We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Bachata :not a five star:”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas, food and drink OK but had problems trying to book for Italian & Grill restaurant, had to be at breakfast at 07.00 to have any chance to book it. Also facilities could be used by next door Riu Merengue, this caused a problem with sun beds and lunch time eating, always too busy.The building work (in the bay-new harbour) could be heard all over the area, sometimes from 05.00 till late, thank goodness for Christmas, they had a couple of days off.

Room Tip: Try and get room near reception, block 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerhackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,477 - 2,483 of 5,411 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have left writing a review about this hotel till now because I wanted to see the outcome of my complaint to Thomson. I have been less than impressed by the service I have received from them. You might as well not have the reps as their only worth seems to be to sell excursions. When we arrived at the Riu Bachata it was obvious that building work was happening in the bay next to the hotel. My room was on the side of the building and we had a lovely view from the balcony of the building site. This work turned out to be happening 24 hours a day except for a brief lull on Sunday afternoons till early on the Monday morning. I complained to the rep and asked to move, even upgrade to another hotel but he told me there was 'Nothing he could do'. Later when I found out from another guest that I had to get a form from the rep for the complaint to be valid when I returned home, I went back to the rep who seemed amazed that he hadn't offered me a change of room. Very selective memory I think. By then we only had three days left - one of them a Sunday - so it didn't seem worth the upheaval. We also had no warning that the swim up pool was to be painted with the subsequent noise and dust from that caused. To avoid all of this we spent as long as we could at the other Hotel
The Riu Bachata itself would have been ok considering how much we paid for the holiday. Not the best food, drink etc but then I didn't pay the best prices for it. Just avoid it for the next few months.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Yes, it's not Ritz Carlton, but you don't get anything for the money you paid. Everything is terrible. Food itself, presentation, service. Very rude personal. Dirty pool. New Year Eve was completely ruined. We used to love Riu very much. Complete disappointment with Riu Bachata. I think it was our last vacation in Riu resorts.

Room Tip: Junior suite in building 1, make sure 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nanochka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you are looking to simply get away from the cold weather, the Riu Bachata is exactly what you need.

The place is spotless, the room meets basic needs. The food is great. The pool area is covered in sun the entire day. The beach is nice, setting aside the fact there is little sun due to the abundance of palm trees. The alcohol is by no means the brand names you find in NA but does the trick!

No real or substantial complaint. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JapanFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is not the Ritz Carlton, so if you're expecting top quality accommodations, service and food this is not the place to go.

The best features of Riu Bachata are: (i) the palm-lined horse shoe beach which is absolutely beautiful and every one else goes to the pool; (ii) the staff keeps the resort spotless; and (ii) the assortment of the buffets - you can always find something reasonable to eat.

The biggest drawback are: (i) absolutely horrible drinks; (ii) the ocean is shallow - especially at low tide - to the point where you can't really swim and there are rock / corral formations that are very sharp - now this makes shoreline fish watching easy, but a bit treacherous; (iii) the electronic infrastructure - e.g. wifi (it simply does not work), lights, AC, TV.

One cool thing is that people from all over the world come which makes interactions colorful and fun. On the other hand, due to limited service, crowd behavior is a bit like Animal Planet or a European ski lift line. You will have to tolerate a lot of very rude people.

We had appropriate expectations and had a nice time.

Room Tip: It is worth paying up for Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is clean and the room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly, especially in the dining room and the grounds were lovely. The pool area has plenty of loungers, but the best ones are usually gone early, saved by the pool attendants for the holidaymakers that they get friendly with. A bit annoying if you get there early enough, yet some guests could choose to stay in bed till lunch time and still come down and get the best beds. We all pay the same money so should be first come first served. The food is hit and miss. Some days it was okay but there were times when the meat was so tough it would have been easier to chew your way through a flip-flop. The flies were a real problem and nothing was done to keep them off the cold food, so salads, cold meats, bread and chilled desserts were always covered in them. Also, although the dining room is inside, there are birds flying around looking for scraps. So although it is clean you have to be prepared to share meal times with the local wildlife. The entertainment was just awful. There were no professional acts brought in, everything was put on by the resident entertainments team. There was an evening of local dance, which really was just a lot of bottom wiggling. A couple of days later was an African evening, which was more bottom wiggling....with drums! The evenings they didn't dance, they mimed very badly to sound tracks. Some evenings it was games, where some unfortunate guests got dragged up onto the stage to humiliate themselves for everyone elses entertainment. This was my first stay at a Riu Hotel, and probably my last if this is what to expect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The wine came from a keg, and while I knew top shelf alcohol was not included I did not expect the quality to be so terrible. Beach, pool, and buildings were pretty. After this experience I will never stay at the Riu brand again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TORA6-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,424 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,924 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,552 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £89 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing