We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable vacation at unbelievable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable vacation at unbelievable price!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I purchased a six night vacation on a cyber Monday special $15.00 per person per day so my review will be based on the price and our vacation experience at this resort. My husband and I had a wonderful time! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a blue bracelet and we printed out a list of restaurants and amenities that we were allowed to use prior to arriving at the resort. We were aware before our arrival that there were member only areas so this did not bother us at all. The room was very basic but clean. We were in building four by the heliport which was noisy occasionally. This building is also directly across from the buffet which makes for some noise. I travel with a sound machine to drown out noise when I sleep so the noise from the buffet was not a problem for us. We did tip the maid daily and received plenty of water, towels, etc. The buffet and restaurant staff are awesome and were very nice and friendly. We received our two assigned dinner reservations as promised by cheap Caribbean. We also received extra dinning reservations by following the hotel policy and checking with guest services for cancelations. The Sunday night vip party was great fun with great food. The buffet does have the same food for breakfast each day. The Italian restaurant is open for lunch each day. You can also eat lunch on the beach or the sushi bar. The VIP beach that we had access to also had drink and lunch service right on the beach. The water was murky greenish brown if standing you can see to your knees only. Not clear blue! Bring water shoes as there are lots of rocks in the water!!The pools were wonderful and one pool had a swim up bar. You can't drink the tap water however bottled water is readily available and the restaurants use filtered water. We had a wonderful time at an amazing price! They close the beach at 6:00pm so be aware of this.You do receive cards to exchange for towels and there is a hefty fee if you lose your wristband. The men with the hats who try to get you to go on a tour only asked us for two days and then did not bother us. We only had a few vendors trying to sell us items/tours. We had an enjoyable restful vacation. The things I am pointing out in the review are not complaints they are just for information for folks to be aware of. Thanks for an awesome vacation we will be returning!!! Also free WiFi on the VIP beach that we had access to. We booked one tour from the cheap carribean representative in the hotel lobby. We were pleasantly surprised with the grounds of this resort they were beautiful. Also, beware birds fly into the buffet area by the tables so do not leave your plate unattended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LCMyrtleBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    1,168
    629
    410
    445
See reviews for
1,136
1,478
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My trip to Lifestyles Tropical in Puerta Plato was great fun! Everyone that worked there were wonderful! Salami, John Cena, Moskito, Puchi Puchi, Big Papi, and Walker especially made the trip for my son, Lance, and I enjoyable. The food was very good at each of the restaurants I visited. Amazing trip and I cannot wait to visit again!!

Cherysh

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherysh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Sunny regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

WOW..what a dump I travel to Puerto Plata 5 or six time per year as I have many friends who live in the area. I have stayed at bad resorts before, but nothing like this place. When we arrive the check in was like checking in at the local welfare office. The line was long, over one hour to check in, no AC and the worst looking crowd. Went to the room to find a outdated dirty room ( have seen better rooms a a bed roadside motel). All I can say is WOW. Went to Dinner to find empty trays and no clean tables. It was only 7pm and out of food? People in tank tops and using hands to get what ever scraps left. Watched the cook take raw chicken with tongs and put on grill and using the same tongs to serve cooked food, no wonder half of the guests were stuck in the bathrooms..The next morning the timeshare selling starts and they dont let up. Like to sleep late on your vacation? No Way. They call the room starting at 8am and dont stop all day. If you dont take the tour you are never let alone. Just do not go to this place. I have a living social discount for 4 days and left after 2. When I wanted to check out early was told a a fee would be do? What? I did not ask for a refund, I do think one should have been given. but i will not pay a fee to leave early. CRAZY Place....Big dump... dont go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank plinimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; we sincerely regret that, on this occasion, we were not able to fully meet your expectations. Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about some recommendations that you have highlighted.
However please be aware that on strong check in days a line up is not avoidable.
Regarding the sellers, only guests with interest are contacted, guests are not harassed when they are not interested.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.
With best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawling, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

One of our familys best vacations. We meet wonderful staff who embraced us and entertained us with fun and laughter. Big Papi,salami,moskito,puchi puchi and john cena /andre continued to amaze us with so much fun we did not want to leave.They made my two young teen girls feel right at home. All of these employees were wonderful,sincere and made sure we were happy,I give them an excellent review.
The resturant staff was equally friendly,courteous,especially Oscar Bruno. Thank you for all the memories,we will be comming back next year.An added gift was meeting new friends Sal, Doreen and their children. See you guys soon. Ed,Loretta and family.

Room Tip: upgrade to membership,look on line for lifestyle members and book with them otherwise rooms are fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpecora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are happy to read that you appreciate the service and the facilities at the resort. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My trip to lifestyle holidays vacation resort was unforgettable. I staid in a Villa. The service was amassing, the location was amassing, the whole resort was amassing. Every morning, I would go at the tropical pool to do the water aerobics with Jhon Cena. After that I would hangout with the animators (Salami, Mosquito, Puchi Puchi, Jhon Cena and Papi) for most of my day. Without them, my trip would of been REALLY boring. The food was to die for. The resort made me feel more welcomed in the world there then at my real home. I staid there for 2 weeks but I was having so much fun that it felt like 2 days.
The only reason someone wouldn't like it there is that your a miserable person. I highly recommend to go to the tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten island
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Arrived on July 3rd to July 9th made new friends Loretta and Ed and their two wonderful daughters truly great genuine people so glad I met them!
Oscar Bruno from Casablanca a hard worker who served us to the nines what an asset to your resturant and for the entertainment Big Papi,Salami,Miskito, and Puchi Puchi were awesome everyday was a new adventure with these guys they got the guests moving and they were never lost for words great with the kids five stars for all employees mentioned they are a great asset to your resort hope to return again in the future Italiano Papi see you guys again
The best to all
Sal Doreen and family

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronxbombers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one.
We passed your nice comments to the rest of the team!
Thank you for making Lifestyle Puerto Plata the preferred resort for your vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved the Tropical! It was so much fun thanks to Salami. He made sure we had a great time from doing yoga in the morning to parties and shows at night. He always made sure we had fun around the pool. The resort was great and the service was amazing. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Sunny regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.3 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
5.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,313 reviews
6.7 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Property: The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
The Tropical At Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Dominican Republic/Puerto Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing