We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like a drink don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you like a drink don't bother”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the Riu Bachata in September 2013. The resort is well presented. We went all inclusive and the food was very good. The accommodation was also clean and well presented.
Only two minor issues. If it is a rainy day,there is no point watching TV in your room unless you speak Spanish. Also the holiday companies push the free drinks in the all inclusive deals. This is a con as the spirits ion the resort are cheap local rubbish and the beer is awful. Tasted like alcohol free. Two cans of Stella are allocated to each room each day.
So if you want to relax in the sun and you are not worried about a drink it is a great place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    1,746
    977
    448
    328
See reviews for
1,350
2,084
102
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel claims 5 star, Thomsons say 4-1/2 star, but really should be 3-1/2 star, although aspects of the holiday was exellant. The good= excellant gardens beautifully kept, very clean rooms and very relaxing atmosphere. The bad= Food not as good a quality as other Riu hotels. Food is cooked and cling filmed well before it is required, causing the food to dry out. Meats are overcooked and have a lot of grissle. Went to the Steak house ( Speciality Resuraunt) steak was wafer thin so chef was not able to cook medium rare, so it came out as it was cooked. The Ugly = 70 black Amercians came for a wedding, their behaviour was totally unacceptable, swearing, shouting, fighting, (At one point) and smoking in the swimming pool. Police where called to sort them out and with the support of the hotel management, they managed to restore order.
Fair play to the hotel manager he kept a high visual presence at all times of the day and spoke to all guests. If you want a relaxing holiday and not too bothered about basic food this is as good as other Riu's.One word of note- they are building a jetty for cruise ships at the rear of the hotel. ( Sea View) so dregging the channel and banging stakes in for the foundations 24/7, but will be completed Christmas.

Room Tip: Do not book an Ocean view if you sleep lightly, as the work in the channel will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Omg! I feel in love with this place. I went for 3 days with my uncle and my mother and EVERYONE had fun. my mother did horseback riding and we did scuba diving. And now we will go to this resort once a year because of the wonderful experience that I had!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckyGotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just back from 2 weeks at this great hotel. The room was large nice views and a good bathroom. Drinks replenished every two days though water always available at reception and the 4 optics in the room was an unexpected touch.
The staff are very pleasant and were not tip hunting as some people have said, drinks were excellent and the grounds pools beach etc are all 5 star.

The only area that let the hotel down was the entertainment and the compare who just liked the sound of his own voice. Every night they gave out certificates to who ever had won table tennis etc which was of no interest. The shows were amateurish and the long winded act of the man laying on a bed of nails and eating light bulbs just seemed not right with children in the audience.

They have a duet who play the organ and sing, only she don't sing it is totally out of tune and at times they don't seem to know the English words to songs. They even killed a beetles song making it unrecognisable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StanWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dominican Republic is absolutely beautiful and the trips that we did made our holiday excellent. The hotel however, although the pool area and beach are beautiful, the food and staff let the place down. The food is disgusting. Very little choice and very poor hygiene. Too many visitors to the hotel make it like a school canteen. Everyone we spoke to while we were there was very ill from the food. Everyone who had booked and was on our coach back to the airport cheered that we were leaving the hotel. We received a £400 refund from Thomsons but felt this should have been more. Think twice before booking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Our first long haul holiday.
The resort is beautiful with several swimming pools and a long private beach. The room was excellent. Cleaned daily with fresh sheets and the large (king size) bed was very comfortable even for my 6'3" frame. Bathroom and shower was also well presented with plenty of hot water when required. The room was airconditioned which on its own would have been inadequate but the ceiling fan circulated enough cool air to make the environment comfortable.
A mini bar in the room was stocked with 4 optics dispensing rum brandy, vodka and gin. The fridge kept the fresh bottled water (replaced every other day along with the alcohol) 2 cans of Presidente beer, soda, tonic and Cola chilled. A small room safe was handy for our valuables too.
Food was available all day between 2 restaurants. The quality was very good considering it was all inclusive with plenty of options for all tastes and diets.
Drinks were the usual spirits, liquors and hot/cold beverages. The pool side bar was fun offering shade for most of the day.
Entertainment was provided at regular intervals throughout each day with poolside events, the usual darts, crazy golf, aerobics etc. The staff were first class! Always keeping us entertained, very friendly and helpful.
Reception staff were always on hand to help whether at the desk or via the phone in our room.
There were several excursions available (at extra cost) which helped to break the daily routine in the complex. We chose the day trip to Santa Dominica (Dominican Republic capital city) but the bus was rather uncomfortable and the 3 hour journey proved a trial of endurance. The Puerto Plata tour was better with a trip up the mountain in the cable car, a visit to the rum factory and several stops at retail outlets.
Ocean World was ok but I'm not a fan of captive animals being used for entertainment. There is the option of swimming with dolphins and nurse sharks, an assortment of tropical birds, lizards and a performing sealion which I felt so sorry for. He didn't look in good condition at all.
Scuba diving, jet ski's, wind surfing, snorkeling are among the water sports on offer too.
The one thing that surprised me was the abject poverty the Dominicans were living in. We never drove through or saw any affluent areas. The slums around Santiago, Santa Dominica and Puerto Plata were depressing. I didn't realise how poor this country is.
Over all the holiday was excellent although we won't be returning, mainly because 2 weeks is a long time using the same facilities without having the option of going 'off camp' for some food/entertainment every now and then. With the level of poverty outside the complex being so poor it would be madness to venture into Puerto Plata without chaperones.
The weather was red hot but very windy which actually helped make things a bit more comfortable. Humidity (especially after a rain shower) was suffocating at times and those pesky mozzies took no prisoners. Anti Hystermines along with repellant helped tremendously.
Overall the holiday was excellent and the flight, in and out, on the Boeing 787 Dreamliner was very comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Popduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked for the riu meringue , but got moved to the Bachata so was a little worried, after staying at the meringue last year, but we couldn't fault it the staff are fantastic can't do enough for you , the food was very good , day time activities very good and a great way to meet people and have a good laugh, only downside for us was the evening entertainment which could be better, having said that holiday overall was very good, so don't be put off by negative reviews about this hotel,,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nigel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,989 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing