We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just arrived back from the Riu Bachata on 25 March 2014 and had a marvelous time. We travel all over the world and never stay at the same resort twice but I would consider returning to the Bachata! There were all different Nationalities and the place wasn't over run by the rude Que. personalities. The weather was perfect and the resort was nice and compact so there was limited walking and stairs. There was plenty of loungers both on the beach and around the pool. The staff were the friendliest yet and it wasn't because they expected a tip! The resort itself was extremely clean and well manicured. The room was spacious, clean and well up kept. The food wasn't bad except they really overcook the meat selections. I guess better safe than sorry. There was always great salad selections and plenty of fruit. Breakfasts were the best and we always over ate! No it would not be considered a 5 star to Canadian or American standards but for the price I would give it a 5 star Caribbean standard. Loved everything about it and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Agingtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    1,781
    997
    453
    332
See reviews for
1,405
2,120
105
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Got back from the RIU Bachata on March 25, 2014.
First off I'd like to say I travel twice a year and this is my 4th visit to a RIU resort. It does not come close to any of the RIU Palace resorts so don't expect a luxury experience. This resort is very compact with minimal walking or stairs. It is well maintained and very clean.
Check in and check out was very fast and organized.
My room was always clean and I never saw any bugs, not even an ant. I felt the air conditioning was very poor. It was set 16C but felt like 24C which explained why you don't get a comforter in your room. . The water pressure in the shower was great. I was on the second floor in the 800 block. The mini fridge was stocked only every 2 days.
The pools are nice with lots of entertainment during the day but get your chairs early in the morning or you won't find one. They allow people from the other 2 resorts to use our pool which makes it too busy.
The beach was nice with lots of trees for shade with a breeze all day long. What was nice was the waiter service while on the beach.
The buffets were ok not great. You will always find something but you won't be wowed. The a la cart restaurants are a waste of time, stick to the buffet. If you want a midnight snack or go to the disco you have to walk about 10 min to the Merange next door.
The night entertainment was ok but I think the younger you are the more you will enjoy it. If you don't like watching the shows you can go to the casino. It is very small with a few tables and about 10 slot machines.
I'm not a drinker but I was told by everyone that the drinks were not very strong.
The staff all seemed to be very helpful and pleasant with smiles always on their faces.
Money exchange was done at front desk. Canadian $1 = 37 pesos, US $1 = 42 pesos.
If you want to go to the cable cars its a lot cheaper to take a cab for about $10 (there are vans that can fit 6 people for the same price) and then pay about $9 each to get in. You will save yourself lots of money doing it this way.
If you want to go shopping in town, take a cab from the hotel and the driver will take you from store to store and stay with you the whole time. On the price board at the hotel it will say $20 one way and $35 both ways but you can haggle the price. We always paid $20 for both ways.
If you are depending on the free internet they offer, you may want to make arrangements with your phone carrier from home and get a package from them as the internet hardly ever works and when it does it is extremely slow and you only get 90 min a day and you must use them at once.
All in all I feel this resort is a solid 4 star. You get nice clean rooms with liquor dispenser, the resort is very well maintained and clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, you won't starve, and the weather is great.
I've read other reviews of people complaining about things that I truly don't agree with but maybe they don't travel much. I've been to the Dominican about 8 times now and for Puerta Plata this is a decent resort. If you are looking for luxury resorts then book in Punta Cana.
If anyone has any questions, I'd be happy help you out.

Room Tip: I was in room 817 and it was a corner room that faced the pool and entertainment bar. It was super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 184Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It's rated a 5 star but it's a 3 at most,we always stay at Riu's ,but I'm sad to say this resort was the lowest end,I can't say enough about the workers they are wonderful and hard working and that's about all I would give a 5 star,it did serve the purpose of a week of sun but we will not be returning,by the end of the week I could not eat the food anymore and I never complain about the food on our trips,the drinks were no better,as said before it saddens me to write such a low score.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erica d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Overall this is a fun and affordable resort and my friends and I had a great time during the week we spent there. It is meant to be a five star resort, but that is definitely an exaggeration - it is more of a 3/3.5 star. Still, for the cost, I would absolutely recommend it for a fun and relaxing week away.

Okay, so the food is not great - bland with not much daily variety, always stale bread, and two pretty disappointing a la carte restaurants. But even the food was tolerable, the breakfast was probably the highlight for us. At the Italian restaurant the (only three) menu items are pretty horrible but the appetizer buffet was decent, especially the calamari!

The rooms were nice, spacious and clean. The grounds of the resort were clean and tidy, well maintained. The pools were also nice and clean. Overall, all the facilities felt like they were always being taken care of and cleaned. The beach was not the best - it is not the white sand and pure blue sea beach that you see in pictures, it is darker sand and water, but it still acceptable. We just chose to spend the majority of our time at the pool.

The best part of our experience were the staff members! We had so many positive experiences and interactions with many of the staff members at Riu Bachata. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and always friendly. The same staff members are always around and it is easy to get to know them all. We saw smiling familiar faces every day. The entertainment can be a bit cheesy, but it was actually lot of fun! There is something happening every day pretty much at all hours. The entertainment staff were a lot of fun, full of energy and always around!

The location is not terribly close to town, it is a bit of a taxi ride, and there is not much else in the area beside the Riu compound. There is some shopping on site, but it is just the generic tourist stuff.

Overall, I definitely recommend this resort if you are looking for a relaxing and fun week away without having to spend too much money.

Room Tip: We were in the 1300's block and the rooms were quiet but still close enough to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamstoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Thought it was time to write our review on our wedding/honeymoon at the Riu Bachata.

We stayed for 2 weeks in Feb 2014 and enjoyed every single second there. We can not fault a single thing.

Check in is quick and easy and your bags are taken directly to your room for you. We stayed in room 722 and it was spotless, We had a lovely view of the gardens and wasn't to close to the bars etc to hear noise.

Food was great, plenty of choice and never made us ill (which is all anyone wants to know).

Staff were lovely and helpful. For a little tip they will go that extra mile, for example there was 19 of us in total and the waiters in restaurant always did there best to get us all sat together. We loved the entertainment staff, some of the shows at night were brill some not so but you can go over to the merengue instead if its not to your taste.

The only negative thing, if you can even say that, is you have to get up early to get a sunbed as they soon get reserved.

The wedding - What can i say, it was the most perfect day of our lives. Maria the wedding planner did a fab job with it all and everything ran like clock work. We got married on the beach and had our meal in the steakhouse. The hairdressers and photographer are fantastic and i would highly recommend them. The flowers over there are stunning.

I would without a doubt go back there.

Room Tip: We could fault block 7, but i would defo ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank weaver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we stayed here from the 27th of october to the third of november,the hotel itself is very clean and welcoming the moment you step into it.When we first arrived at our rooms our first impression was they were ok nothing special but average although they were especially clean.The staff are brilliant and really make this hotel a special place they are always there to give you a helping hand.The food was average the same everday which after a while got quite boring.The pools are a lovely place to sit back and relax in the sun and the swim up bar was excellent and the workers very friendly.I think our highlight of our holiday was the beach it was amazing, and the sea was brilliant too but the beach is not a good place to sun bathe due to the trees causing shade. overall the riu bachata is a good holiday but not worth a lot of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the RIU Bachata over March break and had a wonderful time. We had a junior suit, ocean view, which was spectacular. A few small issues with room itself, since we were the furthest away from the resort, we had no water from 4:30pm-6pm-ish on a daily basis...other building did not have this issue though. Also our bathroom door was broken so when it was fully closed, my daughter and i got locked in for 45mins...the staff has to break to lock but were very apologetic. Besides that, everything else was great. Staff was wonderful, food was good (I'm vegan and had lots of options). The resort is a four star, not a five (even for the Dominican).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvanhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,367 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,771 reviews
172.9 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing