We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value for money ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time here, staff were a great laugh and food and drink was fine apart from the beer that was dreadful. Hotel next door was better for late night drinks, it had more of a foreign feel as it seemed all us English people were put in bachata. Beach was great much better than in the photos, to be fair the reality was much better than the photos lead you to believe. Very happy and great value for money. Secluded beach on other side was great if you're happy to just throw your towel down.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Sam2015Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,219 - 2,225 of 5,412 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from staying here for 2 weeks for my wedding. I had a brilliant time, the staff are so friendly, the complex is always being cleaned, the beach is nice red flag near the Bachata rocks but is yellow flag closer to the Merengue so can swim. Two large pools always sunbeds no need to reserve although people do. Different food in the buffet every night so good variety, ate at the steakhouse, italian and caribbean whilst there, all nice but my favourite was the steakhouse. I made use of the Merengue and Merengue Village (Mambo) the mambo is quiet with only the pool and bar being open in the day, the Merengue was really busy but was good in the evening for a change of scene. We did 3 excursions whilst there - Paradise Island, worth doing good snorkelling. Ocean World, swam with Dolphins which was brilliant! Teleferico (cable car) - good views of Puerto Plata, take a taxi and go yourself rather than an organised tour. We also went to Sosua beach for the day which is crystal clear waters and white sand, nice little shops and restaurants to choose from.

My wedding was fantastic from start to finish, Maria the wedding coordinator is amazing and does everything for you. We got married on the beach in late afternoon, so relaxed and laid back, lots of photos afterwards from the photo shop on caribbean street they do different packages to choose from. Our wedding cake tasted so nice i couldn't fault a thing. The weather was good all 2 weeks it rained once at about 11pm and lasted less than a minute! Also Dindo the Thomson rep was fantastic and always willing to help.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank roxanne2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 29/06-14/07/14 the trip from the airport was short and pleasant great bus driver and very smooth ride, we arrived at the hotel and were given keys for room and safe (free here) had a great time food excellent and entertainment was great, wonderful staff at the bars and restaurant always happy to see you and with a small ($5) tip service was great. Rooms clean and aircon worked well beach was great with open sun or shade, plenty of sunbeds never had any problems grounds were clean and well kept. Don't listen to other reviews this hotel offers a great service and lives upto the 4* rating would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with friendly warm staff.

Stayed: July 2014
9  Thank Litefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was in a lovely setting with hotel rooms in three storey blocks spread around the complex giving it more of a village feel. There were two large pools and the beach is two minutes from the pool. Hotel rooms were large and very clean. Only complaint on the room was that the balcony looked out onto another neighbours balcony so no view but wasn't really a problem.

Staff were fantastic from the entertainment staff to cleaners they never stopped and you could tell as the resort was immaculate. Nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment on an evening was excellent.

Food was very good, the buffet changed every day for dinner and there was always plenty of choice. We ate at the steakhouse and Italian which were both very good but we were just as happy in the buffet. I don't think anyone would struggle to find anything to eat.

The only downside of the resort is the Mosquitos which were horrendous but this is the Caribbean so you have to expect it but just come prepared.

I think about 95% of the thomson flight from Manchester were staying here so I imagined check in would be a nightmare but instead they had everyone's room keys ready in envelopes for you to pick up and a welcome drink so no queuing which was a relief.

There isn't much to do outside of the resort so if your looking for a relaxing and enjoyable break this the place for you. I went to have a look at the cruise terminal being built- I noticed no noise of construction although it's a shame it's going in as it spoils the view.

There was free wifi in the lobby but it was very slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank WearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my husband went here in March 2014. The weather was lovely, it did rain a few mornings but once the sky's cleared it was beautiful. The rooms were clean and spacious and the maids came in daily! The mini bar was filled daily as we're the optics! The food was nice but did become repetitive towards the end of the holiday! The steak house was nice defiantly worth booking! We didn't really venture out of the hotel as we simply went to relax! Only let down was that it was spring break in America so there were a lot of young Americans taking advantage of the all-inclusive, if we had know it was spring break we would have re-thought our destination!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

in april this year my daughter got married at the bachata all my familey and friends went 24 of us and we had a fantastic time The wedding went with out a hitch on the beach all set up well it was a great day food everything could not fault the day .
The holiday was perfect the staff were great the hotel was very clean the drinks were great the food was excellent .
Now that thomsons have stopped the locals coming into the bachata and make them use the merengue the complex is great we will return I have been to this complex twice before and love the place
The faults were thomson did not tell us that there would be dreadging work going on for the liners coming in not sure if this will be a good thing or bad time will tell
make sure you lock everything up dont no if i trust the beer lads had a couple of run ins with them
All in all a fantastic time and a great wedding

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank alangail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second year staying at this resort and we love it.... In fact already planning next years trip! The staff are first class; they work SO hard but are so friendly and great with kids. The food is great..lots of variety and you can book al a carte also which is fab! The complex is immaculately kept by the gardeners and cleaners. All waiting and bar staff are so efficient and nice. If you are into water sports, fishing or a boat trip then look out for Rami from Scuba Caribe (he has a desk in the reception) he is the nicest person I think I have ever met yet!
If you have booked to come here you will have a FABULOUS holiday and if you haven't booked yet-you should!!!

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Fairy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,426 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,925 reviews
9.5 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,553 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range: £89 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing