We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Heavens Coral(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Mambo(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
Sunshine Hotel(Puerto Plata)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,622)
Filter reviews
5,622 results
Traveller rating
1,816
1,904
1,078
474
350
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,816
1,904
1,078
474
350
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbikini barevery other daytwo weekscaribbean streetanimation teammain restaurantmini bardominican republicthomson repswater shoesmeringuegreat holidaythemed nightsplenty of sunbedssister hotelparadise islandsafe key
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,444 - 2,449 of 5,622 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and my partner returned from the riu bachata on the 11/6 after spending 2 weeks having an amazing holiday. We stayed in room 122 and had an upper floor sea view, which we requested two weeks before our holiday. It was really everything we asked for. The rooms and the hotel including the gardens and pools are maintained to a high standard, the staff are all so lovely and work very hard to keep it that way. We were worried about the food and the construction work after reading some bad reviews, seriously there is nothing to be concerned about. There is so much food of every description that we could always find something lovely to eat, we ate at the al a carte once for the Dominican night and it was beautiful, but really there was no need to. The animation staff work their socks off (remember the word socks they wear the loudest most colourful ones they can find)to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves. The entertainment is hit and miss, some of the shows were amazing and some mediocre, but we enjoyed just sitting making friends with lots of lovely people we met. The excursions we did were paradise island, Dominican night out, and shark and stingray encounter at ocean world. I would recommend all three. Paradise island was just special, the speedboat on the way there and back was unbelievable, worth the money just for that, but the bit in-between was really something else. The Dominican night out was fun from start to finish and ocean world was fabulous, we went for the shark and stingray encounter but you get to spend the whole day there and watch all the other shows, dolphins were something i will remember always, the sea lions were really funny and the tropical birds were very clever. You will not be disappointed with this holiday, take no notice of the bad reviews, the Dominican republic is a beautiful country with beautiful people who work very hard to make your holiday special. The construction work is hardly noticeable (we went out of our way to go and watch it, very interesting actually)we very rarely heard any noise from it. Big thank you to Freddie, Antonio and all the animation team, but especially Gigi (hilarious)we will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank renemartinreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Beautiful hotel. The grounds and hotel room were immaculate. The wait staff and bar tenders (Antonio and Tulie, in particular) made our visit even more enjoyable. The activities staff were energetic, enthusiastic and were one of the highlights of our trip. GiGe, Spaghetti, Scooby, DeDe, Tyson, Sexy Belly....we miss you already. Whether you wanted to stay busy all day or just relax, this resort had it all. The nightly entertainment was fabulous.

Con: I got out of the pool and walked four steps on the pool deck to my lounger, when I stepped on glass. The reception desk couldn't be bothered at all. They gave us the wrong directions to the medic building, never asked where the injury occurred to make sure that all of the glass was in my foot as opposed to still on the ground, never cleaned up the trail of blood from the pool deck to the lobby. In general, couldn't be bothered. NOTE: Don't get hurt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaigeBakken66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We read the reports - ‘poor hotel - basic’ ‘crap staff - unwilling’ ‘watered down drinks – short measures’ ‘hit and miss food - bland’ ‘construction noise from new carnival port’ ‘entertainment average’ etc etc But we went ahead and booked

What did we find? The Riu Bachata was a really good, well worth the 4*+ rating. Really we should start with the new Dreamliner from Manchester, nice, roomy and away on time. (if I’ve got a whinge it’s form filling – “you only need a blue one but at customs you’ll need to fill out a white one, if you fill that one I bet there was a 3rd then a 4th Ha!!)

When we arrived, The Riu Bachata was just what we’d Xpected and the weather lived up to Xpectations – yes it rained twice but not long enough to get their brolley out and it was super warm for the 14 days. Check in was easy, taking minutes while you have a drink and pick up your room envelope. Pools are lovely and you can (if you wish) use the Riu Merengue and the old Riu Mambo pools, plenty of beds, it was the sun shade brolley’s they could do with more of, our 14 days didn’t get towels on unused beds – for that reason?

Rooms, smart and clean, clean sheets and plenty of towels. No charge room safe, free. Fridge (partially stocked) 4 optics (you could have a choice of spirits) BUT would sooner have a kettle and tea/coffee than the 4 optics BUT you’re only minutes away from getting some (reception/restraint front) - good and hot, well the coffee was!! How much time do you spend in your room, not counting sleeping anyway?

The hotel grounds (all the complex) was always being worked on by the garden staff and they kept the waste bins empty – don’t know where they produced all them coconuts from as it was end of season but they got a laugh when turned into cocktail holders + painters were always around colouring!! Staff, will all speak

Breakfast, owt you wanted – never seen omelettes that big anywhere before – from juices and smoothies to the full breakfast, if you didn’t get what you wanted or enough, then your fault (you’re the guy who carried it) Ideally look first, see what you fancy, then get a plate, if ‘it’s gone loiter for a couple of minutes another fresh lots coming’ so you know it’s warm
Lunch, same, owt you wanted, it was whinged ‘doors should be closed’ we sat outside, happy that it was warm, oh yes and some people fed the birds
Evening meal, same, owt you wanted, etc plenty of choice. YES, it’s true you get some dishes over again BUT the choice was good each meal time. YES, it’s the same all over the world – do you get or Xpect 14 different dishes every 14 days? We don’t at our house
Specials – the steak house was snapped up every time, the other 2 had spaces to reserve, better for UK and USA guests I suppose to steakhouse? But read the menu – especially if you want French fries with your steak

Beach front, again plenty of beds all along the shady ‘tree line’ but pick your beds carefully, well used, parts missing or broke but even the Riu Mambo beach bar was still kept open (Riu Merengue was too) Ha!!
Get in the water just to cool or snorkel and you’ll be surprised how calm it really is, first impressions are people will drift miles on then airbeds but they don’t move away, only bobbing up and down
The new Carnival port, one morning we did get ‘pounding’ only for a short while, suppose some weeks could/ must be noisier than we heard – for me the tug with a barge to empty and bring back was just a different set of photo’s to get, meaning ‘noise happening in the new Carnival port was minimal’

Entertainment average – NO WAY!! The animation team are mad but really really funny, more people played darts than watched football, prizes YES ‘in the pool’ Ha!! The team work from pool ‘keeping fit’ and ‘games’ into the night and the shows with a touch of rehearsing between and mix and dance with everyone

Oh but the TV was bad – it only showed England losing Ha!! The Italian lady who went round the English supporters with tissues when Italy scored their second goal was my ‘move of the 2014 world cup’

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms – some were 3 floors Bring/use water shoes if you must Food, loiter or wait for fresh/warm, cooks are not long Thermal cups – hot/cold are brought Take own/preferred tea bags Leave the odd dollar – it’s worth it and appreciated
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3633tonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I never normally leave reviews however after reading what some people have written about this hotel I felt that I had to. My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Riu Bachata and can honestly say we were very happy with what we got for our money.

The airport - Our flight was on time and we collected our bags very quickly after landing, as soon as we walked through the arrivals doors we found the Thomson rep and were shown to our coach which left promptly for our hotel.

Check in - Once we arrived at the hotel we were met with a drink and led to a table to give our names and collect an envelope containing our room and safe keys, a map of the hotel and our luggage sticker, this worked well as there was no queuing at the desk for ages. We put our room no. stickers on our luggage and went off to find our room. The hotel porter bought our luggage along to us about 10 minutes later and we gave him a small tip.

The room - The room was very clean and a nice temperature due to the air-con and ceiling fan. we had a mini bar with 2 beers, tonic, sparkling water, diet pepsi and pepsi in and 4 optics of Rum, vodka and Gin (one more but I cant remember what it was) There was a flat screen tv which only had a few english channels, I dont go on holiday to watch tv in the room so this didnt bother me at all. our bed was 2 large singles pushed together, everyone has different preferences to bed comfort but I slept like a baby every night. The shower had decent power and the hair dryer was ok. We had loads of coat hangers and storage space. We had a ground floor room and never once did we see any bugs other than a couple of hungry mosquitos. One night we got in at midnight and the air con unit was leaking. I rang reception and they turned up 5 minutes later to fix it. they then called us the following day to make sure everything was ok, which it was. The room was cleaned every day, mini bar stocked every other and towels replaced daily also.

Food - We are not fussy eaters but I can't see how anyone would struggle here.. For breakfast you could have, eggs pretty much however you wanted, bacon, salad, pancakes, smoothies (the spinach, cucumber & pineapple was lovely) salad, cheese, breads, pastries. For lunch we always ate in the snack bar and there was always, burgers, hotdogs, pizza and chips, salad, chicken, rice, breads, and a meat dish. there was a drinks station with, coffee, wine, beer, soft drinks and water. There was always desserts and ice-creams although some days it wasn't as frozen as others. For evening meals we ate in the main restaurant, we never struggled to find a table and the waiting staff came straight over to offer ice water, beer and wine. There was a couple of themed nights, dominican, mexican, chinese. There was nearly always a huge paella with loads of seafood in. The salad was always really fresh and all the food was refilled well before it got empty.
We ate in the steakhouse one night and would recommend the fillet, my boyfriend had the rib-eye and it was quite fatty. They would have changed it for us but he wasn't that hungry so we didnt bother. On a few days they had beach bbq's, magicians, street partys etc. which were also good.

The pool - There was 2 pools close together and there were plenty of sunbeds. the beach is literally 10 steps away again with plenty of sunbeds and very clean. You get a towel card on check in so you can change your towel whenever you want. If you lose it they charge you $20 but ask your rep before you pay because they all have spares. be aware, if you chose a sun bed by the towel hut you will by the speaker that they bring out at around 10:30am and again at 3pm for the club dance, it's very loud but not on for long. we didn't really bother with the pool bar as it got pretty crowded as there is only about 5 seats.

The bars - you are never very far away from a bar or a drinks station so you wont go thirsty. Some of the drinks (cocktails and mixers) were a bit too sweet for me and i didn't like the wine (i did see a lot of people drinking it so must have just been my taste) There is a lot of choice and they will also serve you something that isn't on the list if they have it in. You get plastic cups in the day and glass at night.

Entertainment - I always find the entertainment team very similar in each hotel but Gigi & Spaguetty really made a difference to our holiday. The daytime activities need to be taken with a pinch of salt.... mini golf is a ramp with a hole in it, bowling was throwing limes at 3 pineapples and those talked into playing darts were having to do press ups and jump in the pool if the missed however if you join in, or watch you will find yourself laughing along. The evening entertainment was ok, they had a dance troupe in for the shows and they were ok, the chicago show was actually good, albeit a bit sexy for any children watching, the other half loved it however! We went to the Merengue on the evenings (the hotel next door) which was quieter and had mainly locals in, especially on the weekends. we didn't find them rude at all as some people have said, in fact quite the opposite.

We only paid £700 each for our holiday so we got a real bargain but we wouldn't have been disappointed if we'd have paid more as we really enjoyed it.

Don't buy anything off the stall men that come in once a week as the shops at the merengue hotel sell everything a lot cheaper, try not to even walk passed them as they can be very pushy.

Room Tip: we were in room 1403, we didn't here the work going on at the other beach so can't comment on that. our room was in a good location but no room seemed that far away from the centre. some people we got talking to emailed the hotel directly and asked for a sea view and got this.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoJo2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the Riu Merengue side and were glad we did as the pool was a lot quieter. However, the room was in desperate need of a facelift and new electrics - extractor fan didn't work and the fridge was so noisy we unplugged it (then too scared to plug it back in as the socket sparked!). But the staff were lovely, the food cooked perfectly (loved the fish selection) and the choice of bars was good. But I won't be going back or to any other Riu hotel based on this experience.

2  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews