We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yin and Yang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Generally speaking the overall experience is Good. The ressort is attached to the 2 Riu Merenghe that can be acess and where you can eat during the day (other than dinner). That give more alternative and action during our stay.

Beach: orientation north/west, many palm trees create shadow. Not a sandy beach and some rock/coral. The right side of the beach is more interesting.

Food: good but a bit repetitive. Wine is terrible! A la carte resto are ok but you need to reserve earley (7:00) if you want some place.

Staff is great and always caring of the guess.

The place is clean and well maintain.

Cons : there is works in the bay and they hammer the pole from 6 am. This should be resolve soon since the works seems advance.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sylvian_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,513 - 2,519 of 5,440 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We looked on this review before we travelled and were concerned in regards to the locals coming into the hotel at weekends, plus we couldnt speak Spanish. However, this wasnt a problem as all this talk was just fabrication, just like some of the conversations we had whilst we were there between 17th Nov-2nd Dec.

We enjoyed our stay, all staff were brilliant, Wilson topping up our minibar daily, Gigi keeping us entertained in more ways than one, Soto and Jean Carlos topping up our drinks, Traci and Angelina showing us how to grind, very impressive.

The beach wasnt a beach you would expect to find in the Caribbean, full of rocks etc.

Pool bar was good, bet great people some who had a smashing time, not to mention the Essex girls.....

All in all a nice place, with nice staff who seemed to go out of there way to help us.

I would reccommend this hotel and will remeber this holiday for a long time thanks to Kel Bells, Smasher, Nikki, Nic and DIONNE.

GREAT JOLLY BOYS OUTING!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheJollyBoys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just as wonderful the second time round. We first stayed here in November 2011 and returned 1-17th December 2013. Sad that there was just 1 original member of the Animation team but great to see so many familiar faces among the bar and waiting staff.
Room was clean and comfortable, maid service was daily. Grounds very clean and well kept. Restaurants good with ample choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent cocktails from the bar and all-inclusive optics in the room. Plenty of activities throughout the day.
Main beach as beautiful as I remembered from the first time; sad to see the smaller beach is being transformed, but I am sure the new marina will bring new adventures.
No issues with the locals at the weekends; I found last time that a big deal was made of this too but didn't affect us on either visit so you should take the negative comments about this with a pinch of salt.
Beautiful views and friendly staff all round, we will definitely be making a third visit!
Would thoroughly recommend the following trips as well: Outback Safari, Dominican Night and Ocean World.
Riu Bachata (Animation) is very, very good!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500 block have views of the smaller beach (stayed in 515 the first time). Room 414 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LWhiskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The management staff lacks manners and respect towards the guests. I was actually insulted by one of the public relations person and wonder if they are mean and irrespectful to other guests.
I won't come back never ever again and will not recommend anyone this hotel. Lower staff seems to be unhappy, food is repetitive and if you want to make reservation to have dinner in one of the alternative restaurants they always tell you it is already full. Literally, you will have to wake up at 7 am to book which is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GINATO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went to the Riu Bachata just after school started again for the fall. And thank goodness! On the weekends, it would get crowded, and the weekenders would hoard food and be unhygenic by letting their children pee on the side of the pool to avoid the hassle of using the toilet.

Pros: The size or Riu Bachata is nice for family reunions or group of friends. Everything is within a good walking distance. The lively entertainment was entertaining to watch. They had a different show for each of the 7 nights we were there. The ocean was nice temperature. Beach chairs plenty. Free wifi daily is a plus. The weekends were livelier for the activities and entertainment because there were more people. They had lots of activities during the day to try to get people involved.

Cons: Food was okay. I rank 3.5 out of 5. It was good, but lacked variety, and the dessert needed work. The best thing at the dessert bar were cookies, and that says something. They need to close the doors to the dining hall. Open air is nice, but really gross if birds start standing on top of food or flies are around the fruits.
The nightclub was dead during weekdays. Drinks were extortionary prices. Not worth it.
The steakhouse was good food. If you order steak you get a decent size meal. If you order chicken, or pork or cheaper meat cuts, you will end up with a gigantic meal.
The italian restaurant food was overcooked and dry the night that we went. we ordered fish.
The outlets in the hotel rooms required a special plug you could rent for $2 USD deposit(which you would get back if you return the plug). However when you returned the plug, they would pay you back in dominican pesos that ended up being less than what you paid originally. They said it's because they didn't have US dollars. In that case, I could have just exchanged the money and give them in pesos, but they insisted on US dollars. Shady.

The beach is fine if you stay towards the middle, but if you decide to get too close to some coral there are sea urchins. Bring watersocks if you have any.
IT IS NOT 24 hour All-INCLUSIVE. At least not when we were there. There was no snack bar open after 11pm, and you had to walk to Merengue. Not a big deal, but considering Riu Bachata was supposed to have its own snack bar, it's annoying. Also during the daytime, when the restaurants closed in the afternoon (3-5:30pm) to get ready for dinner a snack bar is supposed to be open, which it wasn't.
Also I contacted Riu 2 times about this and received no response. I have traveled with Riu before, but probably will not in the future. There's just better resorts out there for the same price.
Don't waste time or money at the Caribbean street. Prices are 200% more expensive than what you would pay if you head to the market that is to the left of the Gazebo. First you walk towards the Gazebo/Cliff keeping the fence on your left. Then You will see a sign for some kind of reptilian market. Head down those stairs. Then the shop keepers will flock and try to get you to walk into their store. They have jewelry, cigarettes, alcohol, that are close to prices what you would buy in town.

Visited August 2013

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

While it's certainly not in the category of a luxury resort (either in amenities or price), our family of 12, aged 16 mos to 67 yrs, had a lovely week!

The property is beautiful and well maintained, the rooms are large enough to be comfortable for a family of four, and both the beach and pool have plenty of shade to protect sensitive skin. I loved that we never had to do the early morning scramble to get beach and/or pool lounges!

The food is mediocre and repetitive, but we all seemed to find something to eat. There is always chicken, fish, and pasta that is perfectly acceptable. This is not a place you go for the food.

The liquor is probably watered down. You would really need to consume a lot to get tipsy, but since this wasn't our goal, it was fine. The kids really enjoyed to no-liquor frozen drinks. The in-room refrigerator needs to be refreshed more often, they claim every two days, but that didn't happen. We had to refill our bottles of water from the bar.

The staff is really outstanding, and genuinely tries to accommodate whenever possible. Of course there's the occasional sourpuss, but for the most part they were great. We were celebrating a special birthday, and the staff made sure that our table was decorated with balloons, and brought a lovely cake with celebratory drums and singing. Special thanks to our waiter Antonio, who always tried to provide whatever was needed with a pleasant word and a big smile.

Overall I will say that if you are looking for an affordable all-inclusive for a large family, this is a great place. We all agreed that we would definitely do it again!







Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank Skfmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a fab time when i stayed here for the 5th time, staff are great work very hard to make your holiday one to remember. food is good and also a seafood resturant 2 mins away if you fancy eating out, met some great people and cant wait to get back next year x

Room Tip: most rooms are the same with a spanish feel to them, very clean, bar stocked up , great veiws and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,450 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 40 in Puerto Plata
4,002 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,581 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £87 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing