We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AC did not work in rooms, poor quality food even at restaurants, low quality alcohol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AC did not work in rooms, poor quality food even at restaurants, low quality alcohol”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The wine came from a keg, and while I knew top shelf alcohol was not included I did not expect the quality to be so terrible. Beach, pool, and buildings were pretty. After this experience I will never stay at the Riu brand again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TORA6-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    1,746
    978
    448
    328
See reviews for
1,351
2,084
102
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Overall, the trip was good. Warm weather, pool, beach, who could ask for more, right? We go away every year for New Years, but this I'm afraid was my least favorite :-(.

Staff/Check-in: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check-in quick and uneventful. Most of the staff however speak little to no English. Thankfully my husband is fluent in Spanish, so we were able to get by. I think that the hotel could use more bi-lingual staff, particularly as the large majority of guests are English speaking.

Room: Spacious, up to date, very clean. Shower was very good for a tropical island. Air conditioning did not work well at all. Other guests had the same problem.

Food: Eh. As with most all-inclusives, very repetitive. It was ok. I wasn't impressed to be honest, but was not a show-stopper.

Pool and Grounds: Beautiful, well maintained, very clean. Too many palm trees though, hard to find sunny spots. Plenty of loungers however, but the good ones are claimed by 6 am.

Bar staff: Very friendly and fun. Again, not many speak English, but we had fun nonetheless. Be careful of the island drink called Mamajuana - yikes! It sneaks up on you :-)

Beach: Lovely, clean, but like the pool, too many palm trees. Hard to find sunny spots.

My biggest complaint on this trip was the New Years Eve celebration. We've been going away now for about five years, and this was my least favorite. In other resorts, they really outdo themselves and change things up from the ordinary. At Riu, they had two separate dinner seatings (6:15 and 8:45). Those with the earlier seating ended up sitting around for hours until the party started (in other resorts, it's one big dinner for all). They also didn't do much to change it up other than to put out fancy tablecloths and force men to wears pants. Dinner was still in the usual buffet spot, with only a few extras. In other resorts, they moved the entire venue to another spot (like around the pool), so you felt like you were somewhere else, and would really change up the menu and made it fancy. Then the evening continued with the routine evening stuff they did every other night. They had a band finally, but it was all Spanish music. (Other resorts bypassed the usual evening stuff and had a band and DJ so the guests had an assortment of music, and were dancing like crazy). That did not happen here. Most sat around, except for those who danced Merengue and Salsa. Then, shortly before midnight, they started to introduce the staff (downer). Not that I don't appreciate what the staff do, but not on New Years Eve when we are all looking to celebrate, dance and have fun

Overall, the resort was pleasant. This is my second time here, but we stayed at the Riu Mamba. I remember we weren't thrilled the first time either, but gave it another shot. It's not awful, by any means, but I don't think I will be going back any time soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babymaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First the good: Hotel is spotless, lovely grounds and very good staff.
The so -so: food is more than just edible, but is rather repetitive - one week of it is more than enough. As in every hot country I have ever been to, desserts are completely tasteless (jelly and ice cream good though). Main buffet is a bit of a mad scramble. It is quite badly designed in that diners move at a snails pace round one long counter, canteen style, even though there is a second buffet counter with a smaller selection on the other side of the dining room. Food in the two a la cartes is pretty poor to be honest, but they make a change from the main buffet. The beach is very shady, which might be ideal for sun-sensitive folk. Over Christmas the hotel was extremely busy with lots of local arrivals, but they caused absolutley no issues whatsoever, unlike the bloke who was very keen that we all knew how keen he is on reggae by having it blasting out of his backpack as he strolled around. The animation team were a lot less pushy than at other places I have been to.
The bad: at 5 am on New Year's Eve morning the whole hotel was woken up by tremendous and earth shattering rhythmic banking. Yes the pile driver in the next bay was at work. Not only is the construction noise bad enough, but I cannot imagine the eventual cruise liner dock can do anything other than ruin the hotel. Cruise ships are massive - I can't see how their coming and going will do the Bachata beach any good. Ok we were only disturbed this noise on our last morning, but trust me, it is so loud you won't be able to ignore it.
Sorry if this review is too negative; overall we did have a nice holiday. But: I've been to better all-inclusives (in the DR) and for me the cruise liner dock is a deal breaker, whether its being built or (possibly even worse?) when it is finished.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheffchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Generally speaking the overall experience is Good. The ressort is attached to the 2 Riu Merenghe that can be acess and where you can eat during the day (other than dinner). That give more alternative and action during our stay.

Beach: orientation north/west, many palm trees create shadow. Not a sandy beach and some rock/coral. The right side of the beach is more interesting.

Food: good but a bit repetitive. Wine is terrible! A la carte resto are ok but you need to reserve earley (7:00) if you want some place.

Staff is great and always caring of the guess.

The place is clean and well maintain.

Cons : there is works in the bay and they hammer the pole from 6 am. This should be resolve soon since the works seems advance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvian_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We looked on this review before we travelled and were concerned in regards to the locals coming into the hotel at weekends, plus we couldnt speak Spanish. However, this wasnt a problem as all this talk was just fabrication, just like some of the conversations we had whilst we were there between 17th Nov-2nd Dec.

We enjoyed our stay, all staff were brilliant, Wilson topping up our minibar daily, Gigi keeping us entertained in more ways than one, Soto and Jean Carlos topping up our drinks, Traci and Angelina showing us how to grind, very impressive.

The beach wasnt a beach you would expect to find in the Caribbean, full of rocks etc.

Pool bar was good, bet great people some who had a smashing time, not to mention the Essex girls.....

All in all a nice place, with nice staff who seemed to go out of there way to help us.

I would reccommend this hotel and will remeber this holiday for a long time thanks to Kel Bells, Smasher, Nikki, Nic and DIONNE.

GREAT JOLLY BOYS OUTING!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheJollyBoys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just as wonderful the second time round. We first stayed here in November 2011 and returned 1-17th December 2013. Sad that there was just 1 original member of the Animation team but great to see so many familiar faces among the bar and waiting staff.
Room was clean and comfortable, maid service was daily. Grounds very clean and well kept. Restaurants good with ample choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent cocktails from the bar and all-inclusive optics in the room. Plenty of activities throughout the day.
Main beach as beautiful as I remembered from the first time; sad to see the smaller beach is being transformed, but I am sure the new marina will bring new adventures.
No issues with the locals at the weekends; I found last time that a big deal was made of this too but didn't affect us on either visit so you should take the negative comments about this with a pinch of salt.
Beautiful views and friendly staff all round, we will definitely be making a third visit!
Would thoroughly recommend the following trips as well: Outback Safari, Dominican Night and Ocean World.
Riu Bachata (Animation) is very, very good!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500 block have views of the smaller beach (stayed in 515 the first time). Room 414 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LWhiskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The management staff lacks manners and respect towards the guests. I was actually insulted by one of the public relations person and wonder if they are mean and irrespectful to other guests.
I won't come back never ever again and will not recommend anyone this hotel. Lower staff seems to be unhappy, food is repetitive and if you want to make reservation to have dinner in one of the alternative restaurants they always tell you it is already full. Literally, you will have to wake up at 7 am to book which is ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GINATO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,990 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing