¡Esperamos que vuelvan muy pronto para que nuevamente disfruten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    169
    120
    94
    147
See reviews for
176
150
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I have been to this country 5 times over the last 20 years. I absolutely love the people and their food. However this resort had a huge unsanitary plumbing problem which they just couldn't fix and finally after like 4 days of complaining switched us to another unit which was better but not great! The toilet didn't flush and the bathroom sink wouldn't drain. My other complaint is they claim to have 4 restaurants yet the entire time we were there (7 days) only the Buffett was open and it was pretty much the same food over and over. When I would ask about the restuarants they would say it would open the following day but they never did. Finally after complaining bec my kids would just eat snacks from their store...on the last day, they made a special dinner for us! The pool closes at 7 pm which I found very odd and the place was full of locals especially on the weekends. A bus drops them off and they take over the place. Didn't really care for that. Two more things and I'm done complaining. The maids would knock on the door at 8:30 am (waking us up most of the time) yet they wouldn't clean the room till late afternoon! And their snack store was not opened during the hours it would say it was and one day it didn't open at all! The food was mediocre at best (we went out to dinner twice which cost us about $200 American dollars each time plus cab fare bec we were tired of the same food) and the people were lovely as they always are. I recommend the paradise island tour and the dune buggy rides were fun if you don't mind getting wet! Will not return to this resort that's for sure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar.
Lamentamos los inconvenientes en su estadia que usted menciona
Siempre hacemos todo lo posible por complacer a nuestros queridos huespedes.
Ojala vuelva para que tenga una mejor experiencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I got married here recently and I must say that the service is top class!!! I highly recommend it!!!
It is very good for the price and the food is top notch. The staff are very helpful.

Kerwin

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bajandooflicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario.
Esperamos que repitan la visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I feel definitely about the rooms should modernize it a little more, in terms of restaurants is that most have to work, customer service should be more attentive to the customer, and cooks should improve a bit, but encuanto to show excellent staff, very cheerful and sociable ...... hotel structure in terms of the pool I loved it .... My recommendation to the hotel is to improve customer service ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danipego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por opinar.
Tomaremos en cuenta sus sugerencias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel was very good for the price we payed.
We have stayed at 5 start hotels in the Dominican and this measured up well.
The food was very good and the staff were lovely and helpful.
The entertainment was to be expected for the Dominican.
The only let down was the room, it was musky, damp and very old.
But we just got on with it and had a great holiday!
It was a lovely place to be at Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su bonito comentario.
Nos alegra saber que la pasaron muy bien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My expectations of Puerto Plata village was pretty high, and it got shot down quick! Reasons of why i would NEVER stay at Puerto Plata Village again:

1. Front desk service, not welcoming. No explanation of where and how the resort works. When we checked in, they handed us an envelope with a remote control, activity cards, our room key, and was told "return these items at the end or you pay for it"

2. the master suite was spacious, but disgusting. furniture was out dated. the bed was uncomfortable. there were ants in our bathroom and bed crawling around the REAL flowers they put for decoration. shower and tile floors were filthy. our phone wasn't working. lamp shades had writing and stickers on it. 2 lamps weren't working.

3. only one restaurant was open the entire time we were there. the food has horrible, all the same crap. everyday. the snack bar would open 45 mins later than what it said it would. the snack bar advertised pizza, but the cook always refused to make it for us. the only thing you can get at the snack bar was burgers.

4. some of the workers kept harrassing us to try and buy a time share with them. they made it uncomfortable to walk outside, because they would always be outside. FINALLY, one of them told us that it would only take a few minutes. AFTER we declined the time share offers, all of the workers' attitude did a complete 180. Not so friendly anymore, and became arrogant. BAD SERVICE. RUDE.

5. "all inclusive" was a joke. everything opened LATE and everything was closed at 5pm. tried to rent bikes for 3 days.... DID NOT GET TO RIDE A BIKE ONE TIME. the workers in charge of the "all inclusive activities hut" were RUDE AND ALL DISMISSIVE. not at all accomodating.

with all that said, the excursions and the little shopping we did is what MADE our trip... we had to spend an EXTRA $400 to better our vacation. we did meet a handful of GENUINE workers at the resort, but MAJORITY of them were was rude, sad to say.

The two excurions we did were the City Tour via taxi and the 27 Waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monicamariiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por opinar.
Lamentamos los inconvenientes que usted enumera.
Vuelva pronto para permitirnos superar su expectativa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

not worth the trouble, rooms are very dated. The only good thing about the place was the pool, food was always recycled, staff was nice, entertainement mediocre, the beach was far from the hotel, had to be driven there,

Room Tip: the place was very dated and so far from the beach, nothing in their ad comes close to the real deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar.
Que pena que no se enteraron previamente antes de venir de que nuestro hotel no queda en la misma linea de playa pero que tenemos un comodo transporte que repetidas veces los lleva y trae todos los dias.
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain View
Hotel Mountain View
#29 of 39 in Puerto Plata
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#7 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
0.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Property: Puerto Plata Village Resort
Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Plata Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa
Puerto Plata Village Resort Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing