We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I was at this resort with my wife in November last year just before Thanksgiving. This was our first all inclusive trip so we had no place to compare to. The food and room were OK. What made our trip special and unforgettable are the people who worked there. The hospitality and friendliness was exellent. Also the entertaining group did a fenomenal job. All the shows (Michael Jackson, african, dominican) we attended were awesom. Can not wait to return! Sebastian and Julia

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Sebastian & Julia,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your Honeymoon. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team, especially to the mentioned ones!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    1,191
    641
    414
    454
See reviews for
1,167
1,506
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It's a really big resort. You won't have access to everything unless you buy their time share then they give you access to most of their restaurants , beaches, and pool areas. The beach area is really amazing to hang out under the sun on those beds they have, the water had allot of seaweed. Their entertainments are ok. You'll enjoy 3-4 days out of 7. A big shout out to "Johnny bravo" really funny dude. The food is absolutely 1 out of 5. They only have 3 kind of fruits, 2 kind of sodas, you can taste the powder in the Orange juice, they have the same food everyday. During my stay I haven't heard any good word on restaurants or food. I can't complain, you really get what you pay for. I personally think if in the future they make better food, I would rate it a 4.5 instead of a 3

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Karim,
Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays.We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of our service and facilities. Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our property and services. On behalf of the entire Lifestyle staff, please accept our apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered.
We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.
Yours Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terryville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were here 1/26-2/1...The resort is beautiful. The rooms are just o.k. nothing to write home about. Miriam (with the long dark hair) (spelling ?) in the bar that is just off the lobby was fantastic and so nice and ready with a smile and a cocktail...Victor in the The Blue Lagoon was fantastic as well..what a super guy!
I can tell you this- we will not return. I HATE paying for a hungry vacation and the food was terrible from start to finish. The ONLY decent meal we had was in the Blue Lagoon-courtesy of Victor and the other employees.
I did read the reviews before booking this vacation, so we knew what we were getting into. That being said-we were interested in the whole time share idea and had every intention on taking the tour. WE did NOT take the tour because the food was AWFUL-why would anyone pay for a vacation club if the food is horrible? We had a meal at Bellini, Johhnys and the Blue Lagoon and the Lagoon was the only one that passed our test!!! The location is amazingly beautiful and the drinks are good. If you decide to stay here-go off site and eat locally, we did and it was fantastic and inexpensive-our cab cost more than the meal and it was awesome...we did not have hot water problems-but the friends we were traveling with did and their room was connected with ours.
On another note-our friends are not early risers and were disturbed nearly every day by the grounds keepers and their "carrying on and shouting" back and forth to each other..beautiful location indeed -just go with your eyes wide open- BEWARE- you can NOT use every ammenity unless you are an owner-even if Cheapcarribean.com tells you otherwise..all in all-the property is NOT user friendly..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marji2busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Marji,
First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with us.
We would like to thank you for highlighting our strengths and weaknesses. Please be sure that your observations are taken into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
Regarding the food we very much lament that we did not meet your tast. At our buffet restaurant we offer different theme nights during the week, in addition to our buffet choices we feature two a la minute or carving stations and a pasta stations for lunch and dinner daily. Our a la carte restaurants offer numerous additional main course choices to have some thing for everybodys tast.We regret that you did not find the buffet and a la carte restaurant selection satisfactory.
Your nice comments about some of our staff members were forwarded to them.
Warm regards,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just finished visiting the Tropical at Lifestyle with my wife. I had an excellent vacation. This is our 3rd time here. It just keeps getting better. The food has improved significantly. The service as well. They have also added some beds by the pool area and changed some of the old tanning beds. Our room was cleaned and prepared daily. Our house maids were phenomenal I do not remember there names but I was staying in room 5120 to be exact. The entertainment is phenomenal. A special thanks to Johny Bravo who has to be the most respectful and joyous entertainer in the resort. My wife and I loved the way he made us smile and never made us feel uncomfortable. Another employee we would like to give a special thanks to is Elias Minaya the VIP BEACH supervisor and Jabe Sosa who served drinks. They were wonderful and made us feel like we were in paradise. I would recommend this resort to any single, couples or families.

Room Tip: Building #5 is my favorite. It is far from all the noise. That way you can get a goodnights rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertocastro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Alberto,
Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata already for the 43rd time and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort.
We are also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know that my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.
On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata.
Kind Regards
Annett Fiedler
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went for a week Jan 18-25,2014. I booked through Cheapcarribean.com. The trip was great, but the room was less than desirable, luckily we did not spend much time in the room. It had a banging noise in the AC that banged every 20 minutes. The shower was not good, and didn't always have hot water or any water for that matter. So for the room, I would give it a 1. The only reason I gave it 3, is because we had a great time at the beach. The VIP beach is a must. Great beds, cool pools, and the servers bringing non stop drinks were great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jo,
Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays. We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of our service and facilities. Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our property and services. On behalf of the entire Lifestyle staff, please accept our apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered.
We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.
Yours Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you read the reviews on this resort you will notice most of the bad ones are not answered. The good ones are answered by way of a form letter from an Anette Fielder. This should tell you something. This resort does not care about you unless you are a timeshare owner. The resort boasts many amenities which are not available to you unless you are a timeshare owner. To add insult to injury the nice restaurants are all front and centre and you walk by them and can look in on a regular basis as they are by the pools. Rest assured that's all you can do as a regular tourist and not a timeshare owner. Upon checking in we were given three pre booked dinner reservations for 9:30pm. When I tried to change them at the "guest services" office I was rudely yelled at and told to come back later. The Transat\Nolitors rep was equally ignorant. I was refused access and service to many places on a daily basis. As for the beach...there is only one with many fenced in areas for owners. All the rooms excluding timeshare suites and villas are situated alongside a sewage ditch.This is a two star resort! Do yourself a favour and go elsewere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cordari88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Ok, so there are several Lifestyle resorts. I stayed at the Tropical property. The room was not lavish but it was clean. The staff was excellent, friendly and professional. The bathroom was designed poorly, so that the floor was soaking wet after a shower. that was annoying. I suspect the VIP package is nicer, but overall I was pleased and would return again. Oh, also note, it is very difficult to get reservations at the restaurants, no matter how early you check.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Maya,
First of all thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata as your holiday destination.
We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion,
Sincerely
Annett Fiedler
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,620 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,402 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing