We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Caribbean vacation so far !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Caribbean vacation so far !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

So this is my second stay in the Dominican Republic, and compared to Punta Cana, I think Puerto Plata is where it's at. The second we got off the plane, we were greeter by people who were nothing less than kind and helpful. Everyone is just so positive and energetic. The hotel staff was great and checkin was smooth and simple. What's great about this resort is that it accommodates pretty much whatever you want. Need a relaxing day of sun? Go to the beach where you have cabana beds that are never fully packed and clean. Want to hang out by the pool, drink a little, and laugh hysterically for a few hours due to guys from the entertainment crew like Moskito or Puchi Puchi? You got it. We made friends with these guys more so than anyone else because they were always making sure that people were having as much fun as they could. Unlike other resorts where these guys would just be there for the fun, we made friends with them and the rest of the crew (George of the jungle, coffee, Lenny, etc.).
I'm looking forward to going again either this summer or October and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbuiuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again very soon!
With best regards
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    1,157
    626
    402
    441
See reviews for
1,115
1,465
85
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was my third time staying at this resort in Puerto Plata. If you're looking for sunshine, rest, and fun...this is your place! It's the perfect winter getaway! The beach and food are decent, but the friendly staff truly makes your vacation! They really seem to enjoyably cater to your needs. My favorite entertainer was John Cena. It was obvious that he loves his job. Every day he would greet the guests and make you feel at home. He was always friendly and eager to please, as were mostly all of the staff we encountered. Naturally, with each time spent here you learn more about the dos and don'ts of the resort. I am anxious to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Ashley,
Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata already for the 3rd time and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort.
We are also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know that my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back for a 4th time at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata.
Kind Regards
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've never loved a vacation more than I loved this one! From the moment I checked in, until the moment I waved goodbye to the staff, everyone was beyond friendly, and so accomodating!! It's so obvious that everyone at the resort truly loves their job, and they'll absolutely go out of their way to make you feel at home, and comfortable. I'd like to particularly mention Mosquito, Puchi Puchi and George of the Jungle. These guys are part of the animation team/ entertainment crew, and they absolutely made my stay at the resort more enjoyable. One minute they're teaching guests how to dance bachata, and the next they're bouncing around the resort making guests laugh, and encouraging them to join in all of the games and activities that they have planned. They're truly an asset to the resort, and I can't wait to go back.

I'd also like to mention Angel at the Dive Shop, who was so helpful with all of the information that he provided about surfing the North Coast, parasailing, and scuba diving. Thanks so much! In addition to the incredible staff, the beaches themselves were beyond stunning, and the cabana beds were always so clean and comfortable. Check out the Blue Lagoon restaurant as well; the selection was so delicious!

All in all, this was one of my most memorable vacations yet, and the second I stepped off the resort, my friend and I were already planning our return trip. So, thanks so much to Mosquito, Puchi Puchi, George of the Jungle and Angel! Can't wait to see you guys in July!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateMarie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear KateMarie,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in July.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The rooms were clean and spacious. The food and service amazing. The pool and beaches had plenty of chairs/bali beds/umbrellas. The bartenders kept the drinks coming. The entertainment staff was excellent - especially Jhony Bravo's water aerobics and yoga. He kept us busy and laughing plus made sure we made it to all the shows!! He was a wealth of information - made our whole trip great!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Malinda,
Thank you so much for your nice comments, we passed them to the rest of our team. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Sunny regards
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

From the moment I arrived at the hotel until the moment i left i had an unforgettable time! Food was great, room was clean, big, with very comfortable bed. Always some entertainment going on throughout the day and night to keep the guest happy and having a good time...Staff was super friendly!....the entertainment staff were AMAZING! ALWAYS HAPPY, GIVING THE BEST OF THEM! JHONNY BRAVO and MOSQUITO were my favorite! always making sure we were havin a good time. The girls are beautiful and always with a smile. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: my room was 1004 i think....close to the pool, bar and restaurant...great location and in the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Judith,
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was my second time visiting the resort and I cannot wait to go back! Everything, including lovely accommodations (especially if you’re staying at one of the beach front properties), amazing entertainment – dance/comedy shows and Sunday night extravaganza, various food options - buffet and a la cart restaurants, friendly staff and, of course, the beautiful beach, was just superb. A special thank you to John Cena and his team of animators (Puchi Puchi, Mosquito, Coffee, Johnny Bravo), they truly made us feel welcome and kept us on our toes with lots of fun activities. Everyone there is just so happy and positive and the service is top notch. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Ana
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you again at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back for another time at your second home.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was my 4th year in a row at The Tropical and had the best balcony view ever. Have made many friends there over the years and enjoyed seeing them again. George does an awesome job as King of the Towels and the animation crew is excellent(morning water aerobics with John Cena and Johnny Bravo in the afternoon, Spanish lesson and dancing with Mosquito, games with Puchy, and Coffee who kept things lively throughout the day)! Andreis at the poolbar made us the best drinks and at Casablanca, Jackie and Odelias(?sp) took good care of us during breakfast. Can't wait to go back. Debbie and Pam

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieR4532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Debbie and Pam,
Thank you for having chosen The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata already for the 4th time and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort.
On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back at your home away from home.
Sincerely,
Annett Fiedler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
6.7 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
6.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and TravelUp so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing