We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel is amazing, the holiday overall was fab. The staff can not do enough for you, food is great, plenty of choice. Must go and swim with the dolphins while staying there, it was amazing. Great entertainment, kids club was brill for kids and play area, and the water sports were great too.
I have not got one bad thing to say about this holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,671
    1,744
    976
    448
    328
See reviews for
1,349
2,081
102
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This was our first time we have been to the dominican republic and the first time at a Riu club hotel. We were very impressed with the welcome received and the booking in process was well managed. We came to the resort to get married on the beach but as it happened we could not due to the rain but the wedding organiser (Maria) was very helpfull and sorted out an inside location for our service. We had to re dress for the outdoor pictures a couple of days later when the weather was better. In the 14 days we were there maybe 5 of them it rained I agree with the previous reviewers that they do not cater well if it rains with little to do. The TV in the room did have a lot of channels but few were in english so we didnt use it much. The Animation team were very friendly and we made friends with them quickly. The evening entertainment was a little bit repetative with kids entertainment then the sometimes bad singers and then the certificate issuing and then the main event! We did like some of the entertainment but a few were bad. I must admit in the evening after all the sun and eating all day it wasn't too bad going to bed early. A few noisy Canadians came to the hotel but the management soon sorted them out after oura nd others complaining. The food we could not fault it was excellent, may be a bit repettative but I ate something different the whole time I were there. The locals were let in on one weekend we were there and they did take over the place a bit but the worse people as for noise and rudeness I found were the Canadians. The shop street we called 'lookie lookie street' we went down a few times to go to the photographers but the shop keepers were persistant in trying to get you in the shops so it was not a walk we relished having to say no to all them each time. We took an indipendant taxi trip into the city one day ($60) and had the guide to our self all day, he was very knowledgable about the country and took us on a tour of local sites, buisnesses etc and into town, I would recomend a trip like this to see what the organised tours dont show you. We made use of the other hotel as the shops were better and had more choice but the 3rd hotel was all shut up and looked a bit of a sorry state. The english contingent were refreshed every Thursday from Gatwick and Sunday from Manchester, then other days from Germany Canada etc. We went through Thomsons and the local reps (Vicky and Jose) we could not fault, they were most helpfull and were always on hand to help, As for the staff in the hotel, restaurant, cleaning staff and management, they were friendly and very helpfull.
In conclusion we would return again to this hotel and go through Thomsons again.

Room Tip: A room near the reception is good but try to get one facing away from the entertainment area due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Some aspects of this hotel are 5*, others, a mere 2*. It's a hotel that tries to please everybody but what pleases some, really annoys others.
Check in could not be better. 10 mins after getting off the transfer coach, we were in our room. Reception was like a well oiled machine. After being awake 24 hours that was a welcome relief.
The room itself is what you would expect at a 3-4*. It was of satisfactory size for two people, a little dated in appearance but immaculately clean. The cleaning staff would be welcome at any 5* hotel.
The accommodation blocks themselves, I nicknamed ' Toy town'. There are 15 of them, each with about 30 rooms. Each block is painted in pastel colours of either green, blue, peach or pink. The view from our balcony was a view into somebody else's room. The TV in our room was of 2* quality and had about 20 poor quality channels, only one or two in English ( American). You may be wondering why that should be a problem on a Caribbean holiday. Well, whilst we were there, it rained non stop for 3 days and there was little else to do.
The mini bar in the room, is a 5* idea but only 2* quality. Air con was very good and a welcome relief to the 30C+ heat. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was very powerful.
Our accommodation block was about 3 minute walk from reception and restaurant. Great when the weather is fine but you get soaked when it rains.
The food was of a very high quality for buffet dining. Many people on trip advisor say that the food is repetitive. There is a proportion of the same food. However, I didn't have the same meal twice in 14 days. There is so much and lots of choice.
The waiters were 5* quality. They had eyes in the backs of their heads. As soon as your glass was empty they were behind you with a carafe of the same drink you had previously ordered. Some people complain about the birds in the open air restaurant. Unless you have a phobia, the one or two birds you see caused no problem.
The chefs make immaculate melon sculptures every day which they put on display. A nice touch for a 5* restaurant.
The A la carte restaurants( Italian and Steak) were OK but limited to a choice of 3 meals. The food was cooked well and made a nice change to be waited on. They are nothing like Italian restaurants or even traditional Beefeaters in England.

There is a corridor between the restaurant exit and main reception.Without jumping fences, this is the only way out, and once or twice a week there are various stalls of local products. It made me feel awkward when I had to keep saying " No thank you."'.

I had mixed feelings about reception. Usually, there were about 3 people on duty. Each morning, they are supposed to print the local days weather and when I asked to see it, they pointed at yesterday's. I tried to explain and after about 15 mins they reluctantly printed that days weather which took about 10 seconds.
Wi-Fi was a bit of a joke. Most people have some kind of device to keep in touch with the outside world but on the odd occasion that I managed to connect, download speeds were really slow. Reception told me there were too many users. Next day I went to reception at 6am, couldn't connect and the staff said I must have a faulty 2 month old I-pad. Everybody I spoke to had the same problem.

During the 3 day tropical waterfall, they only opened the outdoor bars. Which meant, to get a drink, you had to get soaked again. Although the bars themselves were covered, they could only cater for about 40-60 people.
They were very reluctant to open the indoor bar. There was little or no contingency for bad weather entertainment. I have been to several 3 star hotels where they offer indoor activities or numerous large screen films or sport channels. Walking into town isn't an option. 10+ miles each way. A taxi would be £30. The shop in reception was smaller than most village corner shops and very expensive with limited choice.
A few minutes walk from reception is Caribbean Street. About 20 shops with shopkeepers sitting outside trying to sell useless tat, waiting to pounce. I walked down it once but felt so awkward, I didn't do it again.

The animation team worked hard all day but the entertainment wasn't up my street. It was school playing field games combined with dance routines most 9 year old girls would make up. It is a shame because they are intelligent, fit and capable of a lot more if they were given the opportunity.
The evening entertainment wasn't for me neither. Live music was 2 locals singing karaoke and pretending to play guitar or keyboard. A few amateur dancers and was no more than 2* entertainment.

A lot of people on trip advisor complain about the locals being allowed to use the hotel at weekends. I'm no exception. They were loud, dominated the swimming pools, pushed in at the bar and even though tongs were provided to serve all food, some pilled up their plates using their hands!.

During a 14 day stay, 5 days were dominated by locals due to bank holiday and 3 days lost to heavy rain and thunderstorms.

Part of the problem with the hotel was the guests. The proportions were ; 1/4 British, 1/4 American, 1/4 Spanish speaking and 1/4 German. Pardon the maths but there was a tiny minority of Eastern Europeans.
After a few days, I soon realised, that if you tip certain people, you can get more than other guests.
For example, a particular German couple had the same beds and palm tree type shades reserved every day no matter what time they arrived at the pool or another couple that reserved 6 beds in different locations depending on where the sun was. If you complain to the management, they don't care because they don't pay their staff well and seem happy for holiday makers to top up their wages with tips.
Also, if you tip well, you seem to be able to get away with all the " Do Not ....." Signs that surround the pool. Smoking at the swim up pool bar was OK for some but not others.

To summarise, the hotel was clean and tidy, the food was good. Waiters, chefs, bar staff and cleaners in general were excellent. A lot depends on the weather as there are activities you can't do when the beach is red flagged.
I probably wouldn't go back only because I never tend to go back to the same hotel.

Paul & Tanja

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul192Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

it is close to where we were staying at the Riu Merengue.

Did not like the idea that the guest were allow to smoke everywhere.

Helpful?
7 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

just arrived back from the riu bachata, was pretty average to be honest..... rooms are tiny,food repetitive, animation team a bit strange mostly just lazing around doing nothing.... NO KIDS POOL! locals gate crash every weekend take over the bars pools and restaurant! then steel your kids toys! there also quite rude... theres not alot to do if it rains..... and the prices at the resort shops are a rob! can honestly say were happy to be home! expected a better experience for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelnjabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was our 2nd time in this lovely hotel, we enjoyed it the 1st time very much & it was as good 2nd time as well. Food excellent & staff very helpful & pleasant. Mini bar re stocked every other day in room with 2 bottles water, beers @ soft drinks. Optics of gin rum brandy & vodka refilled as well. Did the jeep safari very interesting made so by the guide, who told us the history of the island. Free Internet in public areas sometimes not a very strong signal though. If you go on the beach the waiters will even bring drinks to you there & they have a drinky drinky man going round on his bike replenishing your glass. Went with other family members who said they would Definatley return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 278maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

A choice of eating in a different venue.Very close to our hotel,the other side of the path.Food was of a good standard and staff very attentive.

Helpful?
4 Thank NinjaFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,315 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,969 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing