We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

just came back from 2 week holiday to this resort we arrived on the 13th July 2014 we were in Room 632 over looked the beach, food very good plenty to chose from, Bar staff brilliant,rooms always cleaned and prepared very friendly staff, 3 excursions done waterfalls/zip line/ horses was brill warning along walk not for the elderly or asthma sufferers, puerto plata tour was poor, cable car tour was good.
if your going for a special occasion let rep know birthday wedding anniversary

Room Tip: email them they will do what they can for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamRobertson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    1,713
    960
    442
    324
See reviews for
1,331
2,043
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I recently visted the Dominican Replubic for the first time and decided on this hotel despite some quite worrying reviews. All I can say is how wide of the mark these reviews were and that these people must of had a terrible time to write a review like that, however within seconds of being greeted by the hotel management and staff we had checked in and in our room awaiting our cases which duly arrived within minutes during which time we had already received a call from reception asking if we were happy with our room!! Brilliant holiday, great venue, wonderful staff right up from the maids, restaurant , bar and gardeners who always had a cheery smile and a good morning, afternoon or ebvening and often enquired " how are you today". The animation team were absolutely brilliant always saying hello, high five whether you took part in the activities or not and really made our holiday and this is coming from a couple of 40 somethings!! Shows were cheesy but fun and only downside I can think of is that you need to be up early to book the a la carte restaurants. Ignore the negative reviews, this is a great place for a fun holiday whatever the age

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spreads70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

went to riu bachata 7th july 2014 with family for 2 weeks on arriving at the hotel quick check in put stickers onto suitcases which was good idea but then we got an arrogant member of staff rushing us through which was rude,the rooms were very clean an towels cleaned every day,bedding wasnt changed every day but every 3 days if you wanted bedding changed you strip it an leave on the floor so maids change it which we found out in 2nd week,also in 2nd week found out if you leave tip in fridge you get xtra bottles thank you to my sister in law for pointing that out x, they live off tips especially maids,some bar staff good but likes their tips also too much if you ask me,we went their to say a fond fairwell to my mum we didnt know about going on trips to do this this so we went on a catamaran for the day we had a word with the captain an he was awesome he let us put the wreath at sea he gave minute silence by shutting music down and staff gave respect behind us,so all ime saying if your going here to say fairwell then go on catamaran,no cost.The entertainment is well what can i say (nowt much)nothing to do after you have your evening meal except drink and make your own entertainment up which my family an i did near the dolphin pagoda near the pool with english music playing of our own,as you hardly hear english music their.the weather was awesome but ime affraid they still let locals in when we were there,pool was ok till locals arrived with very young babies in ordinary nappies on so leave that to the imagination,never went in after that,beach nice but very windy,afternoon very windy indeed,the water you CAN snorkel but can get murky very quickly as the terminal being built round the corner and dumping it out at sea on horizon,not much noise from it as long as your not on outside but watching it is better entertainment than hotels entertainment if you like that sort of thing. food wise each to their own good days bad days can cue up like at school but bare in mind the plates are scattered in 3 sections near start salad part and pizza part, the waiters love their tips too much but we were told tip if they are good at their job i found them lazy us as a family had to get our own drinks many of times an we were faster so they got no tips ime affraid,overall all stay,3 star

Room Tip: dont go in room 800s plus if you want sleep,tips in fridge for xtra, strip bed leave on floor for ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was a little concerned after reading some reviews, and with it been our first time as all inclusive but can honestly say I've never had so much fun on holiday and wanted to return as soon as I was home! This place was absolutely amazing! Check in was great stickers on our suitcases for the porters to bring up and pointed in the right direction for our room. The room was spotless as well as the whole complex, I've never seen maids work so hard to keep a place tidy even sweeping up a little dust on the floor!

Reception staff were great and happy to help with whatever our request was. Drinks in the room were replenished every other day, but staff were more than happy to give us extra if we ran out. Bar staff were so friendly and always happy and very fast at serving! Waiting staff were great, one particular waiter was great who knew our order before we even sat down, he even brought fresh over before we could drink the last drop! He even tried to teach my partner Spanish (not an easy job I must say)

I can't even begin to describe the animation team, they deserve a gold medal for what they do! Working 13 hour days pretty much yet not once did they seem fed up, bored or disinterested. They were great at getting everyone involved in the activities and made them even more fun with their personalities. Night time entertainment was possibly the highlight of the holiday with a great beach party, the ideal couple and very random shows. Getting the hotel guests up for a dance to the live music was a great touch and made us feel so welcome. A special thank you to Spaghetti, Gigi, Tyson, Kitty and Betty Boo who were just great.

The food seemed to get a little boring after a while but that's probably my own fault as im not as adventurous with my food! But was all very well presented and a great range of choices on for breakfast. There was 2 places to eat for lunch which served similar things. Unfortunately we didn't get chance to try the Italian or the Steak House but heard it was pretty good.

The air con was a god send!!! (hotel weren't fussed about us keeping it on constantly)

Overall this was a great holiday and anyone looking to get a decent trip away and great value for money book the Riu Bachata!

RIU BACHATA VERY VERY GOOD!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks with my husband and had a fantastic time. All the staff from the maids up to the management are great. The rooms are kept spotless by the maids who work tirelessly everyday. The grounds are immaculate, and the management don't just delegate, if they see something that odds doing they do it. The entertainment team also work very hard from early morning late into the evening. Although the main restaurant has amazing and a fantastic variety of food, the steak house should be must on your to-do list.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently spent two weeks here on a wonderful family holiday. Our group of ten adults and three children all had rooms next to each other in block 300 on the ground floor which was quiet. The rooms were nice, clean and spacious. There was air con and a ceiling fan, at night we just had the ceiling fan on which kept us cool. The mini bar in the room gets restocked every other day but you can ask for water from reception any time. The hotel grounds and gardens were tidy and well looked after. The pool area is great. Two large pools next to each other, one with a swim up bar. Beach is amazing. There are lots of odd shaped trees growing out of the sand which give plenty of shade. The water temperature of the pool and sea was lovely, not too cold that you freeze or too warm that it feels like you are in a bath. Plenty of sunbeds at the pool and beach. Three Riu hotels share the beach (two of the three were open when we were there) and it wasn't crowded. You can take a nice stroll along the beach or on the path that joins them all. There's a nice little beach bar at the other end of the beach which you can still get an all inclusive drink from even though its the other Riu hotel. You must take a walk up to the little pavilion for a great view of the beach. The food is good with lots of choice, but as with any all inclusive it is repetitive. To overcome this just eat different things and then its not the same every time. The 'a la carte' restaurants were not as good as you would expect but are still worth a visit, especially the Italian as it is the only air conditioned dining area. While we were staying we celebrated a birthday and at dinner we had balloons on the table, and the staff brought out a cake and sang Happy Birthday which was lovely. The evening entertainment was okay. Some nights were better than others. There was a really good Michael Jackson night, and the karaoke night was fun. All members of staff from the entertainment staff to the cleaners and the restaurant and bar staff were lovely and could not help you enough. We all agreed we loved this place and would not hesitate to come back here again on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We came back last week from a 7 day stay at Riu Bachata.
Flight: SUNWING, which as usual was late departing (supposed to leave Toronto at 7:15, left at 11:15) and just before we left we were informed that it would not be a direct flight. (Stop at Montego bay) Return flight was only slightly late.
Hotel: Very nice lobby, everything clean and neat. Room assignments were ready and everything was problem free.
Rooms: Nice rooms with tiled floors, 2 queen size beds pushed together to make a large bed. Nice bathroom, but tub water would drain very slowly and hand held shower head would shoot water up to the ceiling. Called reception and next day they sent a repairman to plunge the tub and replace shower head. If you open the window or sliding door to the little veranda, the air conditioner shuts off. When the maids clean the room, they open the sliding door and our air would not come back on. I had to call for service every day, they would send a technician who would restart it and next day the same thing would happen. Even talking to the hotel manager, who allegedly sent his chief of maintenance did not fix the problem. So I would call every day after lunch to get it restarted.
Mini bar with 1 large bottle of water, 2 soda bottles, 2 tonic water bottles and 2 cans of El President beer. Above the mini bar is a glass fronted cabinet with 4 upside down self serve bottles of liquor (Rum, Gin, Brandy & Vodka) Mini Bar is replenished every other day.
Beach: Very large crescent shaped beach with lots of trees to provide shade. Lots of sea grass floats on water surface and is deposited on beach overnight. Beach sand is kind of rough and when you go into the water there is a lot of medium sized pieces of coral and rocks. Bring water shoes otherwise your feet will hurt. Do not go into the darker shaded parts of water, lots of bigger rocks and seaweed. All week they had the red flag up, and no lifeguards on duty. Lots of loungers on the beach.
There is also a smaller beach ( finer sand and less waves) to the left of the hotel just past where there is some kind of monument on a promontory (this is where they are building the cruise port) Close to the smaller beach is a small shopping area and according to the sign you can watch exotic animals (Parakeets) There is also a small pharmacy that displays a large sign advertising that they sell Viagra, Cialis and Levitra.
Food: Breakfast was very good, pancakes, eggs, cold cuts, salads, fresh fruit, freshly made fruit juices, yogurt, ham, bacon and their versions of sausage ( fried hot dogs)
Lunch and dinner were somewhat mediocre, they always had fish, pork, chicken and very tough beef, salads, pasta dishes etc, but I think they hired their chef directly from the Dominican army, and he does not want to change his recipes.
They have special nights for different countries, they had a Mexican night and a Chinese night. All I can tell you is you can get better flavors if you heat up a TV dinner. The Chinese food was really bad.
DO NOT leave your food unattended specially if you are eating at the outside veranda of the dining room. If you do you will find some food missing and little bird footprints all over your plate.
Drinks: If you are a wine drinker, do not come to the Bachata. I tried the Red wine and it tasted like bad Kool Aid, the rose wine was the same. It was kind of funny watching people order wine, and after the first sip, set it aside. After the second day, there did not seem to be any wine drinkers around. The beer is good. The drinks at all the bars were very sweet, if you ordered a rum and coke it tasted like syrup.
Entertainment: The entertainment crew puts on all kinds of little games during the day, we spent most the time at the beach so did not partake on any of them.
Night Entertainment: Three nights with musicals by the Puerto Plata ballet which were good. and 3 with only the entertainment crew that put on silly games.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,288 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,799 reviews
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,066 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing