We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
York,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family in Riu Bachata 07/07/14-21/07/14 and we had the best time!

Cleanliness-very clean, the maids do a fantastic job of cleaning the rooms and always leave nice little decorations such as towel models. Cleaners are always cleaning even when the area is spotless. However there is sometimes flies around the salad but it is a Caribbean country so that is expected.

Location-beautiful! The hotel is right on the beach and the beach is lovely. It is nice and shady and the sea looks amazing. The red warning flag was up the majority of the time we were there however the sea is much calmer nearer to the meringue. The hotel is relatively close to puerto plata centre however we never took that trip.

Rooms-they are lovely and cool, the fan is very good! The beds are quite hard but I still slept very well every night. There are TVs in the room however there was only 3 English speaking channels- MTV, home&health and CNN news. We were barely in the room but the time we spent in there we couldn't fault.

Food-the main buffet was delicious! There was themed nights which mean there was a large variety of food- Dominican night, Mexican night, Chinese night and more! The beef in the buffet was my favourite. There was also 3 restaurants which required bookings. We only tried the steakhouse and it was amazing!

Service-the restaurant workers do their job well however they could be more friendly and talkative- it is definitely true that they give much better service if you tip! The entertainment team are FANTASTIC! They work such long hours for such little pay. They host activities during the day such as minigolf, darts, water aerobics, horseshoe, crazy games and bingo- from 10am until 5pm. At 8pm they return for the mini disco and night show. We got especially close to spaguetty whom is so funny and amazing and we miss lots! We also got close to Tyson Gigi kitty and Betty boo!

We got back home a few days ago and we are already looking to book for next year!

Do not listen to any bad reviews our holiday was 'excelente'!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bethy1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    1,772
    990
    453
    332
See reviews for
1,386
2,113
104
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Arrived back two days ago from a two week holiday at the riu bachata. First impressions when we arrived was a very clean and spacious reception area which was good. We were allocated rooms in block 8 which we emailed for prior to arriving but in hindsight maybe we should have asked for rooms further away due to the noise from the bikini bar and the entertainment from the stage area it goes on well past midnight. The rooms on a whole are basic but clean. Food was average and repetitive. There were themed nights in the buffet restaurant too, however there was only a small section of the buffet area that was open, it was way too small to accommodate the amount of people that was in the hotel and large queues did form, other food stations were closed and not used. The pool area is really nice with lots of sunbeds but guests do get up early to reserve their beds. The beach is ok, just ok, and it gets very windy and the sand is blown about, the sea is clear at times and also murky at times but you can still snorkel if you like. They are still doing work on the bay round the corner for the new cruise terminal and even though it is quiet most of the time you can still hear it on occasions. The hotel in my opinion is not worth the money we paid for it and is certainly not the 4☆plus platinum that thomson is advertising it as.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nu-ne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Bachata from the 6th-20th July, We had a really lovely time!

We have stayed in a Riu hotel before so we knew what to expect. The staff, animation team, cleaners and bar staff were absolutely great! They were always happy to help!
The hotel and the grounds were gorgeous!

In terms of food you have the main restaurant (buffet) me and my boyfriend found it was lovely, we had something different every night. however we travelled with a fussy eater and she said it got a bit "Samie" and started to get bored of the food. If you won't experiment different foods I can see it would be boring having pizza every night but we tried everything at it was all delicious!

There is a Steak house and an Italian restaurant. Both beautiful!!! I would recommend the fillet steak with peppercorn sauce (so tender) and also the masala steak from the Italian (it has a sweet sauce) both really lovely! The Italian restaurant doesn't serve pasta or pizza's as a main, it's more meat and fish, however there is a hot and cold buffet to start where u can get pizza and pasta!

The staff were constantly cleaning around the hotel and always seemed happy to see you!
We went to Paradise Island and it is what it says! We got the speed boat over to the beautiful island and spent 2.5 hours there enjoying the gorgeous snorkelling experience and the fresh fruit and drinks included. The fish were just lush!

They take both U.S and Dominican Pesos. We took pesos as we thought it would be better for the staff when they went back to there homes to spend they didn't have to change U.S back. We usually gave about 250 pesos as a tip to the bar staff it works out about £2. We didn't tip every time we got a drink but after a few tips they came to the table and took your order :-)

We made great friends this probably made the experience so much better but I wouldn't fault the hotel it was a lovely 2 weeks away!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just got back from the Bachata where my daughter got married all I can say is that the setting was beautiful and a special mention to Maria the wedding planner was amazing . The hotel was really nice and very clean , food was good always plenty of choice . The staff were fantastic they worked so hard and always with a smile on there faces Patrick , Yahaira, Rene ,Angel to name just a few were fantastic also a mention for the animation team who kept us all entertained day and night and who can forget Davidson for the amazing wedding photos he took to capture my daughters special wedding in paradise . So ignore any negative reviews a holiday is what you make so in the words of Dindo make sure it's Excelente .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bella34_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time here, staff were a great laugh and food and drink was fine apart from the beer that was dreadful. Hotel next door was better for late night drinks, it had more of a foreign feel as it seemed all us English people were put in bachata. Beach was great much better than in the photos, to be fair the reality was much better than the photos lead you to believe. Very happy and great value for money. Secluded beach on other side was great if you're happy to just throw your towel down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam2015Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from staying here for 2 weeks for my wedding. I had a brilliant time, the staff are so friendly, the complex is always being cleaned, the beach is nice red flag near the Bachata rocks but is yellow flag closer to the Merengue so can swim. Two large pools always sunbeds no need to reserve although people do. Different food in the buffet every night so good variety, ate at the steakhouse, italian and caribbean whilst there, all nice but my favourite was the steakhouse. I made use of the Merengue and Merengue Village (Mambo) the mambo is quiet with only the pool and bar being open in the day, the Merengue was really busy but was good in the evening for a change of scene. We did 3 excursions whilst there - Paradise Island, worth doing good snorkelling. Ocean World, swam with Dolphins which was brilliant! Teleferico (cable car) - good views of Puerto Plata, take a taxi and go yourself rather than an organised tour. We also went to Sosua beach for the day which is crystal clear waters and white sand, nice little shops and restaurants to choose from.

My wedding was fantastic from start to finish, Maria the wedding coordinator is amazing and does everything for you. We got married on the beach in late afternoon, so relaxed and laid back, lots of photos afterwards from the photo shop on caribbean street they do different packages to choose from. Our wedding cake tasted so nice i couldn't fault a thing. The weather was good all 2 weeks it rained once at about 11pm and lasted less than a minute! Also Dindo the Thomson rep was fantastic and always willing to help.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank roxanne2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 29/06-14/07/14 the trip from the airport was short and pleasant great bus driver and very smooth ride, we arrived at the hotel and were given keys for room and safe (free here) had a great time food excellent and entertainment was great, wonderful staff at the bars and restaurant always happy to see you and with a small ($5) tip service was great. Rooms clean and aircon worked well beach was great with open sun or shade, plenty of sunbeds never had any problems grounds were clean and well kept. Don't listen to other reviews this hotel offers a great service and lives upto the 4* rating would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with friendly warm staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Litefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,359 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,184 reviews
172.9 mi away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#8 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,714 reviews
171.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing