We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice for a multi generation family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Scotch Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good choice for a multi generation family vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

While it's certainly not in the category of a luxury resort (either in amenities or price), our family of 12, aged 16 mos to 67 yrs, had a lovely week!

The property is beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are large enough to be comfortable for a family of four, and both the beach and pool have plenty of shade to protect sensitive skin. I loved that we never had to do the early morning scramble to get beach and/or pool lounges!

The food is mediocre and repetitive, but we all seemed to find something to eat. There is always chicken, fish, and pasta that is perfectly acceptable. This is not a place you go for the food.

The liquor is probably watered down. You would really need to consume a lot to get tipsy, but since this wasn't our goal, it was fine. The kids really enjoyed to no-liquor frozen drinks. The in-room refrigerator needs to be refreshed more often, they claim every two days, but that didn't happen. We had to refill our bottles of water from the bar.

The staff is really outstanding, and genuinely tries to accommodate whenever possible. Of course there's the occasional sourpuss, but for the most part they were great. We were celebrating a special birthday, and the staff made sure that our table was decorated with balloons, and brought a lovely cake with celebratory drums and singing. Special thanks to our waiter Antonio, who always tried to provide whatever was needed with a pleasant word and a big smile.

Overall I will say that if you are looking for an affordable all-inclusive for a large family, this is a great place. We all agreed that we would definitely do it again!







Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Skfmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    1,713
    960
    442
    324
See reviews for
1,331
2,043
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a fab time when i stayed here for the 5th time, staff are great work very hard to make your holiday one to remember. food is good and also a seafood resturant 2 mins away if you fancy eating out, met some great people and cant wait to get back next year x

Room Tip: most rooms are the same with a spanish feel to them, very clean, bar stocked up , great veiws and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is our 3rd time to Riu Bachata and I must say it has gone downhill on a number of fronts. First, early in the first morning and for the remaining week we were there, we heard this constant banging that actually shook the resort grounds. It turns out that they are building a harbour right next to the resort and were driving pylons into the seabed. Not sure why the management did not inform people, upon booking, that there would be heavy construction that would wake guests at 6AM! Every morning! Second, not to seem snobby but the clientele has really gone downhill. They used to have a dress code for dinner. Not anymore. People touching food with their bare hands when utensils were readily available. There were a number of DR gang members, tatooes, etc, staying at the resort. However, the supporting staff are absolutely fabulous and have nothing to do with my concerns. My complaints are with the management and the running of this resort. We will not be going there again. Spend a little bit extra money and go to a quiet, well-run resort. If you want quiet, the company of a different type of clientele, then go to another resort. If you want to drink at an inexpensive place and act like a slob then this is the place to go to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Resort managers and service desk representatives are very unwilling to accommodate guest and Americans tourist trying to resolve resort issues. Although four people are allowed per room, the beds are small for two normal size adults making sleeping arrangements difficult with two people per bed. According to resort policy, one rolling bed can be requested as an extra sleeping arrangement. However, I had to beg and plead in order to have one placed in my room. The food is repetitive and boring except for breakfast which is actually good. Drinks are very watered down. Cleaning service is not great. The resort only provides 2 2-liter bottles of water ever two days. So be ready to go all the way to the service desk to beg and plead for extra water as I did. Overall, my stay as an American tourist with my family at Riu Bachata resort was terrible. I'm not sure what happened. I was there in 2012 and had a wonderful time with no complaints. I am from New York, not of Dominican nationality and hope never to be part of Riu Bachata resort again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Hotel, food, rooms, service and location was ok. Beach wasn't best beach where I have been and in the water was plenty of sea urchins.

This is good place to relax, but this hotel got lot to do, if they want to became best hotel in Caribia.

Room Tip: Room with seaview was exelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jampuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have travelled to many resorts in Mexico and Dominican. We had a great time but I would not come back to Puerto Plata. I am a beach person and this was not the resort for a beach vacation. The beach is fully covered with palm trees, you have to walk to the next resort to get sun exposure. The beach is rocky and not the crystal clear water you would find in Punta Cana for example.
The strong points; great staff, clean and well maintained grounds. Nice pool and bar. Great views of the mountains.
Weak points; The food was pretty bad... I am not a "foodie" and yet I was really disappointed.
The beach was a let down.
Would stay in a Riu resort but not this specific location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunandfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have already visited the Dom Rep twice before, staying at the Grand Ventana & The Victoria, and have stayed at many Rius in the Carribean & other world-wide locations, so thought we knew what we would be getting from this holiday. To start with the positives - the staff were excellent - friendly, attentive and ,in the majority very helpful; the rooms & public areas were kept spotlessly clean & the grounds were very well maintained.Our room was on the whole quiet and the maid did an excellent job. The mini-bar, however, which was supposed to be re-stocked every 2 days was only restocked once, on day 5, after we complained twice to reception & then to the Thompson Rep, who got it resolved. The food was OK - a bit repetitive & we were only there a week! The A la Carte restaurants we were able to use as often as we liked, but again the menus were limited and the Italian Restaurant served either beef, chicken or salmon steak with vegetables for main course (not very Italian) & the dessert of what was supposed to be Tiramisu was nothing more than gateaux! The wine was simply unpalatable & all ofhhte drinks were watered down local beverages - the Gin & tonic tasting like Soda water (we were not, I hasten to add, alone in this opinion). We had read about the locals converging on the hotel at the weekend & so booked a horse riding trip to Rancho Lorilar to get us away on the Sat and had a WONDERFUL time - Jotyce & Angel were 2 of the nicest people we met all holiday & we cannot recommend or thank them enough! We were pleasantly surprised to find the influx did not occur on he weekend & so thought the rest of our stay would be just as peaceful - but Oh! What a mistake! On the Mon several coach-loads of locals with their families arrived for a Hairdressing Convention!!! The pools were imposisbel to sit by as there were nothing but screaming children running riot ; the restaurants were promptly emptied of food as soon as it was put out & it was almost impossible to get served at the bars.Luckily we walked the 15 mins down the beach to the Meringue Village Pool which was blessedly quiet for the majority of the day until the locals discovered it in the afternoon with their screaming ill-behaved children, at which point we gave up & left! I am very sorry to say that this experience has meant we will not be returning to the Dom Rep again & we certainly will never book a Riu Club Hotel again. This is supposed to be a Thompson Platinum hotel with a 5 star rating - NO WAY! Having stayed all over the world in genuine 5 star hotels (e.g. Traders, Kuala Lumpur) I think we are in a position to be able to judge & this is, at best a 3 star. If you want to go away to somewhere where your children will have a good time, then go here; if you want a tranquil holiday with some mental stimulation, don't go here. One last thing - The Thompson Dream Liner - don't bother paying for Extra Leg Room seats as although you have extra leg room the actual seats are narrower than normal due to the in-seat table, there is nowhere to put your magazines etc & if you have the middle seats, other passengers use this as a thoroughfare to the toilets!

Room Tip: Don't stay too near the bar or entertainment areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diersett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,288 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,800 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing