We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation. Okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation. Okay hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We went to Riu bachata for one week at the end of July 2014. We had two rooms- one for the parents, one for the children. One of the rooms was clean, smelled nice, and had no roaches or ants. On the other hand, the other room reeked of mold, had a number of roaches, and just had a bad energy to it. So we all ended up sleeping in one room and paying for two. The rooms were kept clean- not much too it. Clean towels every day, fresh flowers on the bed.

The pools are cool. We went to the quieter one, away from the bar.

The beach was great. It was very breezy the entire week which we are grateful for. Easy to find shade and sun loungers. There are a lot of rocks and seaweed in the water but still nice and you can go snorkeling very close to shore.

The food was boring and did not taste good. A lot of variety but no taste. The breakfast was the best!

The entertainment was great! Truly entertaining.

We went to paradise island which was FANTASTIC. Once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend it!

Overall, my family had a great time. The hotel was "good enough". If the food was better, everyone would be much happier.

P.S. we did not get sick from the food.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank DCvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    1,759
    985
    450
    331
See reviews for
1,369
2,096
103
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The front desk staff at this resort is very helpful and nice, but the managment does not care about you or if you are experiencing some difficulity. The food is the same everyday and the bed was so hard and uncomfortable. The plus for this resort is the beach and access to the sister resorts also the night entertainment was good.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and i spent a wonderful 2 weeks in the luxury and comfort of the Riu Bachata. Accomodation, staff and food were all commendable. Rooms were spotless and your on mini bar and optics topped up every second day. Yeah the hotel is open to the locals of the Dominican Republic as well as the many multi national tourists that are there and yes the poolside can get a bit busy but only yards away is the wonderful beach and sea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavieE971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Been to several riu hotels and numberous premium rated ones, and this certainly should never be placed in the premium rated hotels, maybe a 3*. Couldnt wait to return home all our party were ill for 10days+, as well as numberous other hotel guests. Had not enough towels 3 adults only 2 towels to shower with, this was a daily problem, fridge restocked with 2 of everything only on a couple of occassions. Pool towels constantly been taken hotel very aware of this then charge $20 to gain a new towel card, on arrival noted someone who had stayed in April left a message on the advise cards in the room notifying everyone that someone had been gaining access to the room safe whilst they stayed, this made us very dubious throughtout our stay. When we tried to have a wash we realised that we had no running water in our room, this was reported to the reception staff who informed us that if we wanted water to go and collect some from reception. Made formal report with hotel rep after i was made to feel awful by the reception staff she was pleasant whilst she replied to texts on her phone and had a chat with some other rep in a language that i couldnt understand and made to feel very awkward and underminded.
Best part of the holiday was the Dreamliner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Been to many of Rui's hotels and comparing with this one it is average. It requires a refurbish as it has been over 10 years since it opened. Things like AC unit worked on and off. Things are clean but when you get local people invading at the bar and urinating in the pool you start questioning.
Hotel management didn't do much.
Food is excellent and every one from 2 yrs old can find something to do. Entertainment team does everything what is possible to keep everyone in good mood. However Entertainment guys were hardly active as they never came inside the pool for any games.

If you have been to other Rui's this will be a downgrade..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hitesh_Jansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I travelled to the Riu Bachata on the 7th July on board the simply excellent Thomson 787 dreamliner. What a difference that plane makes to a long flight as it is immensely comfortable, very spacious and has an excellent entertainment system to keep anyone occupied.

The hotel itself is immaculate, with a large airy reception, excellent dining facilities in two large restaurants (speciality restaurants for Italian and Caribbean cooking and a Steak House), large swimming pools, plenty of bars, Caribbean street with shops, disco, spa, doctor and pharmacy all set among tropical landscapes.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, and very spacious. A huge bed in the middle of the room and plenty of wardrobe space and drawer space for all your belongings. My only niggle (and it is a small gripe) is that the air conditioning in the room wasn't overly powerful and didn't cool the room down as much as it could have. Other than this, the room was very hard to fault and with a minibar topped up every other day and free optics in the room, there were more than enough nice touches. We had a room with a superb view over the pool which was very close to the main bar. The rooms are amazingly well soundproofed. We very rarely got disturbed by noises from the other rooms or corridor.

The food was excellent, especially in the Steak House and the Italian restaurants. And here's where I'm going to give advice to some travellers, especially from the UK. I hear the term "That's not like our bacon" or "That's not the way I like that done". You are travelling over 4000 miles from home, of course you aren't going to get fish and chips done like a chip shop from back home, or bacon like back home. It's all part of the travelling experience and if that doesn't suit, why bother travelling? The main restaurant might be a bit samey, but with theme nights and plenty of unique dishes, it should keep most people happy. My wife would be a fussy eater and she never had a problem getting anything to eat at any restaurant.

The pools are large, but one thing the hotel would benefit hugely from is a seperate kids pool, and not the large pool with the bar in it. Many times you couldn't get near the bar due to kids crowding round it on inflatibles, or you were having a drink only for kids to start firing water at each other that would end up in your glass. This would be my main criticism of the hotel. By all means have kids, but perhaps a pool of their own where they won't interfere at the bar. Speaking of the bar, there was plenty of drinks to chose from, and the bar tenders were very friendly and eager to show off their skills.

There were many other very nice touches at the hotel. The show cooking at the beach where the chef would do a cooking demonstration of some meals before serving up and the beach barbecues. The housekeeping staff leaving flowers in your room and making up towel swans. The free wifi in the hotel lobby. The proximity to the beach. Caribbean street. So many features which were very welcome.

The evening entertainment shows are of a far higher class than anything I've ever experienced at any hotel before. Highlights of this being the Disco show, Caribbean street night and the Beach Party.

The staff are all very, very friendly from the cleaning ladies, to the barstaff, right up to the management team who are all very pleasant to deal with.

And that brings me on to the true stars of the show, the Riu Bachata animation team.

I cannot praise them highly enough for all the work they did. They mingled constantly with everyone always with a smile on their faces and working as hard as they could to give guests the best possible stay at the hotel. Their day started at 10 in the morning and save a couple of 2 hour breaks, finished at 11 at night. They danced, they provided games, exercises, dancing lessons (God love Kitty and Betty Boop having to try and teach me how to dance), and were only too have to sit with you and include you. My thanks to the gorgeous Kitty and Betty Boop, and to Tyson, Spaghetti and Gigy, along with Didi, Sexy Belly, Chucky and DJ Banana. You made the holiday so much more enjoyable with your constant happy demeanour and patience.

All in all, I found very little cons with the Riu Bachata and an incredible amount of positives. A lot of very friendly people and frienships which will last for ever.

Roll on next year so I can do it all again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reidy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from the Riu Bachata after a week long stay. By the end of the week I was just desperate to get home - so glad we hadn't booked two weeks.

The flight on the dreamliner over to Puerto Plata was fantastic. Just one word of advice, go to the toilet before going through immigration, otherwise you'll be queuing for a good hour for two toilets!

The hotel was ok. The reception was clean and tidy as were the rooms. We requested a quiet room overlooking the beach and were happy with the view we were given. We were in block 1, furthest from the main areas, and were grateful we weren't any closer as the noise from the evenings 'entertainment' tended to travel. The room had 2 queen sized beds pushed together, with a fan over the bed which worked it's magic most of the time.

On arrival we learnt that the water was out and thought nothing of it, however it still wasn't on several hours later. This kept happening every single day. I understand that the DR isn't as developed as the UK however, having travelled far and wide I have never known such a problem and in what Thomson classes as a platinum resort. I would hate to see their lower resorts. The water pressure also left a lot to be desired too, although I don't know if this was because we were at the end of the water line and all the water had been taken before it got to us.

The food was very much below average. The breakfast was fantastic, the lunch and dinner not so much. It was very much same old, same old every day. Both myself and my husband also suffered from very dodgy stomachs whilst we were there too - remember thr Imodium! The waiters depending on where you sat were also very hit and miss.

All the staff were very tip driven, and the service you received was very dependent on whether you had left a tip previously.

The beach was about the only saving grace for the holiday. There were plenty of sun loungers and shade was provided by the trees along the beach. The breeze that blew off the Atlantic Ocean was divine and definitely provided some wanted cooling.

Overall, my husband and I were have been very disappointed with this holiday, especially considering the price we paid for it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Catelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Plata
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,344 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 111 in Punta Cana
2,130 reviews
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,617 reviews
170.6 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#14 of 26 in Bavaro
12,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing