We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find in Pto Plata.”
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Reviewed 5 April 2009

It is basic, but has everything you need if looking for a budget place to stay. In Pto Plata itself it is a great base to have easy access into Pto Plata without needing to drive or taxi anywhere. Has a nice little restaurant and bar, the food was good enough and service with a smile. I noticed quite a few Dominican people eating in the restaurant during the day and early evening so is a good sign that the prices are good, and they were. Right on the main through road of Pto Plata it isn't quiet with all the traffic, but once in your room it is quiet. First time I'd had a sit down bath for ages, Cable TV, the beds are big and not 2 pushed together, A/C and nice and clean. Staff are very friendly and willing to assist in any way. They have internet access also.
I paid $1.100pesos for a room with 2 double beds and A/C, I think they have rooms without A/C that you will get cheaper. The longer you stay the cheaper it gets and I found that they have room to bargain, my A/C room starting at $1.300 he came down quite easily.
All in all a godsend if you spot a cheap flight or like me just need an overnight stop off.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SosuaSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondieSantoDomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ezequiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irma900sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Yanelis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain View
Hotel Mountain View
#29 of 40 in Puerto Plata
14 reviews
3.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
4.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
3.8 mi away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 40 in Puerto Plata
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Address: Calle Avenida Manolo Tavarez Justo # 78, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Hotel is located on the main street connecting Puerto Plata, Costambar, Sosua, and Cabarete. Public transportation is accessible directly in front of the hotel and local supermarkets are just minutes away. Located within walking distance of several beaches, the Sunshine Hotel features guest rooms with private balconies, private showers with hot water, cable TV, air conditioning, security, and a popular restaurant, Mr. Luis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing