We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse food ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Eagle, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worse food ever”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you are not a Lifestyles member, you do not have access to better bars and restaurants. Membership costs $25,000 plus. Horrid, horrid food. Bitter coffee, no creamer. Juice tastes worse than Tang. Tough, chewy, tasteless beef, pork (including bacon and sausage), lamb. Chicken was the only good meat, but who wants to eat chicken twice a day. Tried five or six different types of seafood, mushy, tasteless, cheap fish. Awful salad dressing, runny and cheap. Poor quality fruits and vegetables. Food was at best room temperature. Oily, foul tasting soups, cereals, pancakes/waffles/French toast (and cheap syrup). Worse pasta sauces and pizza I've ever had. Never had even one good dessert, bread or roll. Most god-awful burgers, hotdogs, fries, meats and cheeses for sandwiches. I survived on eggs and toast (bread that I wouldn't take for free back home) for breakfast and chicken for lunch and dinner. Can't even make decent red beans. Alcohol: draft beer (one kind), cheap, awful wine (two kinds), and cheap, low-end alcohol. The food was so bad that I would not go back even if I were offered a free trip, premium alcohol, and free massages daily. Worse vacation I ever had.

Room Tip: Even if I had a superb room, which I odd not, the food and alcohol was horrid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at our resort. However in regards to the comments made on our food, with all our respect and taking in consideration that the client is always right, we need to point out that in this case we cannot agree on your comments. Please note that even though we are fully aware that we cannot satisfy each client’s taste and considering that during your stay we had approximately 2500 guests eating daily in our restaurants, we would like to advise that we always offer a big variety of different food and drinks in order to offer something for everybody’s taste. We sincerely regret that, on this occasion, we were not able to meet your expectations, but the mostly positive comments of other guests show us that we on the right track.
Best regards
Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    1,211
    651
    420
    458
See reviews for
1,207
1,522
94
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is not our first all-inclusive vacation, but our first one to this particular resort. Overall, we had a very nice time. The resort itself was quite nice, with the exception of the rooms. The rooms are just very dated and the bed was quite uncomfortable, but honestly, who goes on vacation to chill in the room all day??...not us. For us, if the room is fantastic, it's just an added bonus! I will say that our hotel room and building were in a prime location though. It was noisy at night as it overlooked the main pool where all the entertainment was, but it didn't bother us.

The food would be my second complaint, but again, I'm not one to gorge myself in all you can eat buffets, so I would just pick and choose what I did like and stuck with that day to day. The restaurants (in which you need a reservation for) were all quite nice though, so we were very satisfied with those. Restaurant staff were all fantastic and truly made the experience of trying a new place.

The drinks on the other hand....AMAZING! These were legit drinks (especailly at the bar down by the beach) and it didn't matter what we got, they were all awesome! The beach beds were fantastic and we never really had much of a problem getting a bed each day, but we usually went down to save one early in the am. The actual beach, although pretty, was seaweed city and I will say I only put my feet in the water on 2 occasions during our trip due to the massive amounts of seaweed. Honestly though, I didn't mind utilizing the rest of the beautiful beach, beach beds and great pool entertainment.

The staff...EXCEPTIONAL! From the bar tenders, to the entertainment, they would go above and beyond. Now, we of course tipped well, as they deserved it, but they appreciated every cent you gave them and their service reflected that. I have to make a special shout out to Jhony Bravo...He was great! We spent most of our vacation by the beach, but the time we spent by the pool was a blast. He was so much fun and always made us feel like we were the only ones there! He absolutely deserves recognition for his hard work.

Overall, we really had a fun-filled, yet super relaxing vacation and I would definitely consider revisiting this resort in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. Thank you for choosing our resort for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Well where do I begin, we booked this trip while looking at pictures on the internet followed by reading the info in a travel book. We were not booked at The Tropical but instead booked and stayed at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort, a sister to The Tropical. Both resorts are located on Cofresi Beach and part of Lifestyles Holiday Vacations, there are shuttle busses / vans that run to all the resorts in the complex, we spent most of our time at The Tropical, The buffet was better with more selection and choices of freshly prepared omelets, pasta, and grilled meats, not to mention the attentive staff who were always there with a smile to top up the coffee or bring another drink. The entertainment was great, there was more staff to keep people moving and grooving. I think we most enjoyed our time at the pool doing aqua fit with Jhony Bravo, he is a small but built guy who makes working out fun. He clearly showed the workout moves, explained in English, French and Spanish and always ended with a fun group activity and massage.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rowena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Rowena,
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed all our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
Your nice comments were passed to the rest of the team.
Thank you for making The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata to your preferred vacation destination and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another unforgettable vacation with your family.

Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I've been to this resort four times. My first experience was horrible and vowed i'd never go back, but I decided to give it another shot, I liked and went back two more times. I was there 2011,2012 and twice in 2013. This place has improved significantly, the food is better, non VIPs have more access to various parts of the resort than earlier years. The big sunday dinner and dance parties are awesome, the foam party on Thursday nights is a heck of a party, get ready to get wet and glittered up. The staff is friendly and i'm certain if you go back you'll see the same familiar staff( part reason I've been back here a couple of times). I hope everyone enjoys this place as much I did....... VIP beach club, cabanas, cabana boys/girls, whirl pool was where I spent a lot of time...... Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Steve,
Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays already for the 4th time and giving us your honest point of view about our property and services. Thank you for making The Tropical to your preferred vacation destination and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another unforgettable vacation with your family or friends.
Yours Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

jhony bravo at Tropical provides emotions with exercise classes in the pool. I usually take a break from gym activities during the holidays, but their level of creativity u r amazing jhony bravo sexy short boy good luck in your future.......

Room Tip: rooms 5225 very quiest that area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your comments which were passed to the mentioned member of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,

Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

When we first arrived we were disappointed because they had downgraded us from a Crown suite to a room at the tropical. The tropical is definitly outdated & could use a makeover. The one thing that got us going & made us have a good time was the staff at the pool. We took spanish lessons every day with MOSQUITO, he was a pleasure to work with & even went above & beyond so we could learn the most in our short time. I took the aerobic classes in the pool every day with LENNY CRAVIZ. He is truly a comedian. JOHNNY BRAVO also gave a good class. Lenny & Mosquito had us dancing by the pool bar & on stage at the colloseum before the show. The waiters & waitresses at the beaches & the restaurants, especially the buffet at the tropical were outstanding! Your Brazilian restaurant, for me, had the best dinner that we ate. all in all we had a good time, but it would have been much better if we had the room we originally booked. You certainly can't complain about the scenary or the weather, but mother nature takes care of that! It was beautiful!

Room Tip: I don't have one. maybe book higher because I understand by talking to MANY people, downgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucille w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Lucille,
First of all thank you for having chosen Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata as your holiday destination.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected. We take all guest feedback seriously because we want to improve with you. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back with your friends or family.
Sunny regards

Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I traveled to DREAMS La Romana 10/16-10/22/2013 for my boyfriends birthday!!!(great trip and resort) Then came back home and found the greatest deal on cheapcarribean.com to traveled to Puerto Plata 10/26-11/1/2013 which fell on my Birthday week!! OMG how excited for $560.00 included 7days all inclusive trip.. We happily jumped on the plain and away we went again!! Well the resort itself is well kept and for the price we were not going to complain. The room was dated but clean. We had water,soda and beer in our mini fridge, dated tv but who watches tv while on vacation. We had a nice balcony facing the side of the pool. Small reception area, we thought that we would have to wait along to time to check in but it was pretty quick. We did have to pay for the secured lock box in the room per day. They gave us to pre-reserved restaurant vouchers to eat at 9:30pm which was to late for me to eat and plus thats the time we would head over to watch the nightly shows. I tried to reschedule several times and was successful on one of the reservations to the mexican restaurant. It was ok, but for what we paid we did not complain. We preferred to eat at the buffet anyways. The food was really good especially lunch buffet. It had a little bit of everything. We did do the tour of the resort and they try to convince you to pay extra so you can have access to the VIP section of the hotel! We had their top shelf liquor haggled with them and called it a day!!!
Things you must know:
If you buy through cheap caribbean you dont have access to the VIp areas of the resort. The minute you arrive to the resort you will be approached by a gentleman that will set a time for you to see the VIP seciton of the resort (he gets a $20 commission). I must tell you it is beautiful!!! You will be tempted but if they dont get you drunk enough you just keep saying no till they let you go!! We had our tour and then we were there haggling for about 1 hour (drinking). We didnt care to buy because you can just rent thru one of the owner/shareholders and enjoy the VIP that way.(I already booked a VILLA for 10/2014) the amenities are GREAT!!! You will see the tour guys in the morning running around asking people if they already did the tour.( thats how they make there money) We kindly said yes and kept it moving. They also have vendors on the property selling jewelry, cigars etc. We bought a few things to support them and even gave one of them my bathroom toiletries and a couple of dresses that i wasnt going to wear anymore he was so thankful and all very pleasant.

also they have two VIP PARTIES that you are invited to and it was so much fun!!! food was fabulous at the welcoming party and the halloween pool party was fabulous (my birthday)!! There is a VIP section of the beach that you can go to and it has these relaxing beds and jacuzzi, bar and food! We loved going there to relax! We had lots of fun!! For the price of $560. for 7 days all inclusive we could not complain at all!!! If you catch that deal on cheapcaribbean.com and dont care about the minor things in life then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsa2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Elsa, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Annett Fiedler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,775 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.2 mi away
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 40 in Puerto Plata
5,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing