We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT AS GOOD DEAL AS ADVERTISER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
La Vega, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT AS GOOD DEAL AS ADVERTISER”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Made my reservations on Line and the said children are free. I even called them and ask about children and they said they are free. Booked 2 nights and 3 days, went there and payed at the front desk, where they told me my 8 year old son was not free. They charged him the same as an adult. If I hadn't drove for over 2 hours I would have went back home. So I paid and thought we would have a good time. Well when I asked about the beach they told me to go out in front and a buss will come along and take us to the beach, only a 10 minute ride.
I have been to other resorts and the food was wonderful, here the food was just ok. I would say to check around before you coming here.

Room Tip: room was small and not cozy at all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freetimeindr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su visita. Lamentamos el inconveniente en su llegada.
Esperamos que no vuelva a experimentarlo. Retorne pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    166
    112
    92
    144
See reviews for
173
145
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Good things: Low prices, helpful and friendly employees, the view and location.
Bad things: Things missing or broken in the room, rooms need a painting and a furniture update. AC did not function. Food is below average.
If you can afford an extra $15-$20 per night go to another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kalman_Sandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su buen comentario y tomaremos en cuenta sus consejos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Plata hotels

Grenada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Like every resort, there are good things and bad. I will try to share both, but I want to start by saying this is the first time I have ever considered walking away after the first few minutes. We stuck it out because I had some things to do in the area, but we still regret our choice.

Lets start with the good. The Dining Staff is exceptional, from cooks to bus people. All of them were helpful, friendly, professional, and well trained. We enjoyed the food every meal. The service staff were quick and responsive, and they do remember your preferences after a couple of days. Nelson and Guillito (sp?) were the first people at the resort to actually interact with us and they were very helpful. Those two are probably the reason we stayed.

We must also commend Lucy, who worked to arrange tours. Although she started with offering the standard fare, she was receptive to some custom tours and new things we wanted to do. She was interested in learning about different activities and anxious to help us. We learned a lot about life outside the resort walls from talking to Lucy.

I also want to state that I think the grounds and exterior spaces are well-kept. The resort has been around a while, but the grounds crew keep it looking sharp. The plantings and lawns are well-cared for. Building exteriors are still very pretty.

However... the bad impressions came from the reception staff, housekeeping, and overall poor maintenance of the interiors. We were greeted at check-in with complete indifference. They spoke as little as possible and handed us the envelope of things we would need (towel card, remote for tv, and inadequate map). We were handed off to a bellman who whisked us away by golf cart to our room with no time for questions. Along the way there were some quick finger points of where the pool is and somewhere in the area are towels, another point was to the spa, and I think that was the extent of our resort orientation. The room was opened, lights and air turned on, and the bellman left. We didn't have time to look around or ask questions before he was gone (and it nobody could have heard a question over the roar of that air handler).

As we looked around I was at first reminded of my college dormitory room 40 years ago (not the nice ones they have now). The furniture was small but adequate, with many coats of paint (and some grime). The entryway ceiling was bulging downward from having too much condensation on it for too long... and shortly after it began dripping on the floor. The bath was cracked and chipped and painted with porcelain cover-up. The toilet seat was broken (bolt missing). The toilet was one of those that you have to flush on average three times to actually get anything to go down. The drain adjustment for the sink came off in my hand. There was one of those handy pull-out clothes lines above the tub, except that the dirty line was just hanging down broken. Upon further inspection I could see the base was dirty too, didn't retract at all, and had been taped at some point. The room overall was not clean (floor, walls, counter tops). It needed scrubbing and paint. The fire-extinguisher case outside our room was unencumbered by contents. Hallway walls were riddled with stickers.

I found my way back to reception because I wanted to get the lock for the built-in safe (really, all-inclusive but I have to pay for the lock?). I informed them of the room condition and asked to have someone look at the issues. While they called maintenance, a man named Wilson came up and told us to follow him for a tour... but reception trumped that by telling us to wait at our room for maintenance. We went back to the room and briefly a housekeeper and maintenance man showed up. Maintenance came equipped to fix the toilet seat with... a plunger. We showed them our concerns, which by then included the growing pool of water leaking from the air conditioner. We were told to wait in the room for the maintenance guy's return. When he came back he had a toilet bolt and a brand new clothesline still in the package. We waited on the balcony while he worked and were only aware of his completion when we heard the door close. Upon inspection we found the toilet seat was repaired. There was no new clothesline up, but he had tied a new end on the old one and stretched the filthy grimy line across and attached it. Line was still awful, and it still did not retract into the dirty taped up base. No other repairs were attempted.

Back at reception Wilson found us again and wanted to give us that tour. We were anxious to do so, because by that point we still didn't even know where to eat and were getting hungry. He led us twenty-feet across the lobby and handed us off to a time-share salesman. We never saw Wilson again. Timeshare guy didn't bother us too long after we told him we wanted to leave the resort. He did offer advice that our experience was not too unusual and he usually tells guests to just go back and demand to see a different room until we found one that is acceptable.

A short time later we wandered aimlessly into the buffet dining area and met people who actually know what the hospitality business is about. In other words, when they saw two tourists who obviously didn't know what to do or where to go they stepped up with a friendly smile and offered to show us their dining room. They were obviously proud of their dining staff and prepared foods and they made us feel welcome for the first time. Throughout the week we were continually impressed by the customer service of Nelson and the whole staff. I wish I could remember other names, but the man named something like Guillito was great to see every day. Our language skills and his never quite synced... but it didn't stop him from trying. His great big smile was all that was necessary in most cases. Really, the dining staff at this resort should be commended for their customer service skills. I worked in hospitality in the US for over 34 years and I wish I could have hired most of them.

So a recap... I don't think the reception staff has any concern for welcoming guests or helping them in any way. I did not get the impression that they care about the condition of the guest rooms (cleaning or maintenance). The resort was at a very low occupancy during our stay, so why in the world would they put us in their worst room? My guess is it wasn't the worst. Sad. Dining staff was fantastic, exterior grounds was beautiful, and Lucy in the tour arrangement area was a delight to work with.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SaltoSapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My second time at this resort and once again had a fabulous time. The animation team work really hard to make sure the guests are kept occupied if they want to be. No hassle if you just want to soak up the sun by the pool or at the beach. Plenty of choice with the food in the buffet restaurant. Can be quite crowded at weekends so choose carefully what time you go to eat. Would be nice if there was another choice of a la carte restaurant, maybe one that specialises in either japanese or chinese food.
Will definitely be going back to reunite with my 'old' friends!

Room Tip: Both rooms I have occupied have been more than suitable for purpose. The air conditioning works very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnR13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Cuanto nos alegra saber de ustedes y de lo bien que la pasaron.
¡Sera un placer para nosotros volver a tenerlos aca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This resort is fun-filled and offers non-stop entertainment. The staff is awesome, friendly, FUN!! Drinks are terrific, beach bar hard to retire from, natives awesome. The food is good. There was never a dull moment. The only thing we didn't like were the room accomodations; they were fair at best, and the bathrooms were small, bad pressure, funky smelling water. Over-all we would return and we loved the vibe at this resort. The grounds were beautiful! It has been about 7 years since we were there and they did have plans to renovate, so hoping for better bathrooms!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios.
Ojala vuelvan pronto para que puedan disfrutar de las renovaciones que ya hemos hecho y de las que seguiremos haciendo.
¡Seran muy bienvenidos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I must say the last time we visited was 10 years ago for our wedding but it was fantastic from start to finish - very friendly staff - basic rooms but with great airconditioning! excellent choice of food even at the beach bar ! Weather was great - we had a choice of locations for our wedding and we selected the gardens as they were fantastic - horse and cart ride for the bride and groom finished off a fantastic day - hope to re-visit very soon!

Room Tip: try and get one of the villas in the gardens if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleleighjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Nos alegra muchisimo haber llenado sus expectativas.
¡Esperamos que vuelvan muy pronto para que nuevamente disfruten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I have been to this country 5 times over the last 20 years. I absolutely love the people and their food. However this resort had a huge unsanitary plumbing problem which they just couldn't fix and finally after like 4 days of complaining switched us to another unit which was better but not great! The toilet didn't flush and the bathroom sink wouldn't drain. My other complaint is they claim to have 4 restaurants yet the entire time we were there (7 days) only the Buffett was open and it was pretty much the same food over and over. When I would ask about the restuarants they would say it would open the following day but they never did. Finally after complaining bec my kids would just eat snacks from their store...on the last day, they made a special dinner for us! The pool closes at 7 pm which I found very odd and the place was full of locals especially on the weekends. A bus drops them off and they take over the place. Didn't really care for that. Two more things and I'm done complaining. The maids would knock on the door at 8:30 am (waking us up most of the time) yet they wouldn't clean the room till late afternoon! And their snack store was not opened during the hours it would say it was and one day it didn't open at all! The food was mediocre at best (we went out to dinner twice which cost us about $200 American dollars each time plus cab fare bec we were tired of the same food) and the people were lovely as they always are. I recommend the paradise island tour and the dune buggy rides were fun if you don't mind getting wet! Will not return to this resort that's for sure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministracionPPV, Director General at Puerto Plata Village Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar.
Lamentamos los inconvenientes en su estadia que usted menciona
Siempre hacemos todo lo posible por complacer a nuestros queridos huespedes.
Ojala vuelva para que tenga una mejor experiencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
#34 of 41 in Puerto Plata
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,164 reviews
9.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Plata Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Village Resort

Property: Puerto Plata Village Resort
Address: Apartado 716, Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Plata Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerto Plata Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Village Hotel Puerto Plata
Sun Village Resort & Spa
Puerto Plata Village Resort Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing