We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

stayed 5aug-11aug.....noise from new cruise port was never a problem...excellent family room accommodations....sleeps 4 comfortably. checkin by Eury was fast and friendly. overall hotel service was constantly supervised by department heads making sure everything was perfect..special thank you to Yesenia ....buffet had a great variety there was no need to visit restaurants we were treated like royality by Antonio and talking about drinks thank you Oscar and Marcos for our no stop supply of mamajuana would stay again and highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    1,682
    944
    436
    320
See reviews for
1,306
1,996
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

First, let me start by saying that anyone that complains profusely about this place probably should not take vacations in Third World countries. IJS. I have visited numerous resorts in the DR, but this was the first time in Puerto Plata and the first Riu property and I enjoyed both.
PROS:
+ The food!! There were lots of options at every meal, both at the main buffet and at the smaller Maracuya restaurant, which is where we usually ate lunch. The fruit and cold salads were enclosed, which is a great idea because at many other hotels there are flies hovering around the fruit and cheeses. Not here! The buffet was so good that we never bothered to book the specialty restaurants. My fiancé, who is Dominican, especially liked the flavor of the food at Maracuya.
+ The staff members were incredible. They really seemed to love their jobs. A little tipping goes a long way! The mini-bar was constantly stocked to our liking and the waiter, Clermin, went out of his way to remember our drink orders and have our table set with our drinks and flowers decorating the table when he saw us coming. The only exception was a glitch when the reception staff failed to deliver my delayed luggage to my room after it was delivered to the hotel by American Airlines. When I asked, they kept saying the bag wasn't there, but it was.
LEAST FAVORITE:
+ The drinks were not included at the disco.
+ The late night snack at the Bachata was inadequate. The Merengue snack was better, but it closed at 2pm, so there was not much to eat after the disco closed, if you are a late night snacker.
+ The facilities are definitely dated, but there is an LCD TV and everything is very clean and well maintained.
+ The beaches are not the white sand of Punta Cana, but the North Coast location makes it very breezy and comfortable and there are plenty of lounge chairs in both the sun and shaded areas.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, I emailed my room preferences to the hotel prior to traveling, and they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank akjtrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We are a family of 3, myself, my husband and my 13yr old son and we had the most wonderful holiday in the Dominican Republic and stay at the Riu Bachata. The hotel was beautiful, the gardens are well kept, rooms clean and tidy and wow a free mini bar too! The hotel was very full around 1,000 and at times did seem a little crowded. We understand this was due to many holiday makers being moved from the Merengue Hotel to the Bachata. The strain of the extra holiday makers made dining especially at night very busy and it was almost impossible to secure a booking at the al a carte restaurants. The food in the main dining room was very good, with a wide selection, it was fresh and tasty but not quite 5 star. We have stayed in other Riu hotels before and food has been very much 5 star. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful, and without exception you are always greeted with a 'hola' . The trips organised by Thompson were the best we had ever experienced and no matter which one you choose, you will have a brilliant experience. The Extreme Day, Paradise Island, Outback Adventure and the Dominican Night were truly spectacular. There is a big emphasis on tipping but we have found this common in some countries, it can make you feel uncomfortable but it is up to you and not mandatory. We tipped our waiter around 100 passos each night. A few times a week the locals come in to sell their souvenirs, nothing is priced and you can get a little hassled, my top tip if you are interested in buying is to check out the prices of the goods in the shops first so that you don't get ripped off (which I did). I paid 10 times as much for a little wooden turtle than the cost of it in the hotel shop! We really did enjoy our holiday and would recommend staying at the Bachata, especially if you are travelling in a large group. If you are looking for something more quite another option may be preferred.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and the tennis course as this is where the pool and air con generators are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Well well !! just returned from Riu Bachata ! Let me start by say i have been on vacation many times love travel my favorite past time ! Riu Bachata is a border line 5 star Hotel , no to be negative at all this Riu resort was extremely pleasant , very ,very clean surroundings from our ocean front view junior suite just an amazing view and privacy !! Riu Bachata is not expensive but a bargain price for all you get ! let me state that this Hotel has an amazing staff from front desk to the pool cleaner all were helpful and worked hard ! Food wise there Buffet was fresh. , clean ,and yes i will even say good ! First couple of days were hard to get reservations to al a carte ! there is 3 restaurants to choose from! steak House ,Italian ,and Caribbean !! you have to get up early to reserve due to the fact each day you can only reserve for the night supper 2 seatings 630 pm or 830 pm limited seating for all !!! steak house was our Favorite but Italian was very good as well < no complaints about Caribbean as well !!! travelling with a teenager can sometimes be hard ,my 14 year old not only enjoy food but also the entertainment staff are amazing ! Staff are there first time that staff does not hound you to do things very polite and friendly kids love them !!! yes there was many many kids around would say this is a kids friendly resort but couples can as well enjoy there piece and quiet !! We once again traveled with sunwing ! very very good service not one thing to complain about ! as well as Hotel rep for sunwing extremely helpful ! Now a little about beach !!! well its not that great for beach walkers as you cannot walk far and also there is a reef not to far out along the beach front nice for about 20 feet then gets rocky and coral great for snorkeling saw so much fish , very pleasant !!! one major thing make sure you get water shoes you will need them with this no problems and you can spend lots of time in the Ocean !!To sum it up Rooms very ,Clean !! food , you will never go hungry! good as well !!! the beach you can always find a chair sand is nice but a little rocky !Riu Bachata site ! amazing 5 star status !! must talk about pools !! 2 big pools I can tell you they clean it with care moring time every Day vacuumed tested and washed ! all the chairs as well are washed ! never missing towels !! also every 2 hours pool boy passes and cleans pool with kids!!!! cups and things are sometimes discarded so they clean it, hats off to them !!This is not my first time at a Riu Resort and won't be the last ! thank you guys for making our stay so pleasant ! shows were fun as well always something going on so kids as well as adults have no excuse to have a enjoyable time !! one great advantage to Riu Bachata you get 90 minutes of free wii fi per day this i found super good and it works so easily, !!!! so I really do recommend this Hotel to anyone you will enjoy it !! Just want to say the photo staff is great as well yes they take many pictures but you are not forced to buy them but really nice ! only beware of one person at photo place when buying pictures she tries to cheat people make sure she is not there this person should be fired ! she wanted double when the others told me the price already ! went back when she was off and got our pics ! and got a great deal !!no negative comments just a suggestion to Riu management !!! check in was not long but you should also bring people upon arrival to there rooms like ourselves we were handed papers and a map and find your room ! this should be reviewed especially when people travel for long hours they should not have to search for rooms ! also you could hire more bellboys !! this was my first 5 star hotel they did not bring us to our room and i have been to many !!!!!look into it !!!also Irons and iron boards should be in room not at front desk and have to give a deposit just to get one !!!!!I found this very unprofessional for 5 star Hotel !!! But fortunately all the good things out weighed a few minor details !! thank you Riu Bachata you made our stay very pleasant !

Room Tip: we stayed in section 2 room 217 all I can say is WOW beach front balcony on beach view is just amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were a party of 7 (4 adults and 3 children) staying at this hotel for 2 weeks. We found the hotel and bedrooms to be very clean, and housekeeping & maintenance staff were constantly working and keeping it to a high standard. The entertainment crew were energetic, they have a long working day and I'm sure they feel a little jaded towards the evening. Some are friendlier than others, 'Spaghetti' was a favourite with us. Our waiter Clermin was a lovely chap who was very helpful. Our housekeeper Juliana (for room 726/727) worked so hard cleaning after our girls (she needs a medal poor woman!) I wasn't keen on the swim up bar, the pool was great in the morning, but not comfortable with our young girls being in the area as people were getting a little tipsy. Didn't even give it a thought before we went there. The food was good, the wine was not so nice, but okay. One of the waiters (a young chap with braces on his teeth) tried it on with my 18 year old daughter and made a joke and pretended to put a knife in to his heart, it was all a bit bizarre and my daughter felt quite uneasy in the restaurant after that. On the whole it was a great trip, the beach area wasn't as nice as we experienced elsewhere but it didn't spoil the holiday. Best night for me was the disco on the beach, dancing to Pharell Williams and Bob Marley under the stars, but they only had the one beach disco which was a real shame, as it was soon after we arrived and some of our party were tired and went to bed early and missed out on this night thinking it would happen again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Travelled to the Riu Bachata on the 3/8/2014 as a group of 4 adults and 2 children (age 14 and 7) had originally booked the merengue but this was changed a few months before, was glad it was. The Bachata is a great place to stay, friendly staff throughout and brilliant entertainment team. Missing Gigi already.. Ignore the negative comments about this hotel, food completely fine and plenty of options (although i do recommend a night at the Italian), we always found something to eat. Have a walk down Carribbean street and be prepared to haggle, they will try to sell you everything but just say a firm no thank you and they will leave you alone, (no need to be rude tho). Entertainment team work hard all day long, the michael jackson night was fantastic. we had been told that it gets really busy at weekends with the locals but don't let this put you off, it was slightly busier but not crazy, was slightly concerned about some reviews regarding the rudeness of some of the weekend guest, we had no trouble with rudeness or anything from anyone. Hotel clean throughout, staff cleaning constantly. Would recommend this hotel and would visit again

Room Tip: we was in the 900 block, close enough to everything but not kept awake if wanting an early night. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This holiday was to knock off one of my partners to do before you die list(swimming with dolphins), on arrival we were greeted with a cocktail whilst the rep sorted our room out, the hotel and grounds were spotless, food was excellent and loads of choice even for the fussy eaters, a la carte every day if you so required( we had it 3 times in total) beautiful it was as well, entertainment was good even through the day we tried our hands at Salsa dancing and got to admit really enjoyed it I think I'm a natural :), all in all it was what I expected for a trip of a lifetime and well worth the money, would I go back? Damn right loved every minute as did my family and the friends we went with

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank elisejolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
9.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,203 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
9.5 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,228 reviews
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bachata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bachata
Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing